Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aussie Meat Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aussie Meat Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2013

      I have made this recipe many times, my son doesn't like onion, ( it's a texture thing) but I substitute the diced onion for onion powder and he has never complained, I make them sometimes in the electric pie maker and then freeze them for snacks while watching the football, always a huge hit. Thanks Sussan :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      Made this mixture for our Christmas party. I put it in mini pre-made tart shells and added a ? cup of shredded carrots while cooking. Cooked the shells for 10 minutes first and let them cool before filling them. The recipe as is will make 54 mini%u2019s. They were a big hit, very tasty and had many compliments. Will definitely be making them again (already been requested for the New Years party) Thanks for posting such a delicious recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      OH MY WORD!!!! I'm South -African and I grew up on chicken , beef etc meat pies. AND this one is unbelievable, so easy, so tasty full of flavour. Thank you for sharing :-) I have to give it 5 stars. I did add some peas while cooking the meat filling , it adds some colour and 9 i use less pots . THANK YOU !!! This one is a keeper :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      A top recipe very similar to one I have just foud and made - better than any other on the 'net. I too am a Gold Coaster and the only suggestion I would make is to try using chuck steak cut into a 10mm dice rather than ground. It makes it munchier.
      And please PP if you do add cheese don't call it an Aussie meat pie because it would be nothing of the sort!
      Briseis, in Oz the standard meat pie fits a round tin 130top x75base x20deep mm. I always make small standard ones they can be eaten out of hand and are much more convenient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Divine! I had to make a few adjustments due to ingredient availability (I live in Germany) but I would have never considered nutmeg and oregano for the pie. I made small versions of this, not the large one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      My perents have asked for this at least once a week - they were fighting over the last piece. I followed exactly as posted although next time i might add a bit of cheese to the top of the mince to make cheese and mince pies (my fav). Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I wasn't sure what "shortcrust" pastry was, so I just used prepared pie crust that comes in sheets. The rest of the recipe I followed to the letter except I used one pound of lean ground beef because that's what I had on hand. Loved the picture Wildflour posted, so I did my top crust just like hers with the puff pastry. It turned out awesome. Served it with a side salad, it needed nothing else. I have leftovers for my lunch tomorrow! My husband now wants this often. I told him we need to move to Australia, LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This pie was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! It had a lot more flavor than what we expected, too! We really, really enjoyed this!! I will definately be making this a lot!! Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      A very good meat pie. The pie mince is perfect - can not fault it. Had trouble with the pastry however, as my pastry went golden in the first 15 minutes in the very hot oven & had to take the pie out after 5 minutes of moderate temperature or risk burning. Next time I will try baking at moderate all the way through, but otherwise this recipe is spot on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aussie Meat Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 831.1
     
    Calories from Fat 461
    55%
    Total Fat 51.2 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1089.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites