Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    343 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 343

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      These meatballs turned out nicely, but I only have it 4 stars for 2 reasons:
      1. Cooking meatballs in the sauce alone can make them mushy. I recommend putting them under a broiler for about 5 minutes, turn over once and broil for another 5 minutes first before you add them to the sauce. Broiling adds a nice brown color and enough crisp to prevent mushiness
      2. The meatballs lacked the spice kick that I normally prefer. Next time I'll add some Italian seasoning or seasoned breadcrumbs for that extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I am a vegetarian. I needed to make dinner for SEVERAL non-veggies. I also made the sauce that this recipe gives reference to. EVERYONE one of them were blown away with the meatballs!!! No one could understand how someone who does not eat meat could cook meat this awesome.

      I doubled the recipe and came out with about 50 meatballs. I was just told this morning I need to make 200 becasue 50 is not enough!! BLESS this recipe. Next time I will cook for the 3 hours and then freeze them. THANK YOU!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      These are, without a doubt, the BEST meatballs I've ever made. My mother-in-law was Italian and I could never even come close to her meatballs. This recipe tops hers! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      My mother-in-law, who is a gourmet cook, always cooked her meatballs right in the sauce. This is the ONLY way my husband will eat them because cooking them this way retains both the moisture and the flavor. If the meatballs are simmered in the sauce for 3 hours as in this fine recipe, they will never turn out mushy! I have tried SEVERAL recipes but this is the 1st recipe that I feel truly tastes authentic! One small change I made was to use a mix of ground beef, veal and pork. This enhanced the great flavor in this recipe. ;0) Thank you so much for sharing!! I will use it again and again.... And I am certain my family and friends will enjoy it for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      DeeeLISH!!! I do recommend browning them first in a pan of olive oil, and then put them in your sauce to simmer. If you don't, they will turn out mushy. Absolutely great tasting meatballs! My first too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      It cracks me up when reviewers don't follow a recipe and then write a review on it. If you've altered the recipe, then you cannot possibly post a reliable review....duh !<br/>That said....follow this to the letter....it's excellent !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Let me start by saying I'm Italian, which I think makes a difference. My Nonna taught me to make meatballs some years ago.... you know a little of this and a little of that, but I can never get the proportions right. When I came across this recipe I was very excited because the ingredients are exactly the same as my Nonna's and the proportions are dead on! This was a fantastic recipe, extremely authentic and made me feel like I was home again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This is a great recipe, I was out of milk so I substituted sour cream in stead of milk made it awesome !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I just started cooking at age 50 these were my first attempt at making meatballs and they were the best I ever ate...AWSOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      The ingredients were similar to what I've always made, but I usually bake the meatballs and plop them into the sauce. I thought I would give this method a try. Wow, I had no idea what a difference the long simmering in the sauce would make. I followed the recipe exactly, and they could only be described as simply luscious! This is the only recipe I will use from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet. I've been using it for years and since finding it here, it's the only Italian meatball recipe I use. Every time I've made them, people comment on how delicious they are. Seriously people, make this recipe. You'll love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Yum!!! My first attempt at making meatballs and it was a success. Only two things I did differently. 1. I used italian style breadcrumbs (they were in my pantry and needed used up), but I kept your spices the same. 2. I baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. I want to freeze them for use later. When I baked them I used metal cookie cooling sheet (the one with slots) over my cookie sheet so the grease would drain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Made these with the accompanied sauce and took to a pot luck. These were a HIT!!! "Oh yeah, I mastered old county Italian cooking too!" Wink Wink ; ) These are going in the cooking book I am making for my daughter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Very good meatballs. So simple yet delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I tripled this recipe (triple makes approximately 85 meatballs) for a football party I had on Saturday. Added them directly into a crock pot full of steaming hot spaghettie sauce and cooked for about 3 hours. By the time I had time to get myself a plate I only got one meatball. Everyone absolutely loved these, as a matter of fact, it was the first dish to be completely gone and trust me I had a lot of food here. I followed recipe to a tee. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      While these meatballs weren't bad, they just weren't anything spectacular. I was disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I made these last night for meatball subs and they were fantastic. I had never made meatballs before but they turned out very moist and delicious. Thanks!
      Oh, and I also baked mine at 400 for 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I wrote my review earlier, however forgot to rate it...I give this recipe 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Have been looking for a meatball recipe forE-V-E-R! I went out on a limb and decided to go big or go home and use the entire 7 lbs. of ground meat that I had...it wasn't a mistake. These meatballs got rave reviews from my particular stepson and I found the seasoning was just right! I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites