19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Originally made as written for ZWT6 Family Picks because I multi-task & needed hummus for Mediterranean Dip Duo. BUT the hummus purist in me found she liked it so well that she expanded that recipe to include your hummus, the blended w/sour cream hummus + the Mediterranean-style salsa. All were served to family dinner party guests w/homemade garlic pita chips as cocktail hr finger food & enjoyed by all while we awaited the main-course grill effort. The presentation is esp pretty & won admiring comments from our family for the obvious care taken. Thx for sharing your tasty recipe w/us. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 25, 2010

i love it with the lrmon, but like it even more with lime! Excellent tasting hummus!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cariannhillsgrove August 19, 2009

Excellent recipe!! Being a garlic lover, I used 3 cloves. And, used 3 heaping tablespoons of tahini and the juice of a large, juicy lemon (tip: place the whole lemon on the counter; push down with the palm of your hand an roll back and forth a couple of times before cutting and squeezing.) I can make a meal of this by spreading on a pita half with some diced tomatoes and sliced black olives, and then rolling it up. Love the addition of chopped parsley, along with the sprinlkle of paprika...adds a great color contrast for a nice presentation

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan in SW Florida July 16, 2009

This is by far THE best hummus recipe ever and of course it should be my dear friend Leggy Peggy's recipe!<br/>A definite keeper always as I LOVE the balance of flavors! Makes for a great snack or an appetizer at a party!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder May 03, 2014

A quick, easy and flavorful way to get your hummus! DH and I loved the flavor of this. I don't think we will want to buy it anymore this is so easy! I can see possibilites with it too for flavored hummus for parties ( to give variety). Will definitely make it again!! Thank you for posting! **Made for Aussie Tag August 2008**

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 22, 2008

This is not the first time I have made hummus but it is the first time with canned chick peas. Usually I soak, cook and then mash. This recipe appealed to me as water is used to thin the hummus instead of oil or cooking/can liquid. Used a very large plump garlic with would probably equal 3 "normal" cloves. Grated the garlic on my Microplane with the smallest holes. Used all of the water and also added a little more salt and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Garnished it with a scattering of roasted pine nuts, olive oil and a sprinkle of paprika. Very good! As for the amounts of servings, well, I guess we are very greedy cause I cannot imagine that this would serve 18 hummus loving people, we were six and it was just enough...........! Don't know if it is authentic or not, it doesn't matter, it is a great recipe. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo January 12, 2008

Thank you , this is very good and went down well. During prep and on tasting I added more lemon juice and an extra clove of garlic, all for extra zing and bite. The water was all used as well and it was lovely and creamy.<br/><br/>Had in on wholemeal pita bread with falafel and greens. Just delish. Did not have any tzaziki but that would also be great. Otherwise really good. I will try it with parsley next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ivone d. November 17, 2013

This was a terrific recipe Peggy. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. We enjoyed this authentic recipe very much. Loved the flavors from the lemon, garlic and tahini. Lovely subtle flavorings that allowed the chickpeas to shine. I used Homemade Tahini! and Arabian Pita Bread in the preparation and serving of this recipe. Thank you for sharing, I will no longer be buying hummus in the grocery store, not when its so quick and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 02, 2013

3.5 actually. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was very pretty, and easy to make, but I found there is a huge difference in flavor by using dried beans as opposed to those in a can. I also wonder if it would have been better using my Cuisinart over a blender. Might try it again using the Cuisinart, dried beans, and some cumin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie in Olympia, WA January 14, 2012

This is a very classic, creamy, thick and yummy hummus! It is perfect for veggie dipping and has an intense chickpea flavour. I used the optional parsley and liked that a lot. Next time I will add some more spices as we found it a little bland for our taste. Maybe some more garlic and some cumin, but thats just us.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great little recipe with us, Peggy!
Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #48 January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 04, 2011
Authentic Hummus