Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Chinese Pork Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Chinese Pork Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2010

      This is the recipe that introduced me to RecipeZaar. It is my now my go-to recipe for chow mein. I've made this at least four times and it is always excellent. The recipe is versatile - you can vary the veggies based on what you have on hand and what you like. Julienned carrots, cabbage, green peppers, you name it. The secret seems to be the fairly long braise of the browned pork, covered, in the water/soy sauce mixture. I usually use boneless pork loin when I make this and you'd think this would be mercilessly overcooking it, but it comes out great every time, and would probably also work with tougher pork like sirloin or possibly even butt if you cut it small enough. The other secret, of course, is the molasses. I'd rate this as one of the best two or three recipes I've found on the internet, and the net's been my cookbook for over a decade now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This was delicious. Made exactly according to recipe. Next time I will probably try with low-sodium soy sauce, as I found it a little too salty. Also will double the celery, as that's how we like it in Minnesota. This is what's known as "Nankin-style" chow mein, after a popular Chinese restaurant in Minneapolis for years. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This was very good. Will definitely make it again but I was a little disappointed because it didn't have the flavor punch that I have become accustomed to from a Kittencal recipe. :) Maybe more Molasses? Not sure but it seemed to be missing some flavor. I have to say that I was concerned that the pork was cooking too long but it turned out very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Delicious chow mein, Kitten! I did add some fresh broccoli and a few carrots to up the veggies. A friend joined us who has a very restricted diet. I served it over jasmine rice, but hubby just used the chow mein noodles. Don't leave out the molasses--it's a critical ingredient! Thanks for posting; we'll have this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      My Mother's Chow Mein recipe sadly was one that was not written down. I've ordered from Chinese Restaurants, but they were not even close. After searching many recipe sights, I found this recipe. I added a bit more molasses and soy sauce, left off the green onions and almonds. I served over steamed rice and crunchy chinese noodles. Fantastic! Thank you. This recipe is going in my file for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      It is tasty but it would be more chow mein if it actually had lo mein or sam see mein noodles. This is more like chop suey. You can also add cabbage, broccoli, carrots (thinly sliced),snow peas, or beans and top with green onions and chopped egg omelet. I also rather have shiitake mushrooms instead of canned button mushrooms. It has a meatier flavor. I would add a tablespoon or two of mirin or sherry and some oyster sauce. I do like things on the sweet side. I would not have thought to add molasses.<br/><br/>The molasses in this recipe and the soy sauce = thick soy sauce

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Yummy! I'm not even a chow mein fan but this was interesting enough to try and we really liked it. Long cooking the pork was key, plus adding some extra soy, some chili/garlic sauce, and the molasses was such a silver bullet....who would have thought of that? I added bok choy for extra crunch and nutrition and used a lot less pork.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      EXCELLENT Recipe! I used Pork Tenderloin, added 1Tbls. Oyster Sauce, 1 tsp. Sesame Oil, 1 1/2 Tbls. Fish sauce

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I have to give this only one star due to false advertising. It's neither authentic, nor is it chow mein. There is absolutely no part of the name "authentic chow mein" that even begins to describe this. I'm ashamed at this recipe. Whether it's tasty or not is irrelevant, it's NOT chow mein. Chow mein is the old fashioned way of writing what is now written in pinyin as Ch%u01CEomi?n. Ch%u01CEo literally means "fried" and "mi?n" literally means "noodles". There are absolutely no noodles in the recipe whatsoever. What this is is a vaguely Chinese'esque (not authentic) pork stir fry. It is NOT even remotely close to chow mein.
      If anything, it should be called "substitute oriental pork stir fry." I say substitute because the recipe involves a number of ingredients that are common substitutes for difficult to find produce or sauces.
      If you like the recipe, then by all means, like it and eat it. Just don't call it "chow mein" and at the very least don't call it "authentic chow mein" when it's anything but.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      I love this recipe and make it quite often. I often add other veggies, depending on what I have. For those of you who think this is too bland or missing something, try adding a little bit of toasted sesame oil and a tablespoon or so of oyster sauce. Makes a big difference in flavor. However, it is yummy and I highly recommend it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      I used a pack of assorted pork chops that were on sale.I also doubled recipe glad I did as it was well liked and eaten.Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Excellent - better then take out. Served with fried rice #216064.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      This was so yummy. I added Tofu and chicken instead of pork. I'm an inpatient cook so I dumped all my veggies in after the chicken was cooked. While they were cooking I mixed together all the sauce ing & dumped in when veggies were tender. I halved the spouts & added chow mein noodles right before adding the sauce. Simmered for about 3 mins. Thickened nicley. I will definatly make this again. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This is a dish to brag about! I've made it several times and every time my husband raves on and on about how tender the pork is. I always used canned sprouts and it turns out just fine. (good enough for us. And company, I might add) I froze a small portion and it seemed to do pretty well. Reheated in the microwave straight from the freezer for 2 minutes. TASTY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I used olive oil to brown the pork, then added the celery, onions and garlic and sauteed for a few more minutes. Due to other reviewers, I added another tsp. of molasses as well. Thanks for a winner, Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

    • on September 05, 2014

      Kitten, usually love your recipes, but mein means noodles. Where are the noodles? More like chop suey. Tried it, tasted good...served with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I have tried many chow mein recipes but this is the best. Loved it all but may add red pepper next time. I used canned bean sprouts but love fresh so may try that also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I hate to disagree but it was missing something. We added more soy sauce and I probably should have added more pepper but this just didn't do it for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Great recipe we enjoyed it very much.Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Chinese Pork Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.5
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    40%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 100.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1381.2 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes