Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Australian Damper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Australian Damper

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2003

      This bread was so easy to make and tasted so yummy! Made this recipe in the oven but would love to try and make this recipe while camping with my girl scout troop. My girl scouts troop shared their damper with other girl scouts during our recent "Thinking Day" celebrate in which my troop was studying Australia. Best when right out of the oven and can be served with many toppings such as honey, marmalade, apricot perserves or raspberry perserves. Bread can be torn to eat or sliced but doesn't serve up neatly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly for an oven but it didnt seem to cook. It was very doughy and heavy. I even put it back in for an extra 20 minutes before giving up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I'm sorry, but my cousins and I just cooked this damper to celebrate Australia Day and we did not enjoy it at all. Definately too much baking powder - that's all we could taste!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      My Australian wife was totally rocked of her feet when I served this with Vegemite (the Australian version of Marmite, although most Ozzies will vehemently deny this), so it must have resembled the original pretty well! A nice, soft bread if you like white bread. Like several other reviewers already commented: it is a lot easier to tear than to slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I made this with a pack of boy scouts on a camp recently. Following the suggestions in the camping forum, we made long flattened 'snakes' out of the dough, wrapped them around sticks and then cooked them over a small fire. Once cooked (it takes a little while), we pulled out the sticks and filled the resulting holes with jam. A really fun activity for the boys! We were sceptical when we saw the first one being made, but a fair number of adult helpers cooked and ate their own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

    • on April 11, 2006

      This was really good. My kids enjoyed this with honey on it. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Great, but I'd probably reduce the amount of salt next time. I also made it with wholemeal flour and it turned out very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      Excellent! Baked in a dutch oven in the ashes of a campfire. Couldn't ask for anything better. We served with butter and golden syrup. Another group of campers took our recipe and made their own, and then put jam and whipped cream on top. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Oh, this is so tasty warm from the oven, drizzled with golden syrup and oozing with a pat of butter on top. This is very similar to Irish Soda bread, but has a different taste. Don't expect to neatly slice this bread - it is more of a tearing bread. I made it in the oven and it came out great - would love to try it camping using the campfire method sometime as well. I did knead the dough briefly on a floured board, but only about 1-2 minutes as it seemed ready to bake by then. My family devoured the entire loaf in under 5 minutes and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Australian Damper

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.8
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    10%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1075.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites