25 Reviews

This is by far the best French Onion Soup recipe I have come across!! I've made it three times in two weeks because my DH has requested it that many times. This is the same guy who used to not even like onions!! Don't be daunted by the long list of ingredients! This recipe is actually really easy to make. You're (basically) putting everything into a pot to cook and then toasting up some bread and cheese to make it even more amazing. It does take a little time to prepare but the soup is so worth the effort. I actually add the wine before the broth because I find that it is easier to deglaze the pot with wine. It also lets the wine cook off just a little bit. Either way, this recipe is phenomenal. Thank you so much Anita for sharing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick November 13, 2011

Thanks for this recipe, taken me years to make a french onion soup as good as they serve in Paris. I use the red wine but for the brandy I use Calvados (french apple brandy). My favourite stock is the Knorr Touch of Taste Beef Bouillon. Best soup I've ever made.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COLETTE P. January 02, 2014

I rarely rate recipes I gather on line even when I really enjoy them. This one is just too good not to weigh in on. I have been making French onion soup for years and mine was really good but this takes it to an entirely new level. I will never use any other recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
praeinlincoln September 09, 2014

simply outstanding! It's a hit everytime I make it.....my family actually asks for it as soon as temperatures begin to drop.... Thank you !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missmagenta March 26, 2013

Out of this world! 10 stars! Best French onion soup I've ever eaten - and I fixed it! I scaled it down a bit because I only had 3 onions (4 cups). I used Merlot for the wine and fixed Rustic French Bread (#391163) to use for the croutes, which was amazing! One of the best meals I've ever cooked! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover November 27, 2012

I have made this recipe before and it's absolutely heavenly. It's a labor of love, so make sure you are willing to devote the time to get the superior results this recipe will yield. Make sure you get good quality bread for the croutons - Julia was right: the junk you can buy at the grocery isn't worth your time or money. Get a good, crunchy crust, flavorful baguette at a French bakery (or other bakery that knows what they're doing). You won't be sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia August 10, 2009

Excellent recipe. I read a lot of different ones before settling on this one - it creates exactly what I have experienced in "authentic" french restaurants - but better! I threw in some fresh thyme sprigs when the onions were first softening, used a cheap dry white wine, added a dash of ground cloves, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Straight forward and excellent results - open a bottle of wine and take your time - that's the secret sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staplkl October 03, 2015

Pretty darn good soup recipe. A couple of criticisms however. I'd add the wine and a bit of broth after the onions are caramelized as to more easily deglaze the pot. This also helps some of the alcohol burn off more quickly. 2-3 Tablespoons of cognac is way too much for me. It made the soup taste like liquor. Way too strong, I just want a hint of cognac flavor, not to overpower the soup. Maybe a 2-3 teaspoons would do it for me. Way too much cheese. I probably used 1/10 of the cheese called for. Just a small handgrab for each bowl and some on top of the bread is plenty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myspamaddress01 June 26, 2015

I followed the recipe with one small addition: I added some freshly chopped thyme in addition to the ground sage. Made the soup on Thursday and put it in the refrigerator until my Sunday dinner party. Re-heated the soup on the stove top then added in the grated, raw onion and the cognac. I then assembled the soup in individual soup crocks with the croutes and cheese and put them in the oven. They turned out beautifully! My guests raved! I will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calidre January 20, 2015

Wow!!! I never review any recipe but this one is absolutely amazing!!! My husband loves french onion soup and now I have a recipe that rivals the top restaurants. Thank you Food.com and thank you Julia Child!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desiree K. January 08, 2015
Authentic French Onion Soup Courtesy of Julia Child