Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2011

      I am getting my keyboard ridiculously greasy and sticky right now because I can't bear to stop eating these amazing little morsels! As I was working with the dough I kept thinking "this doesn't look right, it probably won't be like Auntie Anne's..." Boy, oh boy, was I ever wrong! These taste EXACTLY like Auntie Anne's. I did the salted and cinnamon sugar varieties, adding vanilla to the dough. I only made a half recipe and completely regretted it :) These are way too good to not make a full batch. I did find that I needed an extra smidge of warm water to get all the flour fully incorporated, and baked at 525* for 4 min. Perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      The cinnamon sugar pretzels are addicting! I used 2 cups of bread flour and 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour. For the baking soda wash, I used 1/4 cup of baking soda with 2 cups of hot water. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper, sprayed with nonstick spray and baked at 425 degrees. I stuffed a few "pretzel bites" with mozzarella cheese and then dipped them in garlic butter after baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Yummmm! These turned out wonderful! I made as directed with the exception of only used 1/4 c baking soda in the dipping water. I made a single batch & got 19 4" pretzels. Very easy!! :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Oh. My. GAWD. My first time ever making pretzels, and these taste absolutely fantastic! Lol this is the first time I've ever made any yeast bread and had it actually turn out okay. Before, the results were always...disastrous o_O

      I did find, like some other reviewers, that 4c total flour was too much and used 3 1/4 instead, compromising by dusting a little with extra flour when I rolled out each rope. Seems to have worked okay. Well, one batch of cinnamon pretzels down, one of garlic and cheese comin' right up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      SOOOOOOO good!!!! a friend made these for a church class and i fell in love with them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      These are delicious!!!! We had them with nacho cheese, wine, and gin and tonics (not mixed of course). Best pretzels EVAR!!!
      I also used all-purpose instead of the bread flour--made no difference, I think. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Amazing! I would give it more stars if possible!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This is an easy and fun recipe to make with kids. I let the dough rise for about an hour or so. My 7 year old and 4 year old made fun shapes and hearts to celebrate Valentines Day. Thanks for sharing - will make again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      These were perfect! I halved the recipe as well. I DID have to knead it, but not too much, just to incorporate the all of the flour. I did also proof it longer than 20 min...cause I fell asleep for 3 hours! BUT the dough was very relaxed:) Dipped the pretzels in the soda water for a good 10 seconds each. I did 4 pretzels with the twist, and then I did 'pretzel bits' just like the mall. While the pretzels were wet, I salted them, my son pressed in mini pepperonis into his . Baked at 425 degrees at 10 minutes which came out perfect and golden. Brushed with salted butter, and salted just a bit more. Tasted JUST LIKE if not BETTER than the mall version! Crisp and chewy on the outside, soft and airy on the inside:) I LOVE the crisp bottoms where are my fave even when I have bought them at the mall.

      Don't be discouraged with this recipe. It's very easy, no frills, high carb, comforting goodness in my own home.

      We also ate this with some Corn, Sweet Pototo and Bacon Chowder..mmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      These came out pretty well. I made the recipe using 2 c. bread flour, 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 c. all-purpose flour. I had a difficult time getting the dough together and getting is rolled into strips, but it tasted delicious. Baked at 425 for 6 minutes. I then flipped over my thicker pretzels and baked them 2 more minutes. The best technique I found for rolling out the logs of dough was to rub my hands together like I was washing them and have the dough slide out in vertical "worms" :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Make a double batch, they freeze well for after school snacks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      My bread recipes are always disasters; I'm not much of a baker without my bread machine! I may have to try finding a BM pretzel recipe. Even this simple one simply would not rise for me. The dough was very flaky so I mixed it a little longer than I think I probably should have to get it all to combine. The vanilla and cinnamon-sugar variation sounds great, too! Oh, well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      These were DELICIOUS! I baked them in 425 degrees instead and they still turned out perfect.
      And, to top it off, they were so easy a 15 year old (me) could make them all by themselves! I will definitely be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      These were delicious and were easy to make. My whole family loved them - my husband even told me to make sure I give it 5 stars! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      WOW is right- this is a wonderful recipe! I did have to add a bit more water, plus had to knead it just a bit to get the flour to incorporate since I mixed by hand, but I'm terrible with dough/bread recipes so I'm sure it is just me.
      I used Kosher and Sea Salt and our favorite was definitely the Sea Salt as well, like one other reviewer stated.
      Thanks so much- we just love this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Perfect recipe, followed it carefully. Kids loved it they commented that the smell radiating from the oven was just like Auntie Anne's in the mall!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Delish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      I think these are MUCH better than any mall pretzel. We made these to go with a lunch with soup. The soup was left to the wayside, poor thing. We just ate pretzels until we couldn't take another bite. This was a nice and easy recipe that I'm sure to be making a lot of. Yum-yum-yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      Perfect!
      I was worried at first as my mixture seemed so dry to start, even when I added an little extra water it still seemed not quite right but after proving it came together and was easy to roll into ropes. I salted some, others I brushed with melted butter when they came out the oven and rolled in cinnamon sugar. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (1686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    50%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1280.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes