Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic French Onion Soup Courtesy of Julia Child Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic French Onion Soup Courtesy of Julia Child

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2011

      This is by far the best French Onion Soup recipe I have come across!! I've made it three times in two weeks because my DH has requested it that many times. This is the same guy who used to not even like onions!! Don't be daunted by the long list of ingredients! This recipe is actually really easy to make. You're (basically) putting everything into a pot to cook and then toasting up some bread and cheese to make it even more amazing. It does take a little time to prepare but the soup is so worth the effort. I actually add the wine before the broth because I find that it is easier to deglaze the pot with wine. It also lets the wine cook off just a little bit. Either way, this recipe is phenomenal. Thank you so much Anita for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Thanks for this recipe, taken me years to make a french onion soup as good as they serve in Paris. I use the red wine but for the brandy I use Calvados (french apple brandy). My favourite stock is the Knorr Touch of Taste Beef Bouillon. Best soup I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      I rarely rate recipes I gather on line even when I really enjoy them. This one is just too good not to weigh in on. I have been making French onion soup for years and mine was really good but this takes it to an entirely new level. I will never use any other recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      simply outstanding! It's a hit everytime I make it.....my family actually asks for it as soon as temperatures begin to drop.... Thank you !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Out of this world! 10 stars! Best French onion soup I've ever eaten - and I fixed it! I scaled it down a bit because I only had 3 onions (4 cups). I used Merlot for the wine and fixed Rustic French Bread (#391163) to use for the croutes, which was amazing! One of the best meals I've ever cooked! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I have made this recipe before and it's absolutely heavenly. It's a labor of love, so make sure you are willing to devote the time to get the superior results this recipe will yield. Make sure you get good quality bread for the croutons - Julia was right: the junk you can buy at the grocery isn't worth your time or money. Get a good, crunchy crust, flavorful baguette at a French bakery (or other bakery that knows what they're doing). You won't be sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      An absolutely fantastic tasting french onion soup. Sensational and delicious. I used OXO beef flavoured stock cubes to have the same great flavour base but making it vegetarian friendly, and used turkish bread to make the "croutes" as that is what I had on hand. Plus I used a 1/2 tsp of fresh, finely chopped sage leaves. I used red wine, and as flirtyfunchick advised, added the wine to deglaze.<br/><br/>All my dinner guests absolutely raved about the fantastic flavours - as with all recipes that advise to use a bay leaf, DO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      Very very yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Fantastic recipe! I did not have cognac but I had brandy, that worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

    • on December 24, 2012

      The wife wanted some French Onion soup the other day so we bought some canned stuff. It was awful so I decided to make some myself. I always liked Julia Child and when I saw her recipe I decided to give it a go. We were amazed at how easy it was to make. I didn't think I would like it because I'm not an onion fan but I was wrong. Total flavor and texture nirvana. I posted a picture, just waiting to see if it shows up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      We absolutely love this recipe. This was my first time making this and it came out great. I followed the recipe except we didn't have any sage and used red wine. He directions were extremely clear and so easy to follow. I'll definitely be making it again. Thanks....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Absolutely amazing! I followed someone's suggestion to deglaze with the wine, and then add all the broth. It really wasn't hard to make. We got 3 meal sized servings out of one batch, 6 servings must be for a side dish. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This soup is AMAZING!!!!!!!!! BY FAR it has the most refined and rich taste of ANY french onion soup I've ever had. And believe me, I've had some pretty tasty frenc onion soups--and this is FAR above the rest. I almost cried in happieness as I took the first bite-realizing the long time it took....as other people have said, DON"T be scared off by the time it takes---it is soooooooooooo rewarding. If I could, I 'd give it 10000000000000000 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      I was craving French Onion soup the other day and ordered it in a local restaurant on Cape Cod. I was terribly disappointed. The onions were only steamed and the broth tasted way too salty with no flavor. I decided Julia would have a better recipe so I am overjoyed with the results. Many of my friends are gluten intolerant so I substituted white rice flour for the wheat flour and I am a virgin olive oil junkie so I exchanged my favorite spanish one for her butter. I trust Julia my Food hero would understand. With a respect for healthy food, Lori

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Absolutely fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      This is absolutely fabulous. I will never use another French Onion recipe again. I would give it 10 stars if I could. I added kitchen bouquet to my broth as I didn't have any homemade. I also used a good whiskey instead of cognac as I didn't have cognac. I used a good Cabernet for the wine. I didn't add the raw onion as my husband can't eat raw onions. It is so worth the time to make it and more...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This takes time but is the best French Onion Soup ever!!! I have a simple version that I make but will definitely have to make this one more often because the taste is soo much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Hubby gave Julia Child's cookbook THE FRENCH CHEF for Christmas and I made this recipe last night. It was a big hit. He said it was the best he every tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic French Onion Soup Courtesy of Julia Child

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 799.8
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    43%
    Total Fat 38.5 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 18.1 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 79.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 2158.4 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 37.3 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites