10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread was so easy to make and tasted so yummy! Made this recipe in the oven but would love to try and make this recipe while camping with my girl scout troop. My girl scouts troop shared their damper with other girl scouts during our recent "Thinking Day" celebrate in which my troop was studying Australia. Best when right out of the oven and can be served with many toppings such as honey, marmalade, apricot perserves or raspberry perserves. Bread can be torn to eat or sliced but doesn't serve up neatly.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Chou March 02, 2003

I followed the recipe exactly for an oven but it didnt seem to cook. It was very doughy and heavy. I even put it back in for an extra 20 minutes before giving up

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scolnan April 07, 2007

I'm sorry, but my cousins and I just cooked this damper to celebrate Australia Day and we did not enjoy it at all. Definately too much baking powder - that's all we could taste!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hendlebaby January 27, 2007

My Australian wife was totally rocked of her feet when I served this with Vegemite (the Australian version of Marmite, although most Ozzies will vehemently deny this), so it must have resembled the original pretty well! A nice, soft bread if you like white bread. Like several other reviewers already commented: it is a lot easier to tear than to slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is This Really Necessary October 19, 2006

I made this with a pack of boy scouts on a camp recently. Following the suggestions in the camping forum, we made long flattened 'snakes' out of the dough, wrapped them around sticks and then cooked them over a small fire. Once cooked (it takes a little while), we pulled out the sticks and filled the resulting holes with jam. A really fun activity for the boys! We were sceptical when we saw the first one being made, but a fair number of adult helpers cooked and ate their own!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amalissya August 16, 2006

This was really good. My kids enjoyed this with honey on it. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen April 11, 2006

Great, but I'd probably reduce the amount of salt next time. I also made it with wholemeal flour and it turned out very nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge_ November 01, 2005

Excellent! Baked in a dutch oven in the ashes of a campfire. Couldn't ask for anything better. We served with butter and golden syrup. Another group of campers took our recipe and made their own, and then put jam and whipped cream on top. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyoil April 12, 2004

Oh, this is so tasty warm from the oven, drizzled with golden syrup and oozing with a pat of butter on top. This is very similar to Irish Soda bread, but has a different taste. Don't expect to neatly slice this bread - it is more of a tearing bread. I made it in the oven and it came out great - would love to try it camping using the campfire method sometime as well. I did knead the dough briefly on a floured board, but only about 1-2 minutes as it seemed ready to bake by then. My family devoured the entire loaf in under 5 minutes and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 20, 2002
Australian Damper