Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2012

      Very good copy cat! I've made this a few times trying to get the appearance and fluffy-ness right. Be very delicate when rolling into a log, I found the easiest way is to use a pizza cutter and cut a strip out of the dough-ball. Half the work is done for you already then. I find it better if you let the pretzels sit for 5-10 minutes after the baking soda bath on the cookie sheet. This lets them rise a little, and make a better shape, all while giving it an airy texture.

      -This works in a bread machine on normal dough/rise setting.
      -you can make stuffed pretzels easy by stuffing with slivers of string cheese!
      -insulated baking sheet helps with reviews bottom burning concern
      -450 Degrees works well at 8-10 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      These are AMAZING!!!! I nearly gave up on ever making the perfect pretzel, but now I've done it! We also like to make "pretzel pups" (1/4 hot dog wrapped in dough) and another version with cheese sticks baked in the middle. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      Great taste if you like Auntie Anne's pretzels. Big hit with my family. Very easy to make. I put all the ingredients in my Kitchen Aide with a dough hook and it works perfect. Makes them even easier to make. We make them almost every Sunday night now. The kids love to shape them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Sooo good! I used a little less flour and a little more water. Baked at 450 for 5 min and then 400 for 3 min, and they were perfect. I used a pastry brush to coat them in butter, rather than dipping. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I used 2 cups of bread flour and 1 1/5 cups of all purpose flour, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and they turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      SEE BELOW FOR *STUFFED PRETZELS : )* -Made this 3 times-I halved the recipe each time, which make 8-10 pretzels, depending. I used a little less of each flour, and kneaded/combined the dough about 2 minutes. If someone is having trouble rolling out the dough into ropes, it works well to put the dough on a floured counter, hand-shape into a retangle 3-4 times longer than wide, and cut the dough into sections (half the recipe will get 8-10 small rectangles). Then it's easy to hand roll them out into uniform ropes 12"-15" long for a traditional twist-pretzel. (-keep the dough on the floured counter-don't pick it up, and just roll it out w/the palms of your hands.)
      The last time I made it, I made less pretzels (using almost twice the amount of dough per pretzel) and made pepperoni/cheese stuffed pretzels. I took my larger dough-piece and using a rolling pin, rolled out the piece into a flat rectangle about 12"-15"long and maybe 2" wide. I put cheddar, provolone, and mozzarella shredded cheese and diced/sliced pepperoni down the center and then carefully folded/rolled the dough over the filling and made it into a "stuffed rope" (careful to seal seam/ends...don't overstuff). I gently "squished" the rope from one end to the other to make sure there were no air pockets. I then form a pretzel (just layed one end over the other, didn't "twist" the center because of the stuffing). Baked like the recipe said...came out GREAT. You can be creative and stuff them with whatever...really good.
      ...when I make these, my oven smokes when I take tehm out (because of the grease on the pan where there are no pretzels-does it even when lightly greased)...gonna try parchment paper next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      These were delicious!! I loved the taste and texture of these.
      Thank-you for a wonderful recipe :)

