135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i would never have believed it if somebody had told me how easy these were to make! i've been putting it off forever but had promised my 6yo daughter we'd give it a try and they were a huge hit! delish, easy, and pretty quick. even my 2yo helped out a little. i did have to add more liquid, but we live in a dry, high altitude place so that may be why. they're not nearly as good the next day, and all the salt dissolved after a bit, but i'm going to try to re-heat them in the oven to crisp them up and add a little more salt on top (we like them salty! yum!) these'll be a definite regular around here, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery June 13, 2009

so soft and cute...I didn't want to over mix the dough so I left it kinda stringy but as I let it rise it all came together...I made half the batch with hot dogs...I boiled frozen hot dogs but only half way cooked then dipped the ropes of dough in the dipping solution before I wrapped it around the dogs...they came out perfect!...you must try it...the only thing I might change next time is add a little more sugar I like a little sweeter dough but thats just me...will make again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yours_eventually June 06, 2009

Awesome pretzel recipe!! Thank you!!! My only complaint is that they're not so good a few hours later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cranemaiden April 23, 2009

We've been looking for a great pretzel recipe for years. This one is the winner! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabicatster April 05, 2009

Yum! We used spelt flour instead of occident flour and it worked great. My husband, who doesn't like pretzels, loved them! The first time I made them I forgot to dip in butter and they were still good, but the next time, in the butter... sooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laugh2survive February 24, 2009

This is the first time I've worked with a yeast dough, and it turned out pretty well. I used two cups of bread flour (occident flour) and two cups all purpose flour as the recipe directed. I used my hand mixer to mix the dough but I think that was a mistake. The beaters clogged up quickly and not all of the flour was incorporated. I think it would have been ok if I used my stand mixer with the dough hook to blend everything together. Once I rolled the dough up for pretzels the dough became a bit smoother but I think 1/4 cup less flour might be better. I did not have pretzel salt so I used coarse ground sea salt. I tried reglar pretzel shapes and made pretzel nuggets...all of them turned out well. Very tasty. I warmed up some salsa con queso to dip the pretzels in. It was just like pretzel bites at the movies. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyKatarina February 08, 2009

Not as sweet as I expected--just right! Great (and easier) as pretzel sticks. I found I didn't need nearly so much baking soda in the dipping solution.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onelson January 19, 2009

Oh man these were scrumtious! I was shocked because they were so simple and had very little rising time. I used 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour and they came out just fine. I baked them at 500 for 5 1/2 minutes. They were soft and were quickly devoured. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Miss Rachel. January 06, 2009

Absoulutly the BEST!!! I've tried many and this is the greatest!!! My hubby, & rest of family Including grandkids love them!!!! Thanks for such a good recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne43 January 02, 2009

These pretzels are awesome!! I've made them probably 5 times within the past 2 months and they all get devoured. The only thing I do differently is cut out half a cup of the bread flour because it doesn't need it. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strwbrrykisses December 30, 2008
Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe