17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good, not too loaded down, egg salad. I liked the crunch of the celery and bite of the chives. I made with 4 eggs and added approx. 2 tsp mayo. I also used seasoned salt and fresh cracked pepper. Served this on toasted wheat with a handful of spring mix. Made for Spring PAC 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 08, 2013

This is a pretty good basic egg salad recipe, but I thought it was a little bland. My eggs definitely needed more than a teaspoon of mayo; maybe I get dryer eggs? The basil was nice. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl January 02, 2012

Yum...you had me at eggs and fresh basil :). Those are two of my favorite things, and they blend beautifully here! Like you, I tend to add as little mayo as possible and instead focus on piquant ingredients like pickles or mustard in my egg salad. The lemon juice fits that bill, and it was a nice change from the usual (still had to have a pickle next to my sammie, though ;)). Thanks, Andi, for a lovely summer lunch. Think I might have to go make some iced tea now...Made for Veggie Swap 36.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 14, 2011

Lovely egg salad we ate with rice crackers to be gluten free but I just noticed it never states when to add the lemon juice so I didn't add any. I did use more Hellman's olive oil mayonnaise to be soy free, added sea salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste, since I didn't have fresh chives I added some chopped green onion. I may make this again and try it with the lemon and chives added. Made for Veggie Swap 32 ~ March 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 18, 2011

We really enjoyed this sandwich with a bowl of soup. I love egg salad sandwiches and this is so yummy. I used about 2 tsp. of mayo with the eggs but I had used 3 eggs because 2 wasn't enough. Maybe your chickens lay real big eggs Andi ....lol... The basil flavor came out really nice in the salad, it made for a nice change. I had used bean sprouts on the top which added a nice crunch in the sandwich. Will be making this again for sure..we loved it... Thanks for sharing Andi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny June 24, 2010

I really enjoyed this, because it didn't have too much mayonnaise and the basil added a little something different from other egg salads. Recently I came across the same egg boiling technique and it's the only way I'm boiling eggs now. I had no bean sprouts and I used a fresh,out of the oven French baquette(the only bread available at the supermarket on a sunday!).I only had celery leaves left, the stalk is not very popular here, so when I can get it I stack my freezer with it,but no luck this time.Made it because I saw loula's picture and after I read the recipe I knew I had to make it.Update:I was posting the photo when I saw you renamed it!Thank you and I'm sure little's little #1 will be happy to hear that .She's in the cooking business now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 18, 2010

MMMMMmmm, Andi how good is this?! It is so easy, simple and yet bursting with all the different flavours! I had it for dinner today and am still licking my lips wishing I had made more of it! :) Ill certainly use this again, especially when I want to impress my mum or other guests. lol THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this yummy recipe with us, hon! :) Made and reviewed to THANK YOU for being who you are and bringing joy and happiness to us all while hosting Everyday Is A Holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 12, 2010

I won't be using any other egg salad from now on! I love the zip from the lemon and the flavor of the basil! Although, I admit I used dried basil. I did let this sit for about an hour in the fridge to let the flavors really blend since I did use the dried and it was just perfect! I used the whole wheat bread and lettuce, but no bean sprouts! Thanks for posting Andi! Made for Holiday Tag January 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ January 06, 2010

I'm finally getting around to rating this recipe, though I made it all summer long with a few variations here and there. I love it with mung beans and arugula. I tried it on a buttered sliced of heavy, rustic walnut bread, without the basil or sprouts, and it was great that way too This is so simple, yet so delicious. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover October 18, 2009

The only reason this is getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that it made only enough for 2 and I wasn't sure where to add the lemon juice. We liked the crunch of the celery and the touch of freshness the bean sprouts gave it. Overall a wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas August 25, 2009
Auntie Andi's Egg Salad for Little's Little #1 Longmeadow