22 Reviews

Delicious! I slightly underbaked on accident, and so the top layer was dense instead of flaky, but still rich. I topped with homemade blueberry jam and the icing (though I did not use the whole recipe). I made the icing with 2 oz of cream cheese added and heavy cream instead of water. Sooo good. My husband has eaten 1/3 of it in about 30 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowgurWife August 08, 2010

This is so simple, and easy to make. I made this Danish Pastry this afternoon, and its already half gone! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. I wish I had some apples or some cherry sauce to drizzle over top for something different, but the icing in the recipe is pretty darn good just the way it is! Thank you for posting this recipe- its already in my cookbook, and I am sure I will be making it again, and again! :) I recommended making this, most defiantly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happinessishomemade June 02, 2010

I had to make 2 of these. The first one, the egg/almond layer didn't come out right. I'm used to making difficult pastries, such as cream puffs. Not as easy as its listed. The second time came out fine, I recommend putting raspberry jam on the finished danish. Otherwise very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyJamie December 14, 2009

Very tasty! I divided the recipe by 3, and it only needed 35 minutes in the oven. I used almond syrup instead of essence and used 2 tsp. So now it's lovely and almondy. For the topping I used slivered almonds and glace cherries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy April 30, 2008

I was rather intrigued when I first came across this recipe but now I'm seriously glad I made it! It's not too sweet and the almond taste is nice (I did find the egg taste a bit predominant though). I added half a cup ground almonds to the icing and then sprinkled slivered almonds on top. Not only tasty but also pleasing to the eye!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose February 21, 2008

Easy recipe for "Danish". I spread softened almond paste over first layer and sprinkled almond slices on top of frosting. Very versatile; lends itself to jams and fruits. Easy for inexperienced bakers and the result is beautiful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastryismybiz October 17, 2006

Easy and yummy, I did cut back on the butter about 4 tbsp. served with homemade raspberry jam . Will make again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead February 01, 2014

This was really, really easy! Don't be intimidated! I topped mine with strawberry preserves, and then just a hint of icing drizzled on top of that. My kids and husband devoured it for a luxurious breakfast over Thanksgiving weekend. Thanks, kiwidutch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too November 30, 2008

turned out nicely, i smushed this all into a 9 inch little cake bottom pan and the 2nd layer nearly bubbled out and some fell off, but its still okay, added some maraschino cherries to the top, really buttery and flaky, the bottom layer is fragile of course so i kept it in the pan to serve it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twiggyshell October 28, 2008

OUTSTANDING, just ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING! I enjoyed making this recipe & much as I did consuming the final product! I used slivered almonds instead of walnuts or pecans, & I did include the cherries! Obviously not something I'd make everyday, but certainly worth making for a special occasion! Thank you very much for sharing this great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review my Recipe cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 25, 2008
Auntie Barbara's Yummy & Easy Danish Pastry.