Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2009

      i would never have believed it if somebody had told me how easy these were to make! i've been putting it off forever but had promised my 6yo daughter we'd give it a try and they were a huge hit! delish, easy, and pretty quick. even my 2yo helped out a little. i did have to add more liquid, but we live in a dry, high altitude place so that may be why. they're not nearly as good the next day, and all the salt dissolved after a bit, but i'm going to try to re-heat them in the oven to crisp them up and add a little more salt on top (we like them salty! yum!) these'll be a definite regular around here, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      so soft and cute...I didn't want to over mix the dough so I left it kinda stringy but as I let it rise it all came together...I made half the batch with hot dogs...I boiled frozen hot dogs but only half way cooked then dipped the ropes of dough in the dipping solution before I wrapped it around the dogs...they came out perfect!...you must try it...the only thing I might change next time is add a little more sugar I like a little sweeter dough but thats just me...will make again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Awesome pretzel recipe!! Thank you!!! My only complaint is that they're not so good a few hours later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      We've been looking for a great pretzel recipe for years. This one is the winner! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Yum! We used spelt flour instead of occident flour and it worked great. My husband, who doesn't like pretzels, loved them! The first time I made them I forgot to dip in butter and they were still good, but the next time, in the butter... sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is the first time I've worked with a yeast dough, and it turned out pretty well. I used two cups of bread flour (occident flour) and two cups all purpose flour as the recipe directed. I used my hand mixer to mix the dough but I think that was a mistake. The beaters clogged up quickly and not all of the flour was incorporated. I think it would have been ok if I used my stand mixer with the dough hook to blend everything together. Once I rolled the dough up for pretzels the dough became a bit smoother but I think 1/4 cup less flour might be better. I did not have pretzel salt so I used coarse ground sea salt. I tried reglar pretzel shapes and made pretzel nuggets...all of them turned out well. Very tasty. I warmed up some salsa con queso to dip the pretzels in. It was just like pretzel bites at the movies. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Not as sweet as I expected--just right! Great (and easier) as pretzel sticks. I found I didn't need nearly so much baking soda in the dipping solution.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Oh man these were scrumtious! I was shocked because they were so simple and had very little rising time. I used 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour and they came out just fine. I baked them at 500 for 5 1/2 minutes. They were soft and were quickly devoured. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Absoulutly the BEST!!! I've tried many and this is the greatest!!! My hubby, & rest of family Including grandkids love them!!!! Thanks for such a good recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      These pretzels are awesome!! I've made them probably 5 times within the past 2 months and they all get devoured. The only thing I do differently is cut out half a cup of the bread flour because it doesn't need it. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Well, I've never tried the mall pretzels (and certainly, you wouldn't want to do a cost comparison, as a previous reviewer has, because the mall pretzels, I assume, require ZERO work for an almost-PERFECT product), but I did make these exactly as written (ok, 4 cups all-purpose instead of 2 and 2) and they are deeelish. Dough is on the sticky side, so do have lots of flour handy to toss on your rolling surface. They do puff up a lot in the oven, so roll them really long & thin. I got 8 smallish chunky (fat) pretzels out of the recipe. Next time I'll double it and roll them huge and thin so they look nicer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This is a great recipe! Just like the store at a fraction of the cost! Thanks! I would say mine needed a bit longer heat at a lower temp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      These were delicious!! I was surprised at how easy they were and how much they tasted like the pretzels you get from vendors at the mall. Mmmm....I used all-purpose flour (just shy of 4 cups) and let the dough rise about 30 minutes using rapid-rise yeast. Not all of the baking soda dissolved in the dipping solution and I didn't need 3 cups. 1.5-2 cups would have been plenty. I did turn my oven down a little bit and baked them for more like 7-8 minutes. Otherwise this was easy and worked well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Wow! Just finished making these with my girls (5 & 2 yrs. old) - what a fun project! Made some with cinnamon & sugar and some with kosher salt. My 5 year old said it was just like eating at the mall! I only used 3 1/2 cups of flour as the dough seemed to be getting dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I used this recipe to make witches fingers for Halloween. This soft pretzel recipe is much easier and tastier than other recipes I've used. I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and added a little more water than the recipe called for, because I noticed the dough was coming out too dry. These are terrific. The flavor of the pretzels when they come right out of the oven is fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      WOW! These taste like the real Auntie Anne Pretzels! I made them today and we loved them! Next time I would only use 3 cups of flour because they were dry when I mixed the dough and I didnt want to keep mixing them to prevent them from becoming "tough". They turned out perfect! Also, I only made 1/2 of the dipping solution and it was plenty. THANKS for the yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      wowee first time making these eeezzz and so good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Made this today with a few changes- used all whole wheat flour and added 4 tsp of wheat gluten. Left out the butter, and dipped the unsalted pretzels in a mixture of pure honey and yellow mustard. Cooked at 500 degrees for 6 minutes- could have left a minute or two longer. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      These were really good and an easy recipe to follow. They tasted great (although I've never had pretzels before so not sure what they are supposed to taste like!) and they came out looking like the ones in the picture! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      These are incredible. My 3 year old daughter helped me and we had a blast making them. We will be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (1686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    50%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1280.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites