Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2008

      Great, EeeeeZeeee to make, a hit with everyone! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Like everyone else has said these are so good! I cut them into sticks and left them that way because that's how my kids like them from the pretzel shop.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Yum! good recipe ,, easy to follow . I did need to add about a cup more flour than it called for. However, It was an extremely damp day, and I think that had alot to do with it. My whole family enjoyed this and we will make it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      yummy:) I read reviews before I made and thought about not using bread flour. I decided to use it and they turned out just perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I didn't know what occident flour was so I tried bread flour which was a huge mistake. (The dough was a mess and unworkable.) I made them again with all purpose flour and they were wonderful! After the dipping solution I dipped these in sesame seed. I served them with mustard. These were better than the ones at the mall. I think I'll go make some!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe! I used all four cups of Unbleached All Purpose flour, and threw everything into the bread machine. When preparing, I just did simple twists. After they were done in the oven, I sprayed them with nonstick cooking spray, and sprinkled with kosher salt. A great snack, I'm making more today at the insistence of the hubs (and my belly!!!:) Thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I used 2 c regular unbleached flour, 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1/2 c ww pastry flour, and put everything in my bread machine to mix up. I just let it mix till it was combined, then unplugged the machine and let it rise for 20 minutes. Worked great. We ended up making 10 pretzels and I think I should have rolled them a little thinner--they were a little doughy in the middle, but still delicious with butter and cinnamon sugar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Made these today. The first ones were not shaped nicely. So, I rolled them on a floured bench to get the long shape, then dipped in water all at once. I dipped in butter and cinnamon sugar. They were lovely and were gone before they had a chance to cool down. The only change I will try next time is to reduce the yeast to one package of dried yeast. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I had a little difficulty rolling the dough, but found that just rocking it helped. I also didn't have any bread flour, so I just used 4 cups of all-purpose and it worked just fine. I undercooked mine a bit, but they turned out delicious and I'll leave them in the oven a little longer next time. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      These pretzels are wonderful! They were easy to make and taste amazing with any toppings (I've tried cinnamon sugar, plain, garlic powder, and "glazin-raisin"). Couple of things: I weighed the pretzels according to the Nutrition Facts (70g) and only got about 15 pretzels, not 24. And I didn't need nearly as much dipping solution as specified. Also, parchment paper is a good idea, because my first pan horribly stuck, even after I greased them. Overall, this is a wonderful recipe and worth every minute!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      Great soft pretzels! The method seems to work very well. We'll be making these again in many varieties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      So easy and tasty! They mixed up in minutes. I did take the advise of many others and used a bit less all purpose flour. I will definitely use parchment paper the next time as I did have a hard time removing the pretzels from the baking sheet. Thank you for sharing WJKing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Delicious!! This recipe is very easy. This was the first time I have made pretzels and they came out wonderful! I used white whole wheat flour, reduced the amount to 3 cups, and let them rise an extra 10 minutes before baking. I baked them for 8 minutes at 500 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Not great! They taste like pretzels but came out very doughy rather than soft and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly and expected better results based on the number of 5 star reviews here. <br/><br/>One thing this recipe should have said more clearly is to add the brown sugar to the water-yeast mixture rather than adding it at the same time as you add the flour (otherwise, brown sugar tends to clump and does not get distributed evenly). I would also try warm beer rather than water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

    • on July 01, 2013

      I've made these pretzels twice now with great results! The first time I mixed the dough by hand and the second time I used my stand mixer with the dough hook attachment. The dough looked much smoother and nicer when mixed in the stand mixer. I also cut the flour amounts down to 1 1/2 C each of bread and AP flour. Dough was quite sticky, but baked up puffy and lovely. I put the leftover pretzels in the freezer and pop them in the microwave for 45-60 seconds for snacks. My husband loves them as much as I do, they really do taste like the Aunt Annie's pretzels from the mall. Give these a try, you won't be disappointed!<br/><br/>I filled some of mine with shredded Italian blend cheeses, finely diced pepperoni and sun-dried tomatoes, and garlic salt. These were really tasty but think I would use bigger pieces of cheese than shreds next time, as the shreds get a bit lost in the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Easy to make, but not very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      im not exactly sure what i did wrong. Next time I wont dip in the baking soda solution as thats all i taste. The dough itself was ok and the recipe was easy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      These probably would be great, but they still weren't browned in my brand new oven after 7 minutes and I had to run to pick up the kids, so I simply turned off the oven and cracked the door a tiny bit. We've got a couple I'll try to salvage with some dip. I'll certainly try these again though, because I loved not need to knead them or waiting all day for them to rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      These were tasty! I made half regular and half dipped in brown sugar cinnamon butter. The only thing I'll remember to do different next time is bake them on a light colored pan. My dark pans made the bottoms cook a little too quickly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (1686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    50%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1280.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites