46 Reviews

This was by far the most delicious cake I have ever made from scratch - better than anything store bought or bakery made! I have never made a Black Forest cake before, but my daughter was learning about Germany in preschool and I thought it would be a fun home activity for her to participate in baking an authentic German dessert. This was the first recipe that popped up in my Google search, and I'm so glad it did! I made a few alterations to the recipe - namely that I omitted the Kirsch since children would be eating it. I also made this cake in February, when cherries are not in season and near impossible to come by in any store. I used canned cherries instead, and saved all of the drained syrup to use in place of the Kirsch. My only recommendation is to cut back on the cherry juice/kirsch this cake calls for, because the bottom layer of my cake turned into a soggy mess. I also recommend piping a layer of the filling around the outside edge of the cake after you layer the filling on, and just lay the cherries in the center of the ring, thus keeping them away from the outside edges. My cherries slid out of the sides as soon as I added the next layer of cake on top, so this would prevent that from happening. And even though the recipe says to add cherry juice if the filling is too thick - don't! The filling SHOULD be thick, so it can support the next cake layer and not squish out the sides. I learned that too late. I used maraschino cherries to decorate the top of my cake since I didn't have enough canned cherries to use on the top. All in all, an AMAZING recipe! My head is already floating in the clouds with how great this cake turned out, I can't even imagine the results if I actually used the Kirsch!! Thank You, Bekah_Goertzen!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven39176 February 28, 2013

Just like my Mother's that migrated over here in 1962 from Nurnberg, Germany. Parents owned a Bakery Shop before Russians destroyed the city during WWII. Only difference with recipe would be the added ground cloves, cinnamon, and coffee. Otherwise - PERFECT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia June 09, 2015

This cake is unbelievably good. I made it for a German-themed Easter gathering. The host, who was born and raised near Stuttgart, actually jumped with glee when I arrived with the cake. He said it was very authentic and as good as any he's ever had back home. He even posted a picture of the cake on Facebook, and it was only the second picture in 5 years he's ever posted!<br/><br/>There were only about a dozen people at the get-together, and the cake was such a big hit I was commissioned to make four more cakes for $50 each! That certainly helped me get over the sticker shock I experienced when I purchased the Kirschwasser.<br/><br/>I made the recipe exactly as stated with canned pitted dark cherries in heavy syrup (Oregon brand, two 15oz cans, drained, including the 15 or so cherries I reserved for the garnish) because I could not locate fresh cherries in any local markets in April. <br/><br/>I also made two minor procedural modifications: 1) I followed the lead of the reviewer who linked her modified recipe for this cake by gradually brushing the 1/2 cup Kirsch that the cherries had soaked in onto the tops of the three cakes (I had poked about 30 holes with a toothpick in each cake) while the cakes were still in the pans and had not yet cooled. I did incorporate the full 1/2 cup amongst the three layers. 2) I beat the whipped cream to just shy of soft peaks and added the powdered sugar, dry milk, and Kirsch, then beat to stiff peaks. I didn't want to risk overbeating the icing while trying to thoroughly incorporate the stabilizers/flavors. I also doubled the icing quantity to be certain I would have enough to both frost and decorate. I'll use the leftovers to dip strawberries for dessert another night.<br/><br/>I was frustrated that I was short on time while decorating the cake and I somehow had a clogged piping tip, so my intended rosettes looked more like blobs, but no one at our dinner party cared about that. I'll be sure to leave more time to troubleshoot little issues like that next time I make the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinityL* April 21, 2014

This was my first ever attempt at a Black Forest Cake and I'm so glad I chose this recipe. It is, indeed, a dessert for grown-ups. I'm making it again this week on request for my step-mother's birthday. My only problem was that I had to use cherry juice instead of Kirsch as children were going to eat it. I solved the lack of alcohol problem by serving cherries in kirsch on the side. The espresso in the butter filling was an inspiring touch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enfox May 23, 2012

This is amazing!!!! A wee bit time consuming, just due to assembly, but don't let that scare you. It is no more complicated than making any other cake from scratch. This is a real Holiday treat and will forever be my Easter desert for my German mother.

TIP: don't decide in a whim to make this cake. Depending on where you live (such as the cultural wasteland known as Arizona, where I live) you may have to take some time to find the ingredients. All food made with love should be planned ahead, and this is no exception!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The QC March 23, 2011

You might ask yourself is this cake worth the time to make, if you don't live near a German bakery/deli, then yes it is. I grew up near a German bakery that used to sell this type of cake by the slice/half/whole. I now live in an area where I have not found this type of cake being made the authentic way. I have now made this twice and I will now make this every year in May/June/July when the cherries are in season. Please do not use can cherries when making this. With the amount of time and money to make this cake, it just destroys it when canned cherries are used. Some tips: 1. Don't over soak the cherries. I did the first time because the weather turn over 90 and I was not turning on the oven that day to make the cake. The second time I only soaked for 5 hours and that was enough for me. 2. I don't like to use a cherry pitter because it take to much of the cherry flesh. So I just cut the cherries in half to pit them then soak them. You need to cut them in half anyway before assembling the cake. 3. Be careful how much espresso you use. The first time I had my DH make me an fresh espresso and I used the whole amount. It was so strong. Luckily I had over soaked the cherries that time so it balanced out. But if I had not, that flavor would have over taken the whole cake. So I recommend to add a little, then taste the icing. If too weak of flavor add more and so on. 4. If you want a richer darker looking cake, then use 1/3 cup black coco powder and 1/3 cup coco powder. This makes the cake a dark black color, like oreo cookie color. 5. When soaking the cakes, use the most on the top cake layer. Because this layer does not have cherries soaking into it, this will be the driest of the three layers. I would say 1/4 cup for this layer and 1/8 cup for the bottom and middle layers. This way you will not get the bottom layer to be soggy mess. 6. When assembling, I lay the cherries cut side down on the cake, then pour/spread the icing over them. This makes it so you don't have the cherries push out the sides when putting on the next layer. Also the juice from the cherries goes into the cake below it. 6. The only change I made was to the whip cream. I knew there was no way we would eat this whole cake before the whip cream died. So I used the following recipe to stabilize the whip cream. <a href="http://www.food.com/recipe/wilton-stabilized-whipped-cream-79506">Wilton Stabilized Whipped Cream</a>. For the third time, I will probably add two more tablespoons icing sugar to make the cream a little sweeter, but not too much. It's not supposed to be too sweet to help balance the other sweet items of the cake. I would love to know about the cinnamon/clove spices one of the other reviewers talked about. Good Luck!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud June 18, 2016

Everyone loved this cake. It was a bit labor intensive but so worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer M. May 27, 2016

hello, im writing to say that id bought a blackforest cake that came with the topping and so 4th,,following diections,i baked the cake and when it turned out the way it did,,that cake was not qualified to be cut in half,the cake was only 1 inch thick after bake,,this recipe should have been double cake mix and the rest the same,,we were very disappointed,im gonna try again and get 2 boxes double batch cake,sorry,,seems it wont work any other way,or make a 1 layer,lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scott c. December 24, 2015

This cake is amazing. I made a few changes that made it even better... In the cake batter I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp cloves, as well as 1 tsp instant coffee grounds, ground to a powder. I baked the cakes for 30 minutes in two round 9" pans, then cut them in half to make 4 thin layers. This makes a big difference for flavor and presentation. For the layers, I did the first layer as the espresso buttercream , second layer with a piped ring of buttercream and filled with cherries, and third layer of buttercream. For the cherries, I kept them in their heavy syrup and added the kirsch to the whole lot. I then dabbed the cake layers heavily with the syrup/kirsch mix, as well as adding some to the buttercream (about 2 tbsp). I put the cherries, lightly drained, into my magic bullet keeping 10 aside or the top, and roughly chopped them up, the. drained them in a sieve. This made for a nice textured middle layer that doesn't pull apart as much when you cut it. I iced the entire outside of the cake first with the coffee buttercream, and then with the whipped cream. This caught all the crumbs in the buttercream layer, which I then refrigerated for an hour, keeping the whipped cream clean. I whipped the cream to soft peaks then added the sifted sugar and milk powder, and the kirsch and vanilla. Delicious cake and we'll worth the time and effort!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aleiciazvincent November 21, 2015

OMG!!!! This is my first try to make a Black Forest cake. I'm not a baker and never attended a baking class. This cake is wonderful!!!! My husband who never likes anything made with chocolate has put this one on his exemption list. He said this tasted really good! This is also my first time to post a review on any recipe, mind you I've been using recipes online for more than 10 yrs. but this is my first review. Just couldn't pass the chance to rave about this. NOTE: For those beginners like me, please DO NOT OVER WHIP your icing, watch a video or two on YouTube before you make your icing. You can still save you curdled whipped cream icing but you have to have extra whipping cream to do it. Unfortunately for me, I had to throw my first batch as I ran out of heavy cream. Had to make a trip to the store. Whew! It was well worth it though. Good luck!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feetpointe November 16, 2015
Authentic Black Forest Cake (Schwarzwald Kirsch Kuchen)