      I did find that 4 cups of flour was a bit much... but I just added a bit more water.
      I agree with the other review that the temp. was a bit high. Mine were cooked perfectly on the top and middle but just a tad burned on the bottom... next time I will turn the temp. down a bit. But, that could just be my oven.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      These were AMAZING!!! Although I do think the oven temperature is a little high. My first batch came out raw in the middle. But I just turned it down to 425, put them back in and baked them some more. The second batch at 425 were AWESOME. Never going to buy a chemical-filled mall pretzel again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      OMG these are fantastic! I went with touchdown 6 suggestion and used about 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour. They were a little difficult to roll out since they were more sticky, but they were far from dried out. I made these with my kids and we ended up skipping dinner. Even my pickiest eater loved them! So soft and chewy. loved them with some sea salt or cinnamon sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      We love this! They are so soft and delicious. The only thing is that the recipe only makes 12 not 24. So I double it to get more. We dip in nacho cheese sauce and marinara.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I teach a H.S. Introductory Cooking class and this recipe is always a favorite. I've used it now for three semesters and the pretzels always turnout well. We usually do one class session of regular salted pretzels and the second day they're able to expand the recipe by using cinnamon sugar and a powdered sugar glaze. We always get lots of visitors on pretzel day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      These were pretty good. We were all craving soft pretzels and happened to have the stuff to make these so we finally gave it a shot. I will say that we used regular all purpose flour because we didn't have any bread flour and they still turned out.<br/>I would've given these five stars but they were a hue pain to work with. No matter how we tried we just could not really get them to look like pretzels. We ended up just making them in ring shapes and of course it didn't matter in the end because they still tasted great. <br/>My oven tends to run hot so I was really afraid about baking these at the temp in the recipe. So for the first batch I had the oven at 475 and while they came out okay they just didn't get that nice brown pretzel look. The rest of them we had the oven at 525 and they came out great. I was actually really surprised that they really tasted like pretzels. <br/>We will be making these again for sure. I'm gonna keep practicing so maybe one day they will actually look like pretzels!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      My husband and I used to live near an Amish Market and they had a soft pretzel bakery there that had fabulous pretzels that my husband used to yearn for. After we moved to another state he begged me to find something similar to them and this recipe is almost spot on. The most significant difference between these pretzels and the ones at the market we used to visit were that their pretzels were not quite as chewy and were completely dunked in the butter (they were runny with it and incredibly greasy). I also don't make them nearly that salty but that's part of the advantage of preparing your own meals is adjusting it for your own tastes. I've been using the dough attachment for my stand mixer to make these up and I always do a double batch now. The stand mixer works just fine for them and I just let the dough rise in the mixer's bowl with a plate set over it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      I don't know what Auntie Anne's pretzels are, but I cut the recipe in half and they did indeed turn out soft and tasty. I sprinkled salt and garlic powder on some, and salt, rosemary, and onion on the rest. This was my first attempt at making pretzels and I will certainly make them again using this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Delicious and easy to make. I mixed the water, yeast and brown sugar together and let it sit for 5 minutes. Then mixed the flour in using my Kitchenaid. Let it sit for about 30 minutes on top of the cold stove while brownies baked in the oven. The dough was easy to work with and cooked up easy. I used 4 cups of all-purpose flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Well, I made this back in 2008, printed it and added notes, and never reviewed it! My notes: Spoon flour into measuring cup- dont use heaping or it will be too stiff. Also, dont make the ropes too thick or the middle will not set. Also, I baked at 500. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I used only all-purpose flour with great results. Although the flour seemed like too much, after proofing, it was fine. I also cut the dough with my doughnut cutter. The holes were baked separately as "pretzel bites" for 4 min. I took the "doughnuts, stretched the circle larger and twisted into the shape of "8" before dipping in the solution. So easy! Also, I put left-overs into a freezer bag and froze until needed. Reheat in a 350 degree oven for about 9 minutes. I think they taste better and have more of the mall texture than when fresh. I'm planning to put into a crockpot lined with foil and topped with a towel (instead of a lid to prevent condensation) to serve at a Superbowl Party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Amazing! I love how everyone is comparing them to Auntie Anne's even though it's not really in the name of this recipe. I've always tried to figure out what was so good about teh top of Auntie Anne's pretzels and know I know it's butter! Of course, that fattening, deliscious ingredient! Even though these took some time, they were pretty easy to make. I love that they use all pantry items. I think mkaing these may become a "Snow Day tradition!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      This is the best soft pretzel recipe, I've found so far!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Very good! Turned out exactly how I wanted it to! I have never had Auntie Anne's pretzels but was looking for something similar to Pretzel Maker's pretzels. And its right on!!! Thanks:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie's Delicious Soft Pretzels, Amish Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (1686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    50%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1280.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites