12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As an Irish person, I would say that there is nothing "Authentic" about a soda bread recipe that uses molasses, yeast, bread flour and about 3 times the ingredients of a truly authentic Irish Soda. There should be soft plain flour, buttermilk, salt, baking soda and possibly/occasionally sultanas or raisins. Thats it. I'm sure this bread is tasty but it is not Irish Soda Bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa E. March 12, 2014

Just made two loaves of this for my co-workers
using my breadmaker with rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
williadt March 15, 2012

Oh--this was wonderful! And, because I let the bread machine do ALL the work, so easy! Instead of taking out the dough, I set the bread machine to a full cycle with light crust and the bread was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages March 18, 2010

I served this with dinner last night prior to the St. Patrick's Day Parade and it was a hit. I had no leftovers. I did have a friend from Scotland at dinner who said this was more of an American version due to the sweetness of it but still liked it. It was the perfect texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty70rn March 18, 2010

I made this for St. Patty's day and it was a hit! I was looking for a start to finish in the bread machine too but taste wise, it deserves 5 stars! I did leave out the raisins, caraway, and gluten b/c I had none. Also, my active yeast worked fine. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 March 18, 2010

I made this for St. Patrick's Day and loved it. Unlike other reviewers, I consider a bread that is kneaded and has it's first rise in the bread machine and then taken out, shaped, allowed to rise again and then baked in the oven also a bread machine recipe. Using the bread machine for the time consuming kneading makes this a quick, easy and delicious loaf...don't reserve it just for the holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan March 18, 2010

Good recipe, thanks for sharing. It's unfortunate Marmaduke is so critical for the title name. I'm thinking the original recipe was for a bread machine & it has been amended for the oven... that works great for me cause that is one appliance I don't own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 August 13, 2009

Great Bread!!!! Definitely deserves 5 stars. AND, I used my bread machine on dough cycle (like I ALWAYS do) and baked in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
retireaz March 17, 2008

I'll give it 1 star because the title is misleading. The dough is baked in the oven, NOT a bread machine. Author could have easily said, stand mixer or left out the Bread Machine part. If a recipe says Bread Machine, it sould be in the Bread Machine, start to finish !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmaduke March 14, 2008

Don't reserve this recipe only for St. Patrick's Day. It produces a beautiful, moist, round tea bread. Everyone wanted seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmadison March 11, 2008
Authentic Irish Soda Bread (Bread Machine)