Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie Barbara's Yummy & Easy Danish Pastry. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie Barbara's Yummy & Easy Danish Pastry.

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2010

      Delicious! I slightly underbaked on accident, and so the top layer was dense instead of flaky, but still rich. I topped with homemade blueberry jam and the icing (though I did not use the whole recipe). I made the icing with 2 oz of cream cheese added and heavy cream instead of water. Sooo good. My husband has eaten 1/3 of it in about 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      This is so simple, and easy to make. I made this Danish Pastry this afternoon, and its already half gone! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. I wish I had some apples or some cherry sauce to drizzle over top for something different, but the icing in the recipe is pretty darn good just the way it is! Thank you for posting this recipe- its already in my cookbook, and I am sure I will be making it again, and again! :) I recommended making this, most defiantly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Easy and yummy, I did cut back on the butter about 4 tbsp. served with homemade raspberry jam . Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I had to make 2 of these. The first one, the egg/almond layer didn't come out right. I'm used to making difficult pastries, such as cream puffs. Not as easy as its listed. The second time came out fine, I recommend putting raspberry jam on the finished danish. Otherwise very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was really, really easy! Don't be intimidated! I topped mine with strawberry preserves, and then just a hint of icing drizzled on top of that. My kids and husband devoured it for a luxurious breakfast over Thanksgiving weekend. Thanks, kiwidutch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      turned out nicely, i smushed this all into a 9 inch little cake bottom pan and the 2nd layer nearly bubbled out and some fell off, but its still okay, added some maraschino cherries to the top, really buttery and flaky, the bottom layer is fragile of course so i kept it in the pan to serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Very tasty! I divided the recipe by 3, and it only needed 35 minutes in the oven. I used almond syrup instead of essence and used 2 tsp. So now it's lovely and almondy. For the topping I used slivered almonds and glace cherries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      OUTSTANDING, just ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING! I enjoyed making this recipe & much as I did consuming the final product! I used slivered almonds instead of walnuts or pecans, & I did include the cherries! Obviously not something I'd make everyday, but certainly worth making for a special occasion! Thank you very much for sharing this great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review my Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      I was rather intrigued when I first came across this recipe but now I'm seriously glad I made it! It's not too sweet and the almond taste is nice (I did find the egg taste a bit predominant though). I added half a cup ground almonds to the icing and then sprinkled slivered almonds on top. Not only tasty but also pleasing to the eye!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is an easy dessert to make and it's quite tasty.I think next time I make it,it would be nice to add some kind of fruit to the pastry itself,maybe apple chunks or as another layer,maybe some flavour of jam.On top of the icing layer I added red glace cherries and chopped toasted pecans.Very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I can't believe I've come across this fantastic recipe. My Aunt had made for years and no one ever had a name for it. We all simply called it "It's Delicious". Which it is. The only difference is that rather than the walnuts on the glace, she would put slivered almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      'These are FANTASTIC'. Those were the exact words out of my DH's mouth seconds after he took the first bite! His question soon after that was 'Are they easy to make?' Translation - 'How often will you be making it then?'! They were absolutely scrumptious and ridiculously easy to make!! And moreover, they looked so pretty, I didn't have the heart to cut it!! I used glazed cherries and the pastry looked exactly like the pic you posted (except for the walnut of course!).. Thank you for sharing your Aunt's recipe with us. Goes without saying - keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Sorry but I have to give this recipe a low rating. I followed the recipe to the T but here are the problems I encountered: the second layer didn't come to a smooth ball as described in step 4; rather, it was liquidy. It was so liquidy that I poured the mixture instead of spreading it as described. After I baked it, it puffed up to like dutch babies. Then when cool, I spread on the icing only to find the icing to seperate after 6 hours into liquid and caused the danish to get soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was absolutely wonderful! So light and flakey and easy to make. I made it just as is and can't wait to share it with friends and family.Goes straight into my keeper file.Thank you kiwidutch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Easy recipe for "Danish". I spread softened almond paste over first layer and sprinkled almond slices on top of frosting. Very versatile; lends itself to jams and fruits. Easy for inexperienced bakers and the result is beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      I added in some seedless raspberry preserves and this was to die for! I had to substitute almond and vanilla flavoring as essence was not available. Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      Really, really delicious! Although my experience with making this should be used in a warning documentary on the dangers of mixing a bottle of Chardonnay and baking, it still turned out great! I decided to make it an apple danish and put a layer of cinnamon apple pie filling between the pastry layers. Despite my best efforts to stuff this up (I really am not a baker!) it was easy and quick to make despite the excessive wine consumption - thank you so much for a delicious desert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was absolutely yummy. I could not find and essence in my area. I e-mailed kiwidutch and she was so helpful in asking for information and also providing information on the difference between extract and essence. Essence is stronger and to use 1/2 of what the essence called for. I used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I do like vanilla. Over the glaze, I put chopped walnuts. This recipe is easy to follow and easy to make. It also looks delicious. Thank you kiwidutch and Auntie Barbara for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This is easy and tastes great. I only had to cook mine for about 35 minutes and it was done. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      I have always been intrigued with Danish pastries, but never made them. I am very impressed with this recipe. This pastry is incredibly good. It may be sinfully rich but it's worth the splurge! Can't wait to be taking this to the next pot luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie Barbara's Yummy & Easy Danish Pastry.

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.0
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    54%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 118.3 mg
    39%
    Sodium 169.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites