Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie Lori's Swedish Meatballs Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie Lori's Swedish Meatballs Casserole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2002

      Very good meatballs...moist and soft, with an easy-to-make, tasty sauce I will certainly use for other dishes. DS and DH both give a hearty two-thumbs-up! These meatballs are, as you can tell by reading the recipe, lacking in seasoning...but that does not detract from the dish (although I confess I likely will add some herbs next time--and I certainly will make these again). There is a wee problem with the time listed for the recipe -- the browning of the meatballs should be included in the cooking time (btw, I browned them in the oven for 20 minutes on a cookie sheet sprayed with Pam and had no sticking problem). Served with veggies and egg noodles, this made for a terrific dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2002

      These meatballs are terrific served with potato salad. The hot and cold combination goes really well together. My friend and family like them very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      It was a good dish, but like it did lack some flavour for my personal taste. Moist meatballs though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2002

      This was not a bad recipe, I just don't think the taste suited me. My husband liked the meal. I felt like the recipe made a larger quantity of meatballs than we needed, so I gave the leftovers to my neighbors. They loved the meal as well. I guess it was just me who didn't like them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2002

      I enjoyed this quick, tasty, and easy dish. It is economical too - a whole pan full of meatballs on 1 pound of beef is terrific. One tip: be sure to grate your vegetables on a fine setting if you want your veggies to "disappear" into the meatballs. I rated this 4 stars because it didn't go over as well with my family as I expected. I will make this dish again and serve it over buttered noodles. I also might add some additional spices such as nutmeg, cloves, etc. to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      I first read the recipe, and then the suggestions before actually making the dish. I agreed with most that it needed a little extra seasoning. So when making the meatballs I added about 1tsp of minced garlic and 2-3tbs of parmesan and some oregano to taste. Then with the sauce added 1tsp+ Hungarian paprika, 1 can mushrooms, and the kicker was about half a package of mushroom gravy mix, this totally brought out the flavour. Also added parsley, parmesan, and salt to taste. Served on Egg Noodles tossed with garlic butter, parlsey and parmesan. This is a wonderful recipe with room for your imagination. My two year old loved the tender meatballs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Meatballs very moist. However, it was not tasty enough for me and my family. I would add mushrooms to the mushroom soup and I would spice up the meatballs with a teaspoon of curry powder and some mixed herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      Thank you everyone for your suggestions about spices. I hadn't had these for awhile when I posted the recipe and I think that I too will be adding spices when I make them next. Any suggestions as to measurements will be greatly appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      These were great everyone wanted seconds and they loved the taste of the gravy. After making these I do think I need to use smaller carrots then what I did. I think you could have called my large. I'll also try some adding garlic & paprika next time like someone suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2002

      Tasty enough for us, the mushroom sauce was delicious, we had mashed potatoes and chunky style vegetables with them. Made lots and my husband is smiling as he'll have great sandwiches for work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2002

      veary easy. and fast. Looks so good!! Ginny L. Ross

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Excellent and easy to make. Did not add any more spices to it except for a dash of nutmeg in the sauce. Erin, please send more Auntie Loris's recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      This was great. I did add some oregano, garlic powder and extra salt and pepper due to other comments. We served these over creamy chive mashed potatoes. Definitely a keeper. Excellent comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was very good! I had some frozen turkey meatballs so used those and made it on the stove top. I served with mashed potatoes and peas and carrots. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This was really good. I did add 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp seasoning salt and 1 tsp pepper to meatballs. Also used 3 carrots and no potatoes as my DH can't have potatoes. He is to limit his protein intake, so I liked that he could eat several meatballs and still not get that much protein. I served this over noodles. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing your aunt's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Easy to make, added garlic to the meat mixture and cooked meatballs in oven. I don't like mushrooms, so made with cream of celery soup and added mushrooms to hubby's portion. Served over egg noodles with a garden salad and rolls. Hubby and very picky 5 year old thought it was great, I thought they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      These are perfect. You can pretty much guess the amounts,but double the liquid! (2 cans soup and 4 cups milk) if you want a bit of sauce. I cut up and then zapped the veg in a food processor for a few seconds until they were slivers. Oh, and add Dill. Essential. They're Swedish, ain't they? I've been making this for family and other peeps for around 3 years and have had nothing but rave reviews. Thank you Miss Clotfelter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      I served these for dinner tonight. The 5 of us (ages 13 to adults) thought they were sooo bad. I took others advice & added extra seasonings. Also "browned them in the oven" for 20 min at 400F. While browning, they smelled delicious! Sauce was excellent but the meatballs were as others said, bland (despite the fact that I added extra seasoning) and very moist (borderline mush) We each started with 1 meatball. Only my 17 year old son ate the whole meatball but did not want a 2nd. We gave the scraps to the dog along with another meatball. Even the dog walked away from his bowl. Sooo, 1 star for excellent aroma & ok sauce. Will not make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      This was a great pantry meal- I had a can of soup left over from Thanksgiving. Cream of celery also works! As we were devouring it, my husband was sad that there would not be a lot of leftovers (I kind of forgot to make a vegetable side dish- oops!) My only hesitation in giving a 4 not 5 is that I would have liked more spices. The carrot and potato made the balls VERY moist and added an interesting dimension. After reading reviews, I grated the carrots and potatoes on our cheese shredder. I agree that the meatballs stick when browning in the pan, so I added some butter. These will be part of our regular menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      I haven't actually made the meatballs from this recipe but I used the sauce and it was wonderful! Thank you, Erin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie Lori's Swedish Meatballs Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.9
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    46%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 154.9 mg
    51%
    Sodium 803.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites