Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic German Summer Potato Salad (Leichter Kartoffelsalat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic German Summer Potato Salad (Leichter Kartoffelsalat)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2011

      This is a very nice change from the usual German potato salad that has bacon fat, sugar, and thickening agents like flour. We were looking for a lighter, non-mayo salad to have with grilled bratwurst, and this recipe to me was worth making the steam in the kitchen on a 90 degree evening. The chicken broth and mustard combination gives a lot of flavor. I did not use the chopped onion (although I definitely will next time), but added fresh chopped scallions from the garden to the finished product. I'm glad I did, as the appearance of the salad is pretty monotonous and needs some color for more eye appeal. I did not peel the red potatoes I used (I never do, it's a waste of good food unless they have a green tinge), and I still wanted a lot more color. I think cooked green beans or carrots would be a great addition to punch up the visual impact and add some crunch.
      This salad makes way more than four servings, in my opinion. I also object to the amount of salt, especially if you are using canned chicken broth that is not low sodium! A half teaspoon of salt per serving is just too much. I used half the salt called for and found it to be just fine. I also cut the amount of oil a bit, 1/4 cup instead of 1/3, and it didn't seem to be a problem.
      I do have one question for the contributor: what is meant by "hot mustard"? Dry mustard, which is inherently hot? A prepared mustard? I think that needs to be clarified. I used prepared Dijon mustard, which is hardly "hot", but gives good flavor. If a dry powdered mustard is meant, I would be willing to try that, so I'm curious. I think the 2 teaspoons of dry mustard would help to thicken the dressing somewhat, as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I was looking for a recipe for German potato salad that is similar to what the Alpine Inn in Custer, SD serves. This was very close! I used plain white vinegar and prepared yellow mustard in my salad since that is what I had on hand. I also garnished with a bit of chives. I think next time I will try half prepared mustard and half mustard seed, and also use green onions instead of white in my attempts to tweak this.
      I would definitely recommend this to others. I'm not a big potato salad fan (because I don't want to eat something dripping in mayo and bacon grease) but this is different and refreshing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      Have made this twice now. So Easy and so delicious. I will say that I would like a more specific cooking time on the potatoes. RAW potatoes offer little resistance when pierced with a sharp knife....<br/>Also, the first time I halved the salt as some had recommended, but found it needed salt, so this time I'm going with the recipe amount. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Ok, so hot potatoes are a pain to peal and slice. That is the one thing keeping me from giving this five stars. The german potato salad that I grew up knowing had bacon and bacon fat in it. I have my own family now and it is made up of both meat eaters and vegetarians. I tried to make our old salad with vegetarian bacon and a little oil instead of bacon grease, but it all honesty, it didn't taste very good. I made your recipe with vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I also used plain white vinegar and a take out pack of Chinese hot mustard because that is what I had on had. It turned out great! Everyone in our family liked it, and that is really rare! We will be making this our new German potato salad recipe! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Sooo sorry. We didn't care for this recipe. I even let it sit overnight to see if the potatoes would soak up more flavor, but they tasted the same. That being said, I've never had a potato salad quite like this before, so maybe its just not my taste. I have had many potato salads without mayo, so that's not it. I did half the recipe, halving all the ingredients...but don't see where that would affect the taste greatly. Maybe my potatoes were too big??? Made for Gimme 5 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is nearly like my Omi's and mum's recipe. We use the same ingredients in this recipe except for hot mustard and lemon juice as there is already the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Wow! This is so good. DH said he thinks it's better than his mothers recipe. Which I have been making for years and have posted here at Zaar. We enjoyed the touch of lemon in this. I did use 1 tsp of prepared mustard and 1 tsp of powdered. Gave a nice touch of heat. I did prepared everything the day before but did not mix it together until the day of. I re-heated the sauce before adding the lemon. Served it at room temperature. Very yummy. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      That a wonderful potato salad ! I did leave out the onions, because I was serving several other side dishes to guests that had a fair amount of onion in them and I found out a little before they arrived that one of our guests was not really an onion fan. The sauce that this sits in, is great... full of flavour and I made one tiny change... I added a smidge of sugar to take the edge of the tartness of the vinegar /mustard/lemon because DH tried it an said he would like it a fraction sweeter please. Guests liked it very much that way too. Please see my Rating System: 4 lovely stars for a recipe that I will have pleasure in making again. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This was good. I don't think I've ever done a dressing of this kind, but the potatoes soaked it right up and were very flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic German Summer Potato Salad (Leichter Kartoffelsalat)

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.7
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    45%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1258.6 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites