Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aurora's Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aurora's Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2002

      This was excellent! The only thing I did different was to sauté the bell pepper, green and red onion until the onions started to take on that transparent look. I then set them aside and did not add them in until the last two minutes of step 7. Used olive oil to sauté. Everyone really enjoyed this and I can’t wait to make it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Super easy yet super tasty. I took Charlotte comment on adding green pepper at the end - love those sweet and crisp of green pepper. Since I did not have any Rotini, I served mine with hot French Bread, just like a soup. Hearty and filling meal in less than 20 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Yep. This what I grew up on. Looks good. I usually got it with macoroni, rather than rotini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

    • on April 17, 2011

      Thank you! This is exactly what I was looking for. It most closely tastes like what my mom made when I lived at home. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This looks just like the recipe my mother used to make when we were kids and now I know it was not authentic but very good nonetheless. I do not eat meat now but I would love to do a vegetarian version of this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      My mom use to make this for us over 40 yrs ago. Only my mom used the macaroni noodles instead of the rotini pasta. Back then that was all they had. I know my mom used just plain hamburger. But it was still wonderful. Thank you so much for posting this and bringing back some wonderful memories of my childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Very good, simple..comfort food...Like the description says "NOT to be confused with Authentic Hungarian Goulash" this is the AMERICANIZED version...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This recipe is American stew,they do not use ground meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This is pure comfort food. It's quick, easy, something the whole family will eat and it just makes you feel good inside. It's also made up of stuff that I always have on hand. I did up the garlic quite a bit as we go kind of nuts over the stuff here. I would definitely suggest this to any working mom trying to get a meal on the table for her hungry crew after a long day at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This is not Hungarian recipe. There is not such thing as in having store bought noodles in it. Please ask a hungarian how it is made. This is more of a hotdish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Very quick and easy. A whole family pleaser. I did add a little cumin, chili powder and thyme for extra seasoning. Subbed white onion and used three colors of bell peppers. Also put in 1 whole pound of whole wheat pasta to make it more kid friendly. Enjoyed by all and good as leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Very yummy and easy to throw together with what I had in the kitchen...even doubled the recipe for leftovers! Was even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      wonderful recipe Thank you! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Very good! Quick to put together and a hearty, tasty meal. I had to fudge it with onion powder instead of real onions, etc. and it still came out yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Delicious, this was a big hit at our house. I also followed Charlotte's suggestion and added the green pepper and onion at the end. Think I will use macoroni next time also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aurora's Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.6
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    24%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 727.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes