Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Chili Verde (Pork and Green Tomatillo Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Chili Verde (Pork and Green Tomatillo Stew)

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      I just moved to Texas and had never had chili verde, but have tried some other things with poblanos and this seemed like something that sounded really wonderful. Little did I know......this turned out INCREDIBLE the 1st time, and the flavors are amazing!! I did read all the reviews 1st, and used less of the liquid which made it a very hearty stew- sort of chili, the way we really like it! I might try chicken next time just to make it a little more heart-healthy. All in all, a definite keeper and will be going to this recipe many times in the future for a crowd pleaser!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I used pork tender loin instead of pork stew meat -- all I had. I ended up cooking the stew for a total of 3-4hours to reduce the amount of liquid to thicken up. Wow, wow, wow - yep, I said it 3 times. Pork was fall apart tender. Liquid was velvety and thick (after the extra cooking time); extremely flavorful. This is one of those recipes that will be in my 'go-to' vault.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      My husband is a gourmet cook and I am a tough critic, but I have to give this recipe 5 stars, hands down! This is by far the best chili verde recipe we've tried. I, like other readers, cut the chicken broth in half and let it simmer on low for 3 hours. I used pork tenderloin and added a few more jalapenos because we enjoy the spice! It turned out INCREDIBLE! We had our Pastor's family and a visiting Pastor and his wife over and everyone loved it! Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Delicious chili verde! I let it simmer for about 3 hours to get the pork and peppers to be nice and tender. I only used 2 cups of stock/broth, which was plenty since the pork and peppers release a ton of liquid as they simmer. In fact, next time I'd add only 1 cup of broth. This stew paired well with a Mexican rice side dish and a fresh cilantro garnish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is an amazing recipe. It is a must try for those of you who grow tomatillos, as the plants are prolific. We have enjoyed this authentic soup several times, enjoying it as written. We have found that we prefer substituting chicken for the pork & to increase the quantity of tomatillos by another pound. We serve it over rice as the recipe is a litte thin (we don't try to tweak it though because the flavor is SIMPLY AMAZING)!!!! Everyone that has tried this has asked for the recipe. Make it... you will not be disappointed.
      Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This was awesome!

      I halved the recipe and used 6 cups of chicken broth and it came out thick & delicious. I also shredded the cubed pork after it had simmered for a couple of hours to make it more burrito friendly.

      Excellent flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times(found it on Allrecipes) This is delicious but please note I and many have found the broth is way too much. I think it is a typo. I usually cut the recipe in half(family of 5 leftovers=plenty of food) which then calls for 9 cups, I use 2 cups or less. Otherwise it is delicious. Try it served with white or spanish rice!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is so GOOD!! I am making it again as I type this! I had made a batch back in Feb.(Ithought I had posted a review?) and froze a whole bunch of it, which came in really handy for a quick go-to meal, but we just ran out last weekend! It is simmering away on the stove and the house smells AMAZING when you walk in. My husband is going to be thrilled when he gets home tonight! He LOVES this! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This was outstanding; my only mistake was making it cause my family now says we don't have to go out for Chile Verde anymore. The only thing I left out was the cumin (family doesn't like it) and I roasted all the peppers/chiles. Like others I did let it simmer for about 4 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Very good! I've made chili verde often with chicken and chilis - it was fun to use pork and tomatillos! I made this in the crockpot. Started early in the morning and cooked slowly throughout the day. I used a cut-up pork tenderloin, and regular green peppers instead of pablanos and jalapenos as my kids don't tolerate the heat. Added a few cans of pinto beans to make this a little thicker. This turned out flavorful, interesting and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I can't believe it!! Finally after 15+ years I have found "the" recipe. After moving to NC from CA I thought I would never again taste the dish that I loved so much from my favorite mexican food place in California! I have been searching, with no luck, to find a restaurant locally that could duplicate the one thing I craved for years. Never has anyone even come close to getting the taste right. NOW... NOW I have it! I made this tonight with my husband and I was in Heaven after just one bite! I can't thank you enough for posting this. I didn't use the poblano peppers but instead used a combination of jalepenos (seeded and inner ribs removed) and canned green chiles. I let mine stew for a good 2+ hours and it was perfect. Thick, rich, wonderful pot of goodness! It doesn't get any better than this! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Great recipe! I too would cut back on the amount of broth to allow it to thicken quicker....I thickened it with corn starch and was just what I had been looking for..my wife who is Mexican also gave it a 5 star rating! Thanks for posting....................Rick B(2)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Though next time I'll cut back a little on the broth to make a thicker product, the taste of this was spectacular. I've been wanting to experiment with tomatillos for a while and this was a great start. My wife is from Colombia and it reminded her very much of sancocho. (From a Colombian that is quite the compliment). Personally, I think this taste better than any sancocho I've every had. Even my own. I think next time I'll also grill my peppers and tomatillos before hand for an even deeper flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      This was very good. I cut the recipe in half and still had tons left. It was great mixed with rice, cheddar cheese on top, and scooped up by tortilla chips. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Love this recipe. The flavor is great and the heat isn't too much, but I like it super spicy so next time I will add another jalapeƱo or two! The consistency is a bit runny so next time I will use half the broth but I thickened with cornstarch and that helped. Will definitely make again. I also purred some of the peppers to give it a smooth consistency and added potatoes the last 20 min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I have searched for 12 years for this. Chili Verde was a dish I use to order a lot when I lived in Arizona, and being back in Michigan can not find it anywhere. I will have to agree with a lot of the posters below, the broth is to much. This recipe calls for 4 plus qts, this is my first time making it and I have only used 2 qts and think that may be a bit too much. Be it does have amazing flavor and reminds me of the good times in Arizona!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Wow, if I could, I would give this recipe 10 stars. It seemed like a simple enough recipe, and nothing special, but it was delicious. I've been so disappointed by pork lately, always dry. This pork was moist and tastey. My husband is Mexican (from Mexico) and commented several times how good it was. Usually he just eats and doesn't give feedback, so this will be a keeper for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      This is by far the easiet and most authentic tasting Chili Verde... it was a hit with my family. I love it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Excellent recipe!!! I read the other reviews and agreed that using a little less broth makes it not as runny. Other than that it is fantastic. I actually used this recipe this year for our mexican themed easter dinner. Everyone loved it!!! Thanks for the recipe...it is one that I will use often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Taste wise, this was exactly what I was looking for.. but it was really runny! Next time, I'd definitely cut out some of the broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Chili Verde (Pork and Green Tomatillo Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.3
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    53%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 85.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1092.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes