Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2013

      A truly great German Potato Salad! Made half recipe this morning before going to work and the one little bite I snuck in before packing up left me wishing lunch time would hurry up and come. I made using rust potatoes because that is what I had on hand and used a nice red onion. Thanks for the great salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      Excellent and very easy. Not too syrupy or vinegar-y, just what the doctor ordered. I sliced my red potatoes before boiling them and they didn't fall apart and looked pretty. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I made this for an Oktoberfest party. Actually, I made it twice - once with and once without bacon (for myself and other vegetarians). It was awesome, even without the bacon, and our guests raved about the meat version. I made it the evening before the party, and I'm glad I did. The overnight time in the fridge really helped the flavors to blend well. One tip: if you are also planning to make this as a vegetarian dish, add an extra half and onion or so, and really caramelize the onions (low heat for a good 45 minutes). It ups the flavor and tastes amazing.

      Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Everyone really enjoyed this!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Made for Spring Pick a Chef 2011 and I am glad I did. I made this to go along with your Horseradish Meatloaf#434823 and a vegetable and we had a fabulous meal that DH and his dad could only mumble yummmmm. I sliced the potatoes instead of dicing and used some regular onions and some slivered green onions for a little more color along with fresh parsley. The flavors were right on. Not too tart or sweet. Definately going into my Favorites of 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Just like Grandma used to make! Lovely potato salad--and it was gobbled up by all. Made for Football Pool, 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I made this for our family over the Memorial Day Holiday... had to triple the recipe...it was wiped clean...my daughter said there was only one thing wrong with the recipe... there wasn't enough...she has never been a potato salad eater... thank you for submitting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      My son loved this recipe, and so did all his friends. Have had some of them ask for the recipe it is that good. Also made it for ZWT6 and Voracious Vagabonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Yummy! I made this as directed and it was really simple. I did as you suggested in your intro - made it ahead and then nuked it for dinner. Very flavorful. Thanks breezermom for a great treat. Made for ZWT6 by one of your fellow Unrulies Under the Influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Deeeeliciously good! Great with our grilled sausages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Great potato salad - perfect balance of flavors. Served it with bratwurst and cabbage ... it added a real level of complexity to a simple meal. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This is the first recipe I've tried for German potato salad, and I don't think I'll be looking any further. The tart/sweet/salt ratio was just right for us. Perfect paired with brats off the grill. Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Very good German potato salad. At first it didn't seem like the ones we ate when we lived in Germany but after sitting overnight in the fridge and the flavours have melded it is much more like them. I did add just a pinch more sugar. All the potato salads we had while there were with sliced potatoes and just a touch of fresh dill ( this could be from the region we lived in LOL) Definite keeper and will be made again. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag. Forgot to add I used red onion since the yellow ones are horrid in the store right now .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      We enjoyed this potato salad. It seemed “lighter� than the usual German potato salad I’ve made; I think because it didn’t have flour to thicken the sauce. So it was more of a vinaigrette instead of sticking to the potatoes. We like it that way. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I really enjoyed - both warm and cold! The diced potatoes made it a little different and the flavor was great. I will be making this often. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Very good indeed ! We also liked the dicing of the potatoes and it was easy to make. Please see my Rating System: 4 wonderful stars for an tasty recipe that I will be making again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      We enjoyed this wonderfully flavoursome potato salad warm this evening - and I've sampled a small amount cold. Great either way - and I do look forward to eating a serve for tomorrow's take-to-work lunch. I made this pretty much to the recipe - except for adding 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onions in step three. We loved the contrasting sweet and savoury flavours and really loved the bacon in this: a great blend of flavours. All in all a great potato salad, breezermom, and certainly one I'll happily make again. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      What a great German potato salad! We liked that the potatoes are diced instead of sliced - gave it a different texture. And the seasonings were just perfect. This went great with a bratwurst skillet with onions & peppers. Thanks for posting! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

    • on January 12, 2007

      This is sensational! I goofed and used white wine vinegar, but it hasn't seemed to hurt the fabulous taste, texture, etc. Also I sliced my potatoes (about 4 medium russets) instead of dicing them. The taste gets better and better the longer the flavors meld, and I agree that this is delicious warm or cold. This has the right amount of tang and sweetness and bacon...mmmm! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    27%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 703.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites