135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I teach a H.S. Introductory Cooking class and this recipe is always a favorite. I've used it now for three semesters and the pretzels always turnout well. We usually do one class session of regular salted pretzels and the second day they're able to expand the recipe by using cinnamon sugar and a powdered sugar glaze. We always get lots of visitors on pretzel day!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky HomeEcky November 11, 2009

These were pretty good. We were all craving soft pretzels and happened to have the stuff to make these so we finally gave it a shot. I will say that we used regular all purpose flour because we didn't have any bread flour and they still turned out.<br/>I would've given these five stars but they were a hue pain to work with. No matter how we tried we just could not really get them to look like pretzels. We ended up just making them in ring shapes and of course it didn't matter in the end because they still tasted great. <br/>My oven tends to run hot so I was really afraid about baking these at the temp in the recipe. So for the first batch I had the oven at 475 and while they came out okay they just didn't get that nice brown pretzel look. The rest of them we had the oven at 525 and they came out great. I was actually really surprised that they really tasted like pretzels. <br/>We will be making these again for sure. I'm gonna keep practicing so maybe one day they will actually look like pretzels!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
popo9807 May 26, 2013

My husband and I used to live near an Amish Market and they had a soft pretzel bakery there that had fabulous pretzels that my husband used to yearn for. After we moved to another state he begged me to find something similar to them and this recipe is almost spot on. The most significant difference between these pretzels and the ones at the market we used to visit were that their pretzels were not quite as chewy and were completely dunked in the butter (they were runny with it and incredibly greasy). I also don't make them nearly that salty but that's part of the advantage of preparing your own meals is adjusting it for your own tastes. I've been using the dough attachment for my stand mixer to make these up and I always do a double batch now. The stand mixer works just fine for them and I just let the dough rise in the mixer's bowl with a plate set over it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crossfire March 02, 2013

I don't know what Auntie Anne's pretzels are, but I cut the recipe in half and they did indeed turn out soft and tasty. I sprinkled salt and garlic powder on some, and salt, rosemary, and onion on the rest. This was my first attempt at making pretzels and I will certainly make them again using this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 February 20, 2013

Delicious and easy to make. I mixed the water, yeast and brown sugar together and let it sit for 5 minutes. Then mixed the flour in using my Kitchenaid. Let it sit for about 30 minutes on top of the cold stove while brownies baked in the oven. The dough was easy to work with and cooked up easy. I used 4 cups of all-purpose flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofknt December 14, 2012

Well, I made this back in 2008, printed it and added notes, and never reviewed it! My notes: Spoon flour into measuring cup- dont use heaping or it will be too stiff. Also, dont make the ropes too thick or the middle will not set. Also, I baked at 500. Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama February 19, 2012

I used only all-purpose flour with great results. Although the flour seemed like too much, after proofing, it was fine. I also cut the dough with my doughnut cutter. The holes were baked separately as "pretzel bites" for 4 min. I took the "doughnuts, stretched the circle larger and twisted into the shape of "8" before dipping in the solution. So easy! Also, I put left-overs into a freezer bag and froze until needed. Reheat in a 350 degree oven for about 9 minutes. I think they taste better and have more of the mall texture than when fresh. I'm planning to put into a crockpot lined with foil and topped with a towel (instead of a lid to prevent condensation) to serve at a Superbowl Party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesCookingHatesDishwashing January 24, 2012

Amazing! I love how everyone is comparing them to Auntie Anne's even though it's not really in the name of this recipe. I've always tried to figure out what was so good about teh top of Auntie Anne's pretzels and know I know it's butter! Of course, that fattening, deliscious ingredient! Even though these took some time, they were pretty easy to make. I love that they use all pantry items. I think mkaing these may become a "Snow Day tradition!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlechick January 13, 2012

This is the best soft pretzel recipe, I've found so far!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW January 09, 2012

Very good! Turned out exactly how I wanted it to! I have never had Auntie Anne's pretzels but was looking for something similar to Pretzel Maker's pretzels. And its right on!!! Thanks:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFluckie December 28, 2011
Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe