356 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OK I'm just a guy but I like to cook. I have made a lot of meatballs. These were the best tasting by far. I used 1lb ground round and made 1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omerguy February 02, 2013

I made these for meatball subs and they were fantastic! Many people said the meatballs were a bit mushy. I added an extra 1/8 cup of Parm cheese and were the right consistency. I don't know how many meatballs the recipe made, but there wasn't enough to put in the pot, so the extras are in the freezer waiting for another dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sillychinchilla January 31, 2013

These were gross. Maybe the reason is because I cooked them completely in the sauce as the sauce (as stevehet's review mentions). The recipe called for way too many breadcrumbs and they ended up with a chef boyrdee flavor to them. Sorry, but they were bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrew_sarah_botsford_10578220 January 30, 2013

All I can say is WOW! These are delicious!
Just the right amount of seasoning, tender texture.
I used the list of ingredients and then browned these in a skillet. I prefer the flavor that the meat juices impart on a recipe when prepared this way.

I also didn't use them with an Italian style sauce. I made them with a rich mushroom gravy and served them with red potatoes. My hubby loved them so much he mad a glutton of himself and ate until he was absolutely miserable. That's a win in my book!
Delicious and versatile. Thank you so much for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7SlotFever January 29, 2013

I like the recipe, very basic, I read reviews about how bland it is so i added onions and garlic instead of garlic powder. and read a past review about putting the meat balls in the broiler for 5 minutes, which i did.. and it turned out great... will make again for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farah0000 January 25, 2013

I don't eat meat and rarely make it, but I made these for my Dad and he enjoyed them. He is the one that gave them a 4 out of 5. I saw another reviewer said you should broil them for a few minutes first to keep them from getting mushy. Mine were pretty soft so I could see where this might help. Overall he seemed very happy with them, so this is where I will come if/when I make them again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
az93 January 17, 2013

The only thing I did different was to use lean ground turkey instead of beef and had to add a few more bread crumbs to get it to hold it's shape.

I also made the meatballs about 1/2 the size (personal preference) since I have never been a fan of the big kind. The turkey made them much moister than the beef version and it was lower cal as a bonus.

I cooked them in the sauce mentioned with a few minor changes and whole things was a big hit.

My daughter who does not like meatballs tried one and loved it ( cooked in the sauce mentioned in the article ) and then devoured four more during dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idistic January 13, 2013

Best meatballs i have ever tasted!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpandgc2526 January 13, 2013

I've never made meatballs before, and these were perfect! Everyone loved them and they were super simple to make. I baked mine at 400 for about 20 minutes instead of cooking them in sauce as I was pressed for time, and they were fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amshetler10 January 04, 2013

I can't believe i've never rated this recipe or reviewed it because i've been using this recipe for at least 3 years now! It is the best.. i follow recipe exactly. Except for sometimes I brown the my meatballs in the oven for color. Also I always use ground turkey. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick January 03, 2013
Authentic Italian Meatballs