Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aunt Woofie's Meat-N-Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aunt Woofie's Meat-N-Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2003

      We had this for supper tonight.We 3 ate it and there are leftovers for tomorrow night. My dh said delicious, my daughter gave it 4*.I only used about 1/2 cup sour cream as we don't like it to overpowering. Mo mayo. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I prepared this recipe using the stove top only as mentioned in your intro and it turned out very well. I used the ground beef version with sour cream and half of the mayo. I tested the meat mixture and thought it needed some onion and garlic so tossed that in too. All in all, it was enjoyed by everyone and I didn't heat the house up to make dinner. My son dislikes rice, so I kept some of the meat mixture out for him to put over potatoes and he liked it that way. Thx for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      This was very tasty. I used ground beef and mayo. I also mixed some of the cheese in with the rice/meat mix. I forgot to cover the pan but it still turned out well. Even my non-rice loving hubby enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      loved it!!! even my picky husband :) i added a little minced garlic to spice it up a bit....thanks aunt woofie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      My husband and my 4 kids devoured this! THAT was a miracle! It was easy to make and with working full time and having to come home and cook, this recipe was a GODSENT! THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      Just a note to say I was hungry for this today. I didn't want to turn my oven on because it is hot outside, so I cooked it in my crockpot. It came out very good. Just follow steps 1-14 and on step 15 pour it into your crockpot(greased) instead of in a baking dish. Don't top it with the cheese just yet. Cook on high for about an hour or until it gets bubbly on the sides and then turn it down to low until you are ready to eat. You can put the cheese on the top of it about 10 minutes before you are ready to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      This is a great tasting casserole! I made it the day before and refrigerated it. The next day, I just popped it in the oven. Everyone loved it. I followed you instructions exactly using cooked cubed chicken. Thank you so much AuntWoofie for sharing a great dish. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

    • on July 08, 2012

      I made with ground turkey. I added some canned mushrooms and seasoned it with a little salt free seasoning. I thought it was ok but pretty rich. My wife didn't like it. If I make it again I think I will cut back on the sour cream and mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      It isn't purty to look at, but it sure tasted good! Made with the mayo and sour cream. I don't think it would be as good without them. Great comfort food. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      The kids and I really enjoyed this. It was a great, weeknight casserole for the family. My husband thought it needed a little "something" which would be good, but I like it as is. I made it with ground beef, but I do think sausage would be better. I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I can't tell you how thrilled I am!! My preschooler eats next to nothing (no veg, no fruit, very little meat) and "kid-friendly" has no meaning to him. BUT HE ATE THIS AND ASKED FOR MORE! I made the recipe with ground beef. I didn't have canned soup, so I substituted a dry mix; also substituted some mascarpone I had on hand for the sour cream and added lots of skim milk. I even hid a whole can of mushrooms (finely chopped in the food processor) in this. The result was a rich-tasting comfort food dish. Thanks for this recipe. It's definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This was really good! It doesn't look that appealing but the taste is almost rich. I used the soup, sour cream and mayo. I also added onion. I would love to try this with mushrooms and maybe even some tomatoes. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      If you make some changes this is quite ggod. It needs salt and pepper to taste. Also needs some minced onion and minced garlic. I added the sour cream and mayo. Sprinkled with some paprika then the chesddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Nice winter alternative to chili! My kids and I loved it! My husband liked it, but he could pick up the sour cream taste. I agree with Kim 127 - next time I'll use 2 cans of soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Yum! I didn't have cream of mushroom soup, so I just made a cup of thick white sauce and added minced onion to it for that. I used ground turkey and it was perfect. I was worried that there would be too much sauce but it was just wonderful! I baked it for 35 minutes. I'm definitely making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Love making casseroles and this one was really good. While my rice was cooking I browned the ground round and added the soup, sour cream, and mayo. Stirred in the cooked rice, covered dutch oven, and let heat thru. Right before serving I sprinkled cheddar cheese on top and let it melt. I think ground chicken would be very tasty too so will try that next time. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Comfort food for sure! Simple to put together. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup instead of the mayo or sour cream. I would have loved to have tried the sour cream, but went to grab it from the fridge and it wasn't anywhere to be found. Anyways, this is a great meal. Topped it with montery jack cheese and a little pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I added just a little, not much, cayenne pepper as well as some ground white pepper. I also used ground turkey. Really should have drained the turkey though because it turned out a rather greasy. In spite of that it is a good meal, just need to drain the turkey next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      YUM! My first time trying ground turkey. This was a great kid-friendly comfort food! Thank you for the recipe...it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aunt Woofie's Meat-N-Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    40%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 308.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites