Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Auntie Andi's Egg Salad for Little's Little #1 Longmeadow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Auntie Andi's Egg Salad for Little's Little #1 Longmeadow

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2013

      This is a good, not too loaded down, egg salad. I liked the crunch of the celery and bite of the chives. I made with 4 eggs and added approx. 2 tsp mayo. I also used seasoned salt and fresh cracked pepper. Served this on toasted wheat with a handful of spring mix. Made for Spring PAC 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This is a pretty good basic egg salad recipe, but I thought it was a little bland. My eggs definitely needed more than a teaspoon of mayo; maybe I get dryer eggs? The basil was nice. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Yum...you had me at eggs and fresh basil :). Those are two of my favorite things, and they blend beautifully here! Like you, I tend to add as little mayo as possible and instead focus on piquant ingredients like pickles or mustard in my egg salad. The lemon juice fits that bill, and it was a nice change from the usual (still had to have a pickle next to my sammie, though ;)). Thanks, Andi, for a lovely summer lunch. Think I might have to go make some iced tea now...Made for Veggie Swap 36.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Lovely egg salad we ate with rice crackers to be gluten free but I just noticed it never states when to add the lemon juice so I didn't add any. I did use more Hellman's olive oil mayonnaise to be soy free, added sea salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste, since I didn't have fresh chives I added some chopped green onion. I may make this again and try it with the lemon and chives added. Made for Veggie Swap 32 ~ March 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      We really enjoyed this sandwich with a bowl of soup. I love egg salad sandwiches and this is so yummy. I used about 2 tsp. of mayo with the eggs but I had used 3 eggs because 2 wasn't enough. Maybe your chickens lay real big eggs Andi ....lol... The basil flavor came out really nice in the salad, it made for a nice change. I had used bean sprouts on the top which added a nice crunch in the sandwich. Will be making this again for sure..we loved it... Thanks for sharing Andi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I really enjoyed this, because it didn't have too much mayonnaise and the basil added a little something different from other egg salads. Recently I came across the same egg boiling technique and it's the only way I'm boiling eggs now. I had no bean sprouts and I used a fresh,out of the oven French baquette(the only bread available at the supermarket on a sunday!).I only had celery leaves left, the stalk is not very popular here, so when I can get it I stack my freezer with it,but no luck this time.Made it because I saw loula's picture and after I read the recipe I knew I had to make it.Update:I was posting the photo when I saw you renamed it!Thank you and I'm sure little's little #1 will be happy to hear that .She's in the cooking business now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      MMMMMmmm, Andi how good is this?! It is so easy, simple and yet bursting with all the different flavours! I had it for dinner today and am still licking my lips wishing I had made more of it! :) Ill certainly use this again, especially when I want to impress my mum or other guests. lol THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this yummy recipe with us, hon! :) Made and reviewed to THANK YOU for being who you are and bringing joy and happiness to us all while hosting Everyday Is A Holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I won't be using any other egg salad from now on! I love the zip from the lemon and the flavor of the basil! Although, I admit I used dried basil. I did let this sit for about an hour in the fridge to let the flavors really blend since I did use the dried and it was just perfect! I used the whole wheat bread and lettuce, but no bean sprouts! Thanks for posting Andi! Made for Holiday Tag January 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I'm finally getting around to rating this recipe, though I made it all summer long with a few variations here and there. I love it with mung beans and arugula. I tried it on a buttered sliced of heavy, rustic walnut bread, without the basil or sprouts, and it was great that way too This is so simple, yet so delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      The only reason this is getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that it made only enough for 2 and I wasn't sure where to add the lemon juice. We liked the crunch of the celery and the touch of freshness the bean sprouts gave it. Overall a wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Sometimes a picture just says it all. Made for Everyday Is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Simple and delicious! I served the egg salad over a bed of lettuce and cucumber. Very nice. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      A lovely egg salad that I had on ww toast. Loved the celery and the basil. Loved the sprouts too! Thanks Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I made this using 3 eggs, about 2 teaspoon of whole egg mayo, the celery and lemon juice and some fresh garlic chives. Served in mountain bread as a wrap with some sliced cucumber and crispy baby cos and iceburge lettuce. The DS, DM and myself enjoyed immensely. Thank you Andi, made for Please Review My Recipe, tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This was a nice light lunch. I did leave off the sprouts though since I didn't think the hubby would go for it. I did put in more mayo than the recipe called for but otherwise made it as posted. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I came across the method suggested here for boiling eggs just a few days ago, and had been intending to try it when I stumbled upon this recipe in Potluck Tag. L-o-v-e synchronicities like that! This method works just so fantastically. If the supposedly easy boiling of eggs has ever proved tricky for you, I strongly urge you to try this method! Indeed, try this recipe! I used free range eggs, and I chopped the celery really fine in a small electric processor. The celery and basil added a lovely balance of flavours. But what excited me most was the additional citrus flavour from the tiny bit of lemon juice. A brilliant touch! Probably not for those not so keen on citrus flavourings, but I loved it. I prefer my egg sandwiches on bread rather than on toast, so I made mine on my favourite rustic crusty ciabatta. And I agree totally with Andi's recommendation: there is absolutely no need for spreads or mayonnaise on the bread itself when the egg salad is so delicious. This egg salad certainly provided all the flavour I needed: this is how I will be making my egg and lettuce sandwiches in future. Thanks, Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I loved your method of cooking the eggs. I'm good at cooking but for hard boiling eggs, I always ask DH to do it for me LOL. I told you about your method and he thought it was weird. But it worked so well. I'll always do that. I brought this at lunch so I couldn't toast the bread. But it was still yummy. So full of flavour. I omitted the celery. I used fresh chives from my garden. Thanks Andi. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Auntie Andi's Egg Salad for Little's Little #1 Longmeadow

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.1
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    31%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 93.5 mg
    31%
    Sodium 183.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bean sprouts

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites