Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aussie Cold & Flu Remedy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aussie Cold & Flu Remedy

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2003

      This recipe is so old that Father Time doesn't remember its origins! Just about every culture claims it, so we can all call it "Grandma's Soothing Remedy". The healing properties for the mixture are much better without the sugar -- which is chemically processed and refined (even brown sugar), and adds difficulty to digestion. Raw, uncooked honey is a natural antisceptic. So, if you leave out the sugar, your results will be that much more powerful. Also, for added sweetness, try wildflower and orange blossom honey. Feel better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Just made this, added extra honey instead of the sugar. Woke up from coughing, have bronchitis, and after drinking this, I have stopped coughing:) It really does work!!!! Thank you so much Marli for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I never would have thought this would work. But as a last ditch effort I tried it. Within about an hour, my family noticed the difference even! Felt awful again several hours later, so I'm doing it again, but it's certainly giving me some relief!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Wow, this is a delicious concoction and so soothing when you are not feeling too well. My DH has the flu, and I am fighting it right now, so I made a couple of mugs for us. We both really enjoyed it, it was hot and steaming relief. I am assuming that the tablets are like our Aspirin, so that is what we took with it. I added extra honey, and cut down on the sugar. Thanks for a really good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      This mix gave me some much needed relief earlier this week from a nasty cold/flu bug... I have recommended your recipe to family and friends, thank you so much for posting it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      an austrian friend of mine told me to add 1tsp fresh grated ginger to the above recipe found it helps loosen phlegm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      This drink is so good and so soothing for a sore throat. I made some while I had the flu and it really did make me feel better! Thanks for a great home remedy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      Is this the best, or what? My family has made this concoction for generations and it does work. Honey is a natural disinfectant, so watch out germs. You're outta there!!! Also try honey on burns. A DEFINITE help in the long term. I'll post this separately, but just in case some poor victim of the cooties is reading this, here it is right in front of you. To TOTALLY get rid of a sore or even strep throat, add a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar into about six ounces of water. Take a tablespoon of this mixture and gargle with it, spitting out the mix. Immediately, take another tablespoon - gargle and now swallow. Now, every hour, take a tablespoon, gargle and swallow. Within a day, you are free of any discomfort, but continue for another day to ensure that strep is gone. I am suseptible to strep and this works everytime!!! Thank goodeness...and thank Mother Nature for all this natural medicine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      My mom always fixed a version of this for us when we were young. She made it using tea, though. If you eliminate the sugar, use 2 tablespoons of honey instead of 2 teaspoons, you have a great soother for a cough. Just sit back, relax, breath in the steam and sip. Sore throats and coughs simply vanish. Thanks for reminding me of this great old remedy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      I've been living on this for several days now (minus the tablets); it's very much like something my mom used to make for me. I did use double the amount of honey instead of honey and sugar, though. I've used lemon juice from a bottle, too, when I didn't have lemons...I kind of miss the pulp that way but it works. ;o) Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      add a shot of brandy or rum for a hot toddy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      this is also an old appichalan mountian fix try with a little jim beam for adults

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      this really helped soothe poor DD's throat. When she wasn't sipping, she was holding the cup under her nose so that the vapors could work their magic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      I use this one all the time. If you can not get fresh lemons use lemon tea bags instead. Always handy to have teabags in the cupboard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      My youngest daughter wasn't feeling to great after her field hockey game (three hours in the rain). This made her feel so much better. The only change I made was to make it into a cup of tea to add some color for her. She loves tea! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      I got a similar recipe years ago from a friend. I quarter the lemon, simmer in one cup water 5-10 minutes, add water if needed to make one cup broth, strain, then sweeten with honey to taste. Take before bed and feel great in the morning. Homemade TheraFlu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Mmmmmm!! Yum Yum!!! I've been having a flu attack since 1 week. It's much better of late, but not gone as yet completely. I was looking for something to drink, infact, and I was so glad when I saw this recipe. I'm having it right now;) It's yummy!! I'm feeling better already! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aussie Cold & Flu Remedy

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    60%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes