Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie Anne's Pretzels - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie Anne's Pretzels - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2011

      A great recipe, and two additional "copycat" tips:

      Auntie Anne salts her pretzels before baking them so the salt adheres better to the surface

      She does not let them rise again before putting them in the oven

      You can spray a plain one with non fat baking spray to make a no fat cinnamon sugar to avoid all the butter.

      Having the baking soda water mix as warm as you can comfortably tolerate leads to more brown less spotty coloration.

      Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This recipe was really good. I did add one more tablespoon of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of melted sweet cream butter to the dough. I mixed the sugar, water and yeast together (to dissolve the brown sugar) then added the remaining ingredients to the mixer and let it knead for 8 minutes. If you let the dough rise for 2-3 hours, you will get a great texture. If the dough ropes spring back too much, let them sit about 10 minutes as dough needs to rest. I'm a pastry chef, and I did like the results. This also doubles easily, and as fast as they go, you will want to double the batch! ***Also, to get the great chewy texture, boil the water, add the baking soda and dip the pretzels in for about a minute before baking!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This is a fantastic copy cat recipe. There are two tricks to getting the flavor and texture exact: first, for the baking soda and water bath, boil the water and baking soda, and dip the raw pretzels in this with two spatulas, immersing for five seconds, then put them on the baking sheet. This eliminates the spotting you get with a tepid bath that contains undissolved baking soda. Second, you have to sweeten the melted butter before you use it to coat the cooked pretzels. I used a healthy pinch (maybe 1/8 tsp) of brown sugar into the hot melted butter and stirred well before coating the pretzels.

      It's true, you don't need to let the pretzels rise before you bake them. And of course, just like at the mall, they are best right out of the oven versus reheated.

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      I used the ingredients as listed, and made the dough in my bread machine. After shaping into a pretzel I placed them in boiling baking soda/water until they floated. I baked at 450 but 7 minutes is all it took in my oven. Watch them carefully because they will burn quickly! Great recipe, although they're similar to Aunt Anne's they're not quite as good. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Awesome! I made pretzel sticks with this recipe, as a snack for my son's preschool class. Huge hit! Soft, chewy, flavorful, with that perfect pretzel taste and crust. The recipe isn't very clear, never says where to add the brown sugar, etc., but most of us can figure it out. I also boil mine longer than called for, about 1 minute each, and cut the baking soda/water solution in half. I'll definitely make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      These turned out amazing! My husband enjoyed these very much!! I did use whole wheat flour & vegan butter spread and they still turned out great. I didn't tell him that it was an Auntie Anne's copycat recipe & that was the first thing out of his mouth - they tasted exactly like them! When I was little we went to the same church as Auntie Annie - always knew those pretzels would make it big time :D Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      My hubby and I love the pretzels we get at our mall and I was so happy to find this recipe! It was very easy to throw together, but I did have to add more water than the recipe called for. I ended up using about 2 1/2 cups instead of 1 1/2. It was more difficult than I thought get them rolled out and I ended up with some fat pretzels, but that was my fault, not the recipes! Next time I will be sure to give myself more space to roll them into a rope! Thanks for a great recipe, JustaQT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      I tend to read all the reviews before making a recipe and this recipe was no exception. I skipped the second "rising" step. I boiled the baking soda/water solution and kept it as hot as possible while dipping the pretzels. Otherwise I followed the recipe just as it was. They were very easy to make and with the exception of my first misshapen pretzel, the rest turned out really well, IMHO! I think it made about 14 pretzels and we only had two left-over from the four of us who were "snacking" on them. They were really delicious. I will say that after letting them cool and putting them into a container to snack on another day they were not nearly as good. This recipe is great but they did get more chewy and blah after a couple days in an airtight container. But, the pretzels are so good there's no reason you have to have leftovers at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      My 2 cents:<br/>1. get all ingredients room temperature<br/>2. double boiling water and keep the baking soda the same, boil for about 15 seconds. more makes for a bagel chewy consistency.<br/>3. roll your rope of dough to 36" to get the "AA" look<br/>4. take ball of dough, cut in half, then cut each half into half, then once more in half. You will get 8 perfect portions that will roll out to 36"<br/>5. you must let your dough sit for 1/2 hour, even 45 minutes. it must be relaxed or it won't roll out and it will spring back<br/>6. use spray like Pam to coat your pan....don't be shy with it<br/>7. do put the brown sugar in the dipping/brushing butter, just a little<br/>7. do put some brown sugar in the dough...makes them sweeter<br/>8. enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Definitely exactly like Auntie Anne's. You can smell the mall shop when you dump out your baking soda water. We dumped em into a metal colander in our boiling pan for 10 seconds or 1 minute, whatever, and got variations on the theme. All were fabulous. :) We painted butter on before and after baking-- Auntie Anne's are super buttery tasting! Also, we froze some after painting with butter before baking, and layered them on plastic wrap and put them in a ziploc bag. Later we just thawed them, painted them with more butter, and baked as normal. They were even better after being frozen. Oh yeah, and we didn't do the second rise that the recipe calls for. Enjoy! Fun to make with kids. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Awesome, easier than I expected. I would have them sit on a rack for a bit to drip before putting them on the baking sheet next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Easy and yummy! I did soak my pretzels in the soda bath for about 2 minutes- gave them the chewyness that I was craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      The recipe calls for 1 1/4 tsp (1 package) yeast, but one package of yeast contains 2 1/4 tsp. The pretzels were average, in my opinion. King Arthur's recipe is much better. Perhaps if the pretzels are left to soak in the baking soda solution like in King Arthur's recipe they may be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      These were fun and easy to make. The family loved them. I made mini pretzels and pretzel sticks.

      I also ran out of the baking soda wash before the last batch and learned the hard way that I need to make a new batch of it rather than trying to add to the remaining wash. The last set of pretzels were bitter/metallic tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      great recipe. mine were just a little doughy after baking for 11 minutes. maybe it was because i didn't roll the dough out thin enough. but they were still really tasty.
      i did salt mine before i baked them and the salt adhered very nicely.
      when doubling this recipe, there's no need to double the yeast - one packet is enough for a double batch.
      thanks for posting this! i'll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      This was so good, very much like Auntie Anne's and fun to do with the kids. I did not let them rise after shaping and added brown sugar to the butter. There must be some serious training at the mall because we ended up with a lot of sticks rather than pretzels. Next time I'll wrap them around hot dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I followed this recipe exactly and while they looked like aunti annes they do not taste like them at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Decent recipe on it's own, tasted nothing like Auntie Anne's pretzels. Not worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Omg this is like a brother or sister pretzel i made it for my parents and my friends and they loved it i even did not what you should do to get more is role it out long and cut that into thirds and cut each littler piece into thirds again and they will turn out great i loved it give it a try it will blow you mind away an just to let you know i will defently make this again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This is a very good recipe. I enjoy making them and my family loves eating them. I will say that the bigger you can roll your pretzels out the better! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie Anne's Pretzels - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.1
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    11%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 2667.2 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.6 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites