Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    334 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 334

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2013

      This is my go to meatball recipe that I have been using for a while now...can't believe I forgot to post a review....all I can say is ....perfect.....that is how they always turn out...<br/>I always follow the directions as stated and cook the meatballs directly in the sauce and they have never once turned out mushy...so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I have tried more recipes than I can remember. None were any good. Finally found this after 30 years. Used seasoned bread crumbs, fresh garlic minced and microwaved them for 4 mins before adding to crock pot for three hours. Saw the microwave trick on Rachel Ray. Removes ALOT of fat before it even enters your dish. Makes no difference in texture and is a lot faster than baking or frying. We had them last night, today my 17 y.o. Son asked when we were going to have them again! He eat the few leftover for a midnight snack !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      These meatballs came out just perfect.. I used 1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning instead of the oregano and 1 clove fresh garlic instead of the powder. I baked them for 10 to 15 minutes at 375, or until firm before adding to a good spaghetti sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I just made these per the instructions, and after reading many of the reviews, came to the conclusion that one person's mushy meatballs are another person's extremely tender meatballs.(chuckle) These were very tasty, but, .....well, soft, even after they were thoroughly cooked. Next time I will lightly brown them first, either in a skillet or in the oven. That's the way I've always made my meatballs before, and using my very similar recipe, have always been satisfied. I thought I'd try this technique to save a step. Anyway, thanks for posting this recipe, and as stated before, they're very good. Up-date: made these again, but lightly seared them off first in a skillet. Liked them better seared, but still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I was in search for a recipe and stumbled on this one and what results. It was by far the best meatball recipe I have ever used. The only change I made as I ran out of beef was I mixed in some pork and veal and used fresh garlic and I dont use garlic powder. Thanks very much for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I've tried many meatball recipes from quite a few of the "tv chefs". This is my favorite. I do add a little onion powder but otherwise stick to the listed ingredients. The flavor and consistency are great. I have cooked them directly in the sauce, but II prefer to bake them in the oven. I keep these meatballs on hand in the freezer for quick meals. They make highly coveted leftovers in my house. ***Update: Still making these on a regular basis, with and without the addition of the onion powder, and sometimes subbing dried parsley for fresh. The absolute best result I have had to date was the result of using fresh bread crumbs instead of dried and pan frying before dropping in sauce to cook through.Also, I use a food scoop for uniform size, and food prep gloves rather than bare hands, which not only cuts down on mess, but produces a smoother surface on the meatballs, which makes them brown beautifully and have a better bite and mouth feel. Prepared this way, they really are superb.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Very sturdy, yet moist enough meatballs. I'm sorry to say it was missing a ton of flavor (we're the family that can't eat bland). Next time I will: 1. Add a ton more spices, including chilli powder (we like spicy). 2. I don't like spending that much time in the kitchen so I will make it in the pressure cooker. Will only take 15 min vs. 3 hours. 3. I will def. brown it in my cast iron skillet first. It may not be authentic, yeah yeah, but everything browned (meat, spices, onion) makes almost every dish delish!

      Good base recipe, but needs some spice in it's life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Too greasy ( used ground round) Meat TOO tender. Balls too bland. First attempt. Will use review recommendations and a few ideas of my own. I know I will find the perfect meatball, but it isn't this one

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These were the most flavorful meatballs I've ever had! I didn't put them in sauce, but baked them in the oven at 375 for ~25 minutes turning every few minutes to get them good and crusty. They were delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I made these up as written, and we really enjoyed them! Just dropped them into the sauce and let them simmer for 3 hours. My guests really enjoyed them! Thanks for the posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Apparently, these were fantastic. I wouldn't know, because they were devoured by a hoard of Marines before I got to have any. I'll be sure to make them again, as that was obviously a good sign. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      So tender and great flavors. I did use half beef and half pork and sauteed for a couple min. on both sides then put into my sauce. Served with homemade ravioli, french bread and Maggiano's salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I didn't really care for these. They did not hold their shape and basically, I made a spaghetti meat sauce. I tried the recipe twice and was very careful about overworking the meatballs. The flavor was alright, but I didn't think it was anything extrordinary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      My husband said this was the best meal I have ever made..... say what!!? I would highly recommend these meatballs :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      Did 3 pounds..they where mesmerizing meat balls..lots of left over. Still oving them with my favorite pasta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      I made that recipe..Very nice!! Meat balls are perfect..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      Oh man are these meatballs awesome! Even my very picky son loved them! I even made the sauce, which I must say was awesome as well. I couldn't keep my son from stealing more meatballs directly out of the pot! And when it finally came time to eat, he ate more. Where do these teenage boys put all that food. He was so disappointed when I had to cut him off! I am very finicky and have not liked any meatballs, until last Saturday night. That's why I started searching for the best meatball recipes on the web. So glad I chose to make these first! I will continue making both the sauce and meatballs from now on! Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      I add some fresh sliced garlic and onion and it's fabulous. I have never browned my meatballs, I cook them in the sauce. If the meatballs are mushy that means there was too much liquid in the mix or you didn't have enough meat. Also, depends on the type of ground beef you use, you always want a little fat. I had never thought of adding the parmesan and milk, but it really makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      My mother was the little old Italian lady that your father talked to. She would fill the garbage pail with meatballs made from this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      I have 2 lady sister friends from Sicily, Italy that uses the same ingredients except they use dried garlic {has a stronger garlic flavor}& they use pecoroni romano cheese, also has a stronger flavor compared to parmesan cheese. But one lightly browns her meat balls because she wants a little firmer meatball. The other sister likes her meatballs soft & tender, so she cooks them as this recipe states. Really, both ways are very good. I've tried both ways & I can't decide which I like better. Both are Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites