49 Reviews

My boyfriend spent 8 months in Australia studying abroad, and he said that these meat pies were the most authentic tasting ones he had ever had in the states! He tried many times to replicate the traditional aussie meat pies, and this recipe was the one!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allison.jessup April 05, 2009

I made this last night and it's almost all gone less than 24 hours later! As an Australian living the US (where it's difficult and expensive to get real Aussie pies) I really appreciated this recipe. The steps were easy to follow and create a pie with filling that tastes just like what I was brought up on. I added mushrooms for extra flavour, and next time will try cubed steak instead of mince as another person wrote.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HungryTassieExpat February 20, 2012

We just finished supper and I had to come here and rave. Soooo yummy! I made the meat mixture last night and today when I got home from work I rolled out the puff pastry and put the whole thing together. Easy as pie!...Updating to offer a variation. Rather than make a large pie out of this I rolled out the puff pastry sheets and using a bowel I cut into circles. I then spooned some of the filling in and folded in half and pinched closed. This yielded exactly 12 single serving pies. I think next time I may try crecent dough. Also wanted to mention that I always use vegetable bouillon cubes rather than beef because I find that the beef is too strong. I also only use 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce for the same reason. Served with mashed potatoes and green beans and the picky 6 year old couldn't get enough for this yummy meal. This is the first time I made this for the kids but it wont be the last. Oh, and we love these with mustard.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse October 02, 2007

This was a good substitute for an Aussie meat pie in America, but doesn't quite taste the same. A small point, but a meat pie generally has a regular pie crust on the bottom and the puff pastry just on the top. This tasted good, but was not spectacular. I covered with foil after the first 15 minutes and it came out perfectly browned.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary.notzon.larsen October 14, 2006

I'm a native Australian but moved to the U.S. many years ago... I've really missed meat pies and sausage rolls and manage to gain 10lbs every time I go back to Australia. Thanks to this amazing recipe I can now just pile the pounds on right here in the good old U.S.A.

As someone else suggested we changed it up and used 5" pie tins to give a more authentic feel but the recipe is awesome and any size will hit the spot.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HondaTiger March 25, 2012

As an Australian living in the United States for 3 years now- it's been imperative that I learn how to make proper Aussie Food to not only satisfy my cravings, but to satisfy the curiosity of my American friends (and husband!). This Meat Pie is DELICIOUS- especially served with mashed potatos and brown gravy- I've made it for numerous people and it's always been a huge hit! One little pointer though- I use just over 1 lbs of cubed steak as opposed to minced beef- it makes this dish heartier and extra special!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic June 17, 2009

I have made this pie twice, both times with a few adjustments as suggested by other reviewers. First of all, I used a regular pie crust for the bottom, and I added some peas and mushrooms. My only recommendation is that you watch how many stock cubes you put in, instead of 2 I'd put in 1 and a half, since 2 makes it almost TOO salty. The second time I made this I didn't have any puff pastry sheets so I used two pie crusts instead (one for top and bottom of course). I used one stock cube, and threw in a TINY amount of soy sauce just to add a little salt. Both times my family have absolutely loved the pie, and there's never leftovers! I will probably be making this recipe many times....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannah Habababa July 07, 2008

My husband would like to give this more than 5 stars. I made this for our Australian night and there were no leftovers! Unfortunately, I could not find kangaroo in North Carolina, so I substituted a pound of ground beef. This was pretty simple to make and such a huge hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC April 05, 2010

I have been to Australia twice and get so hungry for the meat pies they have there. I like the mince and mushroom best. I added mushrooms to this recipe and couldn't believe it was soooo Aussie..I love it!! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Cook in Oklahoma May 04, 2006

The results totally exceed the ingredients! We found this to be a VERY flavourful pie. Made as directed except I used a more robust pie crust Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned January 17, 2014
Australian Meat Pie