Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Australian Pea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Australian Pea Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      I really liked this salad. The water chestnuts offer a delightful crunch in a tart dressing. Very different from the standard pea salads I've tried in the past. I only used a quarter of a red bell & elected to julienne the water chestnuts. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      We enjoyed this salad and especially liked the tangy zing the dill and mustard gave to the dressing, thanks for sharing! Made this for ZWT8 Bistro Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This salad made a lovely presentation and helped cool down the spicy grilled shrimp I served it with. I opted to cut the water chestnuts in small pieces. Made for Bistro Babes, ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Really liked this a lot, was a bit surprised by the somewhat tepid reviews. I used 2% Greek yogurt, and my favorite mustard (Kosciusko, easy to get in NYC). Otherwise, no changes whatsoever! Very pretty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      My picture is not near as pretty as Toni's ...so will not post here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This was a very different pea salad. Light, mildly flavored and very easy to put together. After it sat in the refrigerator I felt it needed 'something' so I added a few chopped green onions and it really made a difference. Next time I think I will chop the water chesnuts as well so the crunch will be well spread. Thanks for this interesting salad Nan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This was exceptionally easy to put together & I loved the crunch, however the flavor wasn't on for me. I did use non-fat yogurt which probably diminished the results. I may try this again subbing radishes for the water chestnuts. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      i followed this recipe exact and i love all the ingredients but for some reason this salad was not very good at all. it didnt taste much like anything. sort of bland with a bad aftertaste. it sounded like a good idea but it didnt turn out well at all. i'm glad everyone else had a better expierience than i did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Since my peas were just thawed, I skipped the chilling time. Initally, I thought the mustard was a bit too pronounced over shadowing the delicate flavors of the dill and salad fixings. Had the rest for dinner and the flavor was quite different with the dill more developed and the mustard mellowed by the yogurt. I used non-fat yogurt and to replicate the creaminess of a full fat yogurt, left it in the yogurt strainer for 30 minutes. Loved the light crunchiness of the vegetables and the beautiful colors just softly muted by the dressing. Definitely perfect for a potluck or dinner party as it can be prepared ahead and looks quite impressive. Thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Delicious! I chopped the water chestnuts and used radishes instead of the pepper (the kids won't eat raw pepper.) I've had a similar salad with sugar-this is an interesting variation. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Another great recipe PanNan! I used canned peas and drained them and diced the water chestnuts too. Nice flavors thru the salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      Crunchy, Fresh and light! I used fresh dill.Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Australian Pea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.7
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    13%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 410.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes