Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    340 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 340

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2014

      This 5 star review is based on BAKING the meatballs instead of in a sauce. <br/>(400F for 20 minutes)<br/><br/>I love how simple this recipe is. I use ground beef mixed with ground pork, I use Italian seasoning instead of Oregano, and I omit parsley. <br/><br/>Each meatball measures at about 2 tablespoons. Using 500g of meat, it yields about 16 meatballs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      This is my go to meatball recipe that I have been using for a while now...can't believe I forgot to post a review....all I can say is ....perfect.....that is how they always turn out...<br/>I always follow the directions as stated and cook the meatballs directly in the sauce and they have never once turned out mushy...so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I have tried more recipes than I can remember. None were any good. Finally found this after 30 years. Used seasoned bread crumbs, fresh garlic minced and microwaved them for 4 mins before adding to crock pot for three hours. Saw the microwave trick on Rachel Ray. Removes ALOT of fat before it even enters your dish. Makes no difference in texture and is a lot faster than baking or frying. We had them last night, today my 17 y.o. Son asked when we were going to have them again! He eat the few leftover for a midnight snack !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      These meatballs came out just perfect.. I used 1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning instead of the oregano and 1 clove fresh garlic instead of the powder. I baked them for 10 to 15 minutes at 375, or until firm before adding to a good spaghetti sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I just made these per the instructions, and after reading many of the reviews, came to the conclusion that one person's mushy meatballs are another person's extremely tender meatballs.(chuckle) These were very tasty, but, .....well, soft, even after they were thoroughly cooked. Next time I will lightly brown them first, either in a skillet or in the oven. That's the way I've always made my meatballs before, and using my very similar recipe, have always been satisfied. I thought I'd try this technique to save a step. Anyway, thanks for posting this recipe, and as stated before, they're very good. Up-date: made these again, but lightly seared them off first in a skillet. Liked them better seared, but still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I was in search for a recipe and stumbled on this one and what results. It was by far the best meatball recipe I have ever used. The only change I made as I ran out of beef was I mixed in some pork and veal and used fresh garlic and I dont use garlic powder. Thanks very much for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I've tried many meatball recipes from quite a few of the "tv chefs". This is my favorite. I do add a little onion powder but otherwise stick to the listed ingredients. The flavor and consistency are great. I have cooked them directly in the sauce, but II prefer to bake them in the oven. I keep these meatballs on hand in the freezer for quick meals. They make highly coveted leftovers in my house. ***Update: Still making these on a regular basis, with and without the addition of the onion powder, and sometimes subbing dried parsley for fresh. The absolute best result I have had to date was the result of using fresh bread crumbs instead of dried and pan frying before dropping in sauce to cook through.Also, I use a food scoop for uniform size, and food prep gloves rather than bare hands, which not only cuts down on mess, but produces a smoother surface on the meatballs, which makes them brown beautifully and have a better bite and mouth feel. Prepared this way, they really are superb.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Very sturdy, yet moist enough meatballs. I'm sorry to say it was missing a ton of flavor (we're the family that can't eat bland). Next time I will: 1. Add a ton more spices, including chilli powder (we like spicy). 2. I don't like spending that much time in the kitchen so I will make it in the pressure cooker. Will only take 15 min vs. 3 hours. 3. I will def. brown it in my cast iron skillet first. It may not be authentic, yeah yeah, but everything browned (meat, spices, onion) makes almost every dish delish!

      Good base recipe, but needs some spice in it's life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Too greasy ( used ground round) Meat TOO tender. Balls too bland. First attempt. Will use review recommendations and a few ideas of my own. I know I will find the perfect meatball, but it isn't this one

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These were the most flavorful meatballs I've ever had! I didn't put them in sauce, but baked them in the oven at 375 for ~25 minutes turning every few minutes to get them good and crusty. They were delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I made these up as written, and we really enjoyed them! Just dropped them into the sauce and let them simmer for 3 hours. My guests really enjoyed them! Thanks for the posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Apparently, these were fantastic. I wouldn't know, because they were devoured by a hoard of Marines before I got to have any. I'll be sure to make them again, as that was obviously a good sign. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      So tender and great flavors. I did use half beef and half pork and sauteed for a couple min. on both sides then put into my sauce. Served with homemade ravioli, french bread and Maggiano's salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I didn't really care for these. They did not hold their shape and basically, I made a spaghetti meat sauce. I tried the recipe twice and was very careful about overworking the meatballs. The flavor was alright, but I didn't think it was anything extrordinary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      We loved `em! However, I tweaked the recipe a bit. Rollled the meatballs in flour and then quick fried for golden crust before adding to the gravy. So good and glad I made a double batch, as these went fast. <br/>Thanks for sharing and posting "In Memory of Brats". <br/>Umm... would you have a good brat recipe? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      Afraid would not change the way I make meatballs....being raised by an Italian Mother and being full blooded Italian...have always followed the way my Mom made hers...she had been a Chef in an Italian restaurant in Little Italy in Cleveland, Ohio when I was a child growing up there with my two brothers.<br/><br/>She never used Oregano in our meatballs..only used fresh parsley finely chopped...bread crumbs and Parmesan-Romano fresh grated cheeses. Only thing I have changed from her recipe .I place my meatballs on a sprayed rack over a cookie tray with sides and bake them in the oven til they are nicely browned...all the fat if any goes to the bottom of the tray...have been doing this for a few years since I am diabetic and had a heart attack in the year 2000. Also...always put Italian sausage in my Italian sauces....do the same with the sausage....cut it into serving size pieces and prick it with a fork to let the fat drain off. Sauce is always a hit with family and friends. I usually make 30 meatballs when I schedule a Spaghetti meal..children love them and I give away leftovers they can use them for Hoagies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      These are perfect. Threw out my old recipe and this is only one I will use now. Did not have fresh parsley so subbed 1 tsp. dried. Had pasta sauce in freezer already, so just baked these in 350 F. oven for 20 - 25 minutes and then froze them in baggies in batches of 8. Perfect size fot a meal for my wife and I. Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      I make my meatballs the same way except I used fresh chopped garlic. My recipe comes from my Italian grandmother who immigrated to the states in the early 1900's. Meatballs will not become mushy if your gravy is hot enough before adding meatballs. Bring gravy to light boil; immediately reduce heat to simmer and add your meatballs. Do not stir gravy for least least 1/2 hour, preferably 45 minutes to one hour. Your meatballs will be firm but juicy! I've never had a mushy meatball cooking this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      Not bad..maybe .a bit heavy on the oregano (it overpowers things a bit) and really, the perfect meatball is made from pork (or at least a mix of pork and beef) and should be fried or baked before simmering in the gravy. If you _must_ cook in the gravy without first frying, then less breadcrumbs might be a good idea so they don't go mushy<br/>But hey...those are just personal family preferences handed down to me. <br/>Whatever floats your boat (or, your meatballs, as the case may be) is ok by me!<br/>:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites