13 Reviews

First off, everything about the name of this bread is wrong. This is not Irish, it's not a soda bread, and you don't need a bread maker since it doesn't even bake in the thing. Irish breads don't have molasses and caraway seed in them. Soda breads don't have yeast in them. The soda and the buttermilk are what is supposed to cause the rising (hence "SODA bread"). Also, this bread tastes bad. Like a sweetened rye. I don't know where you found this "rustic" recipe, but throw it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian M. November 23, 2015

As an Irish person, I would say that there is nothing "Authentic" about a soda bread recipe that uses molasses, yeast, bread flour and about 3 times the ingredients of a truly authentic Irish Soda. There should be soft plain flour, buttermilk, salt, baking soda and possibly/occasionally sultanas or raisins. Thats it. I'm sure this bread is tasty but it is not Irish Soda Bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa E. March 12, 2014

Just made two loaves of this for my co-workers
using my breadmaker with rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
williadt March 15, 2012

Oh--this was wonderful! And, because I let the bread machine do ALL the work, so easy! Instead of taking out the dough, I set the bread machine to a full cycle with light crust and the bread was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages March 18, 2010

I served this with dinner last night prior to the St. Patrick's Day Parade and it was a hit. I had no leftovers. I did have a friend from Scotland at dinner who said this was more of an American version due to the sweetness of it but still liked it. It was the perfect texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty70rn March 18, 2010

I made this for St. Patty's day and it was a hit! I was looking for a start to finish in the bread machine too but taste wise, it deserves 5 stars! I did leave out the raisins, caraway, and gluten b/c I had none. Also, my active yeast worked fine. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 March 18, 2010

I made this for St. Patrick's Day and loved it. Unlike other reviewers, I consider a bread that is kneaded and has it's first rise in the bread machine and then taken out, shaped, allowed to rise again and then baked in the oven also a bread machine recipe. Using the bread machine for the time consuming kneading makes this a quick, easy and delicious loaf...don't reserve it just for the holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan March 18, 2010

Good recipe, thanks for sharing. It's unfortunate Marmaduke is so critical for the title name. I'm thinking the original recipe was for a bread machine & it has been amended for the oven... that works great for me cause that is one appliance I don't own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 August 13, 2009

Great Bread!!!! Definitely deserves 5 stars. AND, I used my bread machine on dough cycle (like I ALWAYS do) and baked in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
retireaz March 17, 2008

I'll give it 1 star because the title is misleading. The dough is baked in the oven, NOT a bread machine. Author could have easily said, stand mixer or left out the Bread Machine part. If a recipe says Bread Machine, it sould be in the Bread Machine, start to finish !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmaduke March 14, 2008
Authentic Irish Soda Bread (Bread Machine)