Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie Ann's Lip Smackin' Homemade French Dressing - Longmeadow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie Ann's Lip Smackin' Homemade French Dressing - Longmeadow

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2009

      This was ok. I tend to use less salt so that might be the problem. Also mine seemed to need more herbs and less garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Mmmmm. I loved the garlicky, herby flavor and the thick consistency of this dressing. Using the blender is a good trick for thickening! I'm one lucky girl to have your Aunt Ann's recipe. Thank you for passing it along, Andi. I really loved the story, too!! It makes this recipe all the more special. This dressing will go into my regular rotation for homemade salad dressings. Thank you, Andi! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This was perfect and very easy to throw together. Served over mixed greens including arugula, with celery, carrot, corn and black olives. I added the optional dry mustard. Thank you! Reviewed for Veg Tag February.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Excellent salad dressing! Followed recipe exactly... next time, will try with cider vinegar! Thanks for posting this recipe, Andi... I'm trying different dressings and this one will definitely go in the salad dressing rotation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Yummy I used Flavoured Aromatic Herb and Fruit Oil for the oil. Used whole grain mustard. And poured it onto Light Greek Orzo Salad for yummy gralicy goodness. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      WOW! Thank you for a wonderful recipe....made last night and only made half but used fresh parsley and basil and followed the recipe as written. Not too sweet and not too tart...just right!! Served on a mixed green salad with Sole Provencal#408567 and Spinach OrzoA#408577.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Loved the story! And the dressing too,of course. I used fresh parsley and frozen basil and I tried it with cucumbers. Tasted even better the second day and I'll make this a lot. Love that's low in calories. Update:If using a blender you'll get a very thick dressing, more like a mayonnaise. This time I'll try to let it sit on the counter for two days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I love this dressing! It has the perfect combination of ingredients for a nice fresh flavor. I like that I can leave it out on the counter for a few days and it won't go bad. Thanks, Andi. I'll be making this quite regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This is a lovely vinaigrette, quick to make and very tasty. I liked the zing of the garlic and mustard, yes the garlic is strong, but we love it that way! I used apple cider vinegar and just a touch more oil, and all dried herbs except for the parsley. Thanks for sharing Andi! Made for PRMRT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Great dressing. I used fresh basil but for the other herbs, I used dry. I used the dry mustard. I only used a macon jar. Thanks Andi :) Made for Count Dracula and His Hot Bites for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Really delicious vinaigrette!! I may cut the rosemary a little or omit it but I think that is personal taste. Also may cut the garlic a little. I used white vinegar, sea salt, fresh flat leaf parsley, the rest of my herbs were dried, honey out of health and preference, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, and no optional mustard. I blended it up in a mini food processor. Had over red and green baby romaine leaves, fresh mozzarella cubes, Campari tomatoes quartered, peeled slices of English cucumber (because it wasn't organic/was waxed). I will make this again. Made for ZWT7 Switzerland, for my team Food.Commandos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      WOW, this truly was amazing! It transformed my plain lettuce into a festival of flavours! :) Mmm, such a herby, sour, sweet sensations! Andi, this truly is a winner and Im so glad you shared it here with us!
      I made a third of the stated quantity for just my sis and I and that worked out beautifully! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us!
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #32 April 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Easy & delicious dressing! I used cider vinegar and omitted the salt (personal preference). The garlic and herbs were wonderful. Thanks for sharing! Veg*n Swap 32

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      My hat off to Auntie Ann, I served it drizzled over a mix of young lettuce leaves, sliced cucumber, halved cherry tomatoes and a little finely sliced red onion with some thinly sliced smoked ham on the side. Thank you Andi for posting, made for Everyday Is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Excellent dressing! I don't have French dressing very often, but this recipe will certainly change that! It's just delicious. I didn't change a thing because it doesn't need it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Oh My Goodness Andi...I have found my new favorite-ist dressing. I'm just sorry I didn't double or even triple this recipe. MMM-mmmm. The amounts of herbs/spices was perfecto. Because I didn't have white vinegar in the house, I opted to use whitewine vinegar. I don't know if that made a huge difference, but I wouldn't have noticed as all I could keep thinking was, how did I miss this one??? I've been eating salads for oh.....about 100 years now and have always used the spritz you find on the top shelf by the dressings. I've been wasting my money. Thanks for posting a definite keeper for this chicky. Made for Potluck Tag~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I used fresh basil, oregano, parsley and even threw in some peppermint! This went nicely with a salad with fresh from the garden tomatoes and cucumbers. Thanks Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      YUMMMMM..... This is outstanding. I used dried oregano, but fresh herbs for everything else -- including rosemary. I also used a tad more of the fresh herbs than the amounts called for in the recipe, and whipped it all through my food processor just minutes after it had all been plucked from the garden, so I got a fantastic fresh green color, too. My guests went back for second helpings of salad tonight, and commented on the wonderful salad dressing. This is a keeper -- next time I will make a pint of it! Thanks, Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      ohhh YES ! This is good ! we like garlic in our French dressing too.. so this was just the ticket for a weeknight salad. Please see my rating system: 5 wonderful stars for an easy and healthy dressing packed with oodles of flavour. ( let it sit awhile, the flavours infuse better and it's yummy!) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Wonderful herb dressing. Nice light flavor which went perfect with the red leaf lettuce I had. Didn't take me more than 5 minutes to put together, but I put everything in a container and shook like crazy. I did add the garlic, of course, :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie Ann's Lip Smackin' Homemade French Dressing - Longmeadow

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.5
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    95%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 48.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites