135 Reviews

Make a double batch, they freeze well for after school snacks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbuasriyottiya January 26, 2011

My bread recipes are always disasters; I'm not much of a baker without my bread machine! I may have to try finding a BM pretzel recipe. Even this simple one simply would not rise for me. The dough was very flaky so I mixed it a little longer than I think I probably should have to get it all to combine. The vanilla and cinnamon-sugar variation sounds great, too! Oh, well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS January 22, 2011

These were DELICIOUS! I baked them in 425 degrees instead and they still turned out perfect.
And, to top it off, they were so easy a 15 year old (me) could make them all by themselves! I will definitely be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trombonedusti November 02, 2010

These were delicious and were easy to make. My whole family loved them - my husband even told me to make sure I give it 5 stars! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Monkey October 28, 2010

WOW is right- this is a wonderful recipe! I did have to add a bit more water, plus had to knead it just a bit to get the flour to incorporate since I mixed by hand, but I'm terrible with dough/bread recipes so I'm sure it is just me.
I used Kosher and Sea Salt and our favorite was definitely the Sea Salt as well, like one other reviewer stated.
Thanks so much- we just love this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl October 27, 2010

Perfect recipe, followed it carefully. Kids loved it they commented that the smell radiating from the oven was just like Auntie Anne's in the mall!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooper1224 September 21, 2010

Delish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond September 08, 2010

I think these are MUCH better than any mall pretzel. We made these to go with a lunch with soup. The soup was left to the wayside, poor thing. We just ate pretzels until we couldn't take another bite. This was a nice and easy recipe that I'm sure to be making a lot of. Yum-yum-yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowser August 31, 2010

Yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TUMaggieMay August 18, 2010

Perfect!
I was worried at first as my mixture seemed so dry to start, even when I added an little extra water it still seemed not quite right but after proving it came together and was easy to roll into ropes. I salted some, others I brushed with melted butter when they came out the oven and rolled in cinnamon sugar. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie July 31, 2010
Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe