Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Hummus

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2010

      Originally made as written for ZWT6 Family Picks because I multi-task & needed hummus for Mediterranean Dip Duo. BUT the hummus purist in me found she liked it so well that she expanded that recipe to include your hummus, the blended w/sour cream hummus + the Mediterranean-style salsa. All were served to family dinner party guests w/homemade garlic pita chips as cocktail hr finger food & enjoyed by all while we awaited the main-course grill effort. The presentation is esp pretty & won admiring comments from our family for the obvious care taken. Thx for sharing your tasty recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      i love it with the lrmon, but like it even more with lime! Excellent tasting hummus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Excellent recipe!! Being a garlic lover, I used 3 cloves. And, used 3 heaping tablespoons of tahini and the juice of a large, juicy lemon (tip: place the whole lemon on the counter; push down with the palm of your hand an roll back and forth a couple of times before cutting and squeezing.) I can make a meal of this by spreading on a pita half with some diced tomatoes and sliced black olives, and then rolling it up. Love the addition of chopped parsley, along with the sprinlkle of paprika...adds a great color contrast for a nice presentation

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      A quick, easy and flavorful way to get your hummus! DH and I loved the flavor of this. I don't think we will want to buy it anymore this is so easy! I can see possibilites with it too for flavored hummus for parties ( to give variety). Will definitely make it again!! Thank you for posting! **Made for Aussie Tag August 2008**

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This is not the first time I have made hummus but it is the first time with canned chick peas. Usually I soak, cook and then mash. This recipe appealed to me as water is used to thin the hummus instead of oil or cooking/can liquid. Used a very large plump garlic with would probably equal 3 "normal" cloves. Grated the garlic on my Microplane with the smallest holes. Used all of the water and also added a little more salt and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Garnished it with a scattering of roasted pine nuts, olive oil and a sprinkle of paprika. Very good! As for the amounts of servings, well, I guess we are very greedy cause I cannot imagine that this would serve 18 hummus loving people, we were six and it was just enough...........! Don't know if it is authentic or not, it doesn't matter, it is a great recipe. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Thank you , this is very good and went down well. During prep and on tasting I added more lemon juice and an extra clove of garlic, all for extra zing and bite. The water was all used as well and it was lovely and creamy.<br/><br/>Had in on wholemeal pita bread with falafel and greens. Just delish. Did not have any tzaziki but that would also be great. Otherwise really good. I will try it with parsley next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      This was a terrific recipe Peggy. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. We enjoyed this authentic recipe very much. Loved the flavors from the lemon, garlic and tahini. Lovely subtle flavorings that allowed the chickpeas to shine. I used Homemade Tahini! and Arabian Pita Bread in the preparation and serving of this recipe. Thank you for sharing, I will no longer be buying hummus in the grocery store, not when its so quick and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      3.5 actually. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was very pretty, and easy to make, but I found there is a huge difference in flavor by using dried beans as opposed to those in a can. I also wonder if it would have been better using my Cuisinart over a blender. Might try it again using the Cuisinart, dried beans, and some cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This is a very classic, creamy, thick and yummy hummus! It is perfect for veggie dipping and has an intense chickpea flavour. I used the optional parsley and liked that a lot. Next time I will add some more spices as we found it a little bland for our taste. Maybe some more garlic and some cumin, but thats just us.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great little recipe with us, Peggy!
      Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #48 January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I so prefer the authentic recipes to the adapted ones. I just got a new pressure cooker and chickpeas looked like a good thing to try it out. I used a homemade tahini and served it with lavash bread from which I made chips,which means that I just tore the bread in pieces. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Wow, this is good! I found a bag of dried garbanzos this weekend and decided it was high time I tried out this recipe. I made it for my family yesterday with some homemade pitas, and we nearly ate ourselves silly. I used peanut butter, and (I think) about 2 1/2 cups of the boiled garbanzos until it looked the correct consistency. I spread some on my ham and cucumber sandwich today and it is, if possible, even more sublime the second day. I believe I'll be making this in small batches from now on to keep in the fridge as a much healthier alternative to mayonnaise. Thanks a bunch, Peggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Oh my gosh this is devine!!! I love hummus and buy it at the store quite frequently because I haven't found a recipe that tastes just right. Wellllllll...now I can stop buying it at the grocery store! This is a lovely, authentic hummus. It is also very simple to prepare. The blend of flavors are pure, simple and tasty. I may even add 3 garlic cloves next time, because I loveeeeee garlic. I have a nice big container of homemade hummus in my fridge right now and it will be perfect for snacking all week!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      As with another hummus recipe that I've made & reviewed, I have no idea what good hummus should taste like ~ One of these days I have to find someone who REALLY knows & have that someone guide me to some! Anyway, this DOES have a great taste, & those I served it to were impressed, so . . . I used it primarily as a dip, but several people spread it on slices of multi-grain bread! Thanks for posting your recipe! [Made & reviewed as a bonus recipe for one of my teammates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #16]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

    • on November 06, 2007

      Fantastic hummus recipe! I made this for lunches this week and served with some crudite and grilled turkish flat bread. Tasty, filling and healthy! Thanks Leggy Peggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Good dip. This was VERY well received at our Labor Day BBQ. Thank you, Peggy. My vegetarian guests DEVOURED your hummus... and the carnivores liked it, too. But they thought it needed bacon. Go figure. LOL. The hummus dip was the first dish to go so it must have been delicious. I served it with toasted pita bread chips. I doubt that the pita chips had much to do with its success, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* - I make hummus quite a bit, my mum always made it for us when we have a Barbie. My family normally eats hummus similar to a side dish or sauce with meat. I took it to my newphews six birthday party and everyone commented it's really good hummus. I normally garnished it with drizzle of olive oil, paprika and few olives but I kept to the recipe and it tasted fantastic. Thank you Leggy Peggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Excellent hummus. Very much like my recipe , but I normally don't put in parsley. It created a really nice look! I, of course, doubled the garlic as when I eat hummus I like it so garlicy that I stink for two days, but other than that I didn't make any changes. I ate this on toasted pitas. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.7
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    27%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 168.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites