Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    324 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 324

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2013

      This is my go to meatball recipe that I have been using for a while now...can't believe I forgot to post a review....all I can say is ....perfect.....that is how they always turn out...<br/>I always follow the directions as stated and cook the meatballs directly in the sauce and they have never once turned out mushy...so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I have tried more recipes than I can remember. None were any good. Finally found this after 30 years. Used seasoned bread crumbs, fresh garlic minced and microwaved them for 4 mins before adding to crock pot for three hours. Saw the microwave trick on Rachel Ray. Removes ALOT of fat before it even enters your dish. Makes no difference in texture and is a lot faster than baking or frying. We had them last night, today my 17 y.o. Son asked when we were going to have them again! He eat the few leftover for a midnight snack !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      These meatballs came out just perfect.. I used 1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning instead of the oregano and 1 clove fresh garlic instead of the powder. I baked them for 10 to 15 minutes at 375, or until firm before adding to a good spaghetti sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I just made these per the instructions, and after reading many of the reviews, came to the conclusion that one person's mushy meatballs are another person's extremely tender meatballs.(chuckle) These were very tasty, but, .....well, soft, even after they were thoroughly cooked. Next time I will lightly brown them first, either in a skillet or in the oven. That's the way I've always made my meatballs before, and using my very similar recipe, have always been satisfied. I thought I'd try this technique to save a step. Anyway, thanks for posting this recipe, and as stated before, they're very good. Up-date: made these again, but lightly seared them off first in a skillet. Liked them better seared, but still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I was in search for a recipe and stumbled on this one and what results. It was by far the best meatball recipe I have ever used. The only change I made as I ran out of beef was I mixed in some pork and veal and used fresh garlic and I dont use garlic powder. Thanks very much for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I've tried many meatball recipes from quite a few of the "tv chefs". This is my favorite. I do add a little onion powder but otherwise stick to the listed ingredients. The flavor and consistency are great. I have cooked them directly in the sauce, but II prefer to bake them in the oven. I keep these meatballs on hand in the freezer for quick meals. They make highly coveted leftovers in my house. ***Update: Still making these on a regular basis, with and without the addition of the onion powder, and sometimes subbing dried parsley for fresh. The absolute best result I have had to date was the result of using fresh bread crumbs instead of dried and pan frying before dropping in sauce to cook through.Also, I use a food scoop for uniform size, and food prep gloves rather than bare hands, which not only cuts down on mess, but produces a smoother surface on the meatballs, which makes them brown beautifully and have a better bite and mouth feel. Prepared this way, they really are superb.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Very sturdy, yet moist enough meatballs. I'm sorry to say it was missing a ton of flavor (we're the family that can't eat bland). Next time I will: 1. Add a ton more spices, including chilli powder (we like spicy). 2. I don't like spending that much time in the kitchen so I will make it in the pressure cooker. Will only take 15 min vs. 3 hours. 3. I will def. brown it in my cast iron skillet first. It may not be authentic, yeah yeah, but everything browned (meat, spices, onion) makes almost every dish delish!

      Good base recipe, but needs some spice in it's life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Too greasy ( used ground round) Meat TOO tender. Balls too bland. First attempt. Will use review recommendations and a few ideas of my own. I know I will find the perfect meatball, but it isn't this one

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These were the most flavorful meatballs I've ever had! I didn't put them in sauce, but baked them in the oven at 375 for ~25 minutes turning every few minutes to get them good and crusty. They were delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I made these up as written, and we really enjoyed them! Just dropped them into the sauce and let them simmer for 3 hours. My guests really enjoyed them! Thanks for the posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Apparently, these were fantastic. I wouldn't know, because they were devoured by a hoard of Marines before I got to have any. I'll be sure to make them again, as that was obviously a good sign. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      So tender and great flavors. I did use half beef and half pork and sauteed for a couple min. on both sides then put into my sauce. Served with homemade ravioli, french bread and Maggiano's salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I didn't really care for these. They did not hold their shape and basically, I made a spaghetti meat sauce. I tried the recipe twice and was very careful about overworking the meatballs. The flavor was alright, but I didn't think it was anything extrordinary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Love these meatballs! I have made these a dozen times for my family, and each time they rave about them. I made them exactly as written the first time, and they were great. Here a couple of changes I made the second time, and the flavor was phenomenal. First of all I use 3 pounds of meat. I have a lot of boys to feed! So I tripled the recipe. I use 1 pound 80 percent ground beef, 1 pound ground pork, and 1 pound veal or more meat. I use 1/4 cup ketchup, and add some basil. Everything else I do exactly. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I signed up just to disagree with stevehet. I do not write reviews, but these are the best meatballs I've ever had. I did not broil them first. I made them exactly as the recipe instructed and they were fantastic! I will say that I used ground sirloin because I feel that the fat from a lower quality ground beef would end up in the sauce. I wouldn't use seasoned breadcrumbs because the seasons in the recipe are the same as what would be in seasoned breadcrumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      This 5 star review is based on BAKING the meatballs instead of in a sauce. <br/>(400F for 20 minutes)<br/><br/>I love how simple this recipe is. I use ground beef mixed with ground pork, I use Italian seasoning instead of Oregano, and I omit parsley. <br/><br/>Each meatball measures at about 2 tablespoons. Using 500g of meat, it yields about 16 meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Excellent, kids loved them! I added a bit of ground cayenne pepper, but otherwise, very quick to put together & will be a repeat. Served with angel hair pasta & garlic cheese bread. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I've made dozens of meatball recipes and so far this one was the only one to have them cooked in the sauce. The people saying that they're too mushy, I think you did something wrong. Mine were very tender but not mushy. The recipe is perfect. There isn't much flavor to them so add extra seasoning if you like. This recipe is the best meatball recipe I've found. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      These were excellent! The only change I made was I used 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and doubled the recipe. I also baked them in the oven because I was in a hurry and like to freeze them. I put them on a dish in the freezer until solid then put them in one of my Food Saver bags for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites