355 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These meatballs turned out nicely, but I only have it 4 stars for 2 reasons:
1. Cooking meatballs in the sauce alone can make them mushy. I recommend putting them under a broiler for about 5 minutes, turn over once and broil for another 5 minutes first before you add them to the sauce. Broiling adds a nice brown color and enough crisp to prevent mushiness
2. The meatballs lacked the spice kick that I normally prefer. Next time I'll add some Italian seasoning or seasoned breadcrumbs for that extra kick.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevehet March 14, 2011

I am a vegetarian. I needed to make dinner for SEVERAL non-veggies. I also made the sauce that this recipe gives reference to. EVERYONE one of them were blown away with the meatballs!!! No one could understand how someone who does not eat meat could cook meat this awesome.

I doubled the recipe and came out with about 50 meatballs. I was just told this morning I need to make 200 becasue 50 is not enough!! BLESS this recipe. Next time I will cook for the 3 hours and then freeze them. THANK YOU!!!!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FeedMePlz January 17, 2011

These are, without a doubt, the BEST meatballs I've ever made. My mother-in-law was Italian and I could never even come close to her meatballs. This recipe tops hers! YUM!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenieg November 15, 2010

My mother-in-law, who is a gourmet cook, always cooked her meatballs right in the sauce. This is the ONLY way my husband will eat them because cooking them this way retains both the moisture and the flavor. If the meatballs are simmered in the sauce for 3 hours as in this fine recipe, they will never turn out mushy! I have tried SEVERAL recipes but this is the 1st recipe that I feel truly tastes authentic! One small change I made was to use a mix of ground beef, veal and pork. This enhanced the great flavor in this recipe. ;0) Thank you so much for sharing!! I will use it again and again.... And I am certain my family and friends will enjoy it for years to come!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frenchbred July 06, 2011

It cracks me up when reviewers don't follow a recipe and then write a review on it. If you've altered the recipe, then you cannot possibly post a reliable review....duh !<br/>That said....follow this to the letter....it's excellent !

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voicemanray November 06, 2013

Let me start by saying I'm Italian, which I think makes a difference. My Nonna taught me to make meatballs some years ago.... you know a little of this and a little of that, but I can never get the proportions right. When I came across this recipe I was very excited because the ingredients are exactly the same as my Nonna's and the proportions are dead on! This was a fantastic recipe, extremely authentic and made me feel like I was home again. Thanks!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissysa May 20, 2011

This is a great recipe, I was out of milk so I substituted sour cream in stead of milk made it awesome !

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JAZELL April 03, 2011

DeeeLISH!!! I do recommend browning them first in a pan of olive oil, and then put them in your sauce to simmer. If you don't, they will turn out mushy. Absolutely great tasting meatballs! My first too!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyhawkb52_12951833 April 01, 2011

I just started cooking at age 50 these were my first attempt at making meatballs and they were the best I ever ate...AWSOME!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungrytom October 19, 2010

The ingredients were similar to what I've always made, but I usually bake the meatballs and plop them into the sauce. I thought I would give this method a try. Wow, I had no idea what a difference the long simmering in the sauce would make. I followed the recipe exactly, and they could only be described as simply luscious! This is the only recipe I will use from now on. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChansonCooks September 14, 2010
Authentic Italian Meatballs