135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am getting my keyboard ridiculously greasy and sticky right now because I can't bear to stop eating these amazing little morsels! As I was working with the dough I kept thinking "this doesn't look right, it probably won't be like Auntie Anne's..." Boy, oh boy, was I ever wrong! These taste EXACTLY like Auntie Anne's. I did the salted and cinnamon sugar varieties, adding vanilla to the dough. I only made a half recipe and completely regretted it :) These are way too good to not make a full batch. I did find that I needed an extra smidge of warm water to get all the flour fully incorporated, and baked at 525* for 4 min. Perfection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs October 28, 2011

The cinnamon sugar pretzels are addicting! I used 2 cups of bread flour and 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour. For the baking soda wash, I used 1/4 cup of baking soda with 2 cups of hot water. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper, sprayed with nonstick spray and baked at 425 degrees. I stuffed a few "pretzel bites" with mozzarella cheese and then dipped them in garlic butter after baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez October 09, 2011

Yummmm! These turned out wonderful! I made as directed with the exception of only used 1/4 c baking soda in the dipping water. I made a single batch & got 19 4" pretzels. Very easy!! :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff June 15, 2011

Oh. My. GAWD. My first time ever making pretzels, and these taste absolutely fantastic! Lol this is the first time I've ever made any yeast bread and had it actually turn out okay. Before, the results were always...disastrous o_O

I did find, like some other reviewers, that 4c total flour was too much and used 3 1/4 instead, compromising by dusting a little with extra flour when I rolled out each rope. Seems to have worked okay. Well, one batch of cinnamon pretzels down, one of garlic and cheese comin' right up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravennwings March 22, 2011

SOOOOOOO good!!!! a friend made these for a church class and i fell in love with them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonzappetit February 27, 2011

These are delicious!!!! We had them with nacho cheese, wine, and gin and tonics (not mixed of course). Best pretzels EVAR!!!
I also used all-purpose instead of the bread flour--made no difference, I think. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omJane February 27, 2011

Amazing! I would give it more stars if possible!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaithun1 February 21, 2011

This is an easy and fun recipe to make with kids. I let the dough rise for about an hour or so. My 7 year old and 4 year old made fun shapes and hearts to celebrate Valentines Day. Thanks for sharing - will make again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cwchef February 13, 2011

These were perfect! I halved the recipe as well. I DID have to knead it, but not too much, just to incorporate the all of the flour. I did also proof it longer than 20 min...cause I fell asleep for 3 hours! BUT the dough was very relaxed:) Dipped the pretzels in the soda water for a good 10 seconds each. I did 4 pretzels with the twist, and then I did 'pretzel bits' just like the mall. While the pretzels were wet, I salted them, my son pressed in mini pepperonis into his . Baked at 425 degrees at 10 minutes which came out perfect and golden. Brushed with salted butter, and salted just a bit more. Tasted JUST LIKE if not BETTER than the mall version! Crisp and chewy on the outside, soft and airy on the inside:) I LOVE the crisp bottoms where are my fave even when I have bought them at the mall.

Don't be discouraged with this recipe. It's very easy, no frills, high carb, comforting goodness in my own home.

We also ate this with some Corn, Sweet Pototo and Bacon Chowder..mmmmmm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel619SD February 07, 2011

These came out pretty well. I made the recipe using 2 c. bread flour, 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 c. all-purpose flour. I had a difficult time getting the dough together and getting is rolled into strips, but it tasted delicious. Baked at 425 for 6 minutes. I then flipped over my thicker pretzels and baked them 2 more minutes. The best technique I found for rolling out the logs of dough was to rub my hands together like I was washing them and have the dough slide out in vertical "worms" :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy V#2 January 31, 2011
Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe