Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aunt Margie's Cole Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aunt Margie's Cole Slaw

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2011

      Tangy, sweet, used 1/2 total for sugar (1/4 c splenda 1/4 c sugar), apple cider vinegar, added pepper. Great, mixed this am to take to picnic, used two small heads cabbage from farmers market. I tasted it for lunch, had to remind myself it was for picnic tonight so couldn't eat more. Thanks. I will probably cut sugar back a little more next time, love that tang of the vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Good flavor if you use a good vinegar, but WAY too sweet! I wish I had cut the sugar in half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      My boys don't like mayo, so I had to find an alternative to "traditional" cole slaw. This was perfect and delicious! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Loved this! I made it to go on barbecue pork sandwiches, and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Tasty. I also reduced the sugar by half, and used brown sugar instead of white.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      I've been looking for a recipe like this for years! I cut the sugar down a lot and it was still very sweet. Didn't hurt one bit! People were saying they hate coleslaw, but they love this!
      Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Yum! Light, crisp and fresh. I found about half the sugar to give me just the right, tangy flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Delicious!! I used apple cider vinegar, 1/2 cup of sugar and added a little bit of crushed black pepper. DH, who doesn't usually like non-mayo based slaws, asked for Thirds!! This is definately my new go-to slaw recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I had leftover cabbage from St. Patty's Day and was looking for a good slaw recipe. I used this one dressing recipe (added extra veggies like green peppers and carrots) I used only 1/4-1/3 cup of sugar. Also used apple cider vinegar. Very yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Very good, nice flavor. I cut the recipe for the dressing in half & used only 1/4 c sugar (as opposed to using 1/2 c for half a recipe) and poured it over half a bag of slaw veggie mix. I also used apple cider vinegar, which I think added a nice flavor to the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Very, very good. A welcome change from mayo based dressing. I used it with one bag of prepared slaw and it was plenty. I cut down on the sugar a little and don't think it hurt it a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Perfect sweet/tangy blend. I cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us, and my "tasting" at the counter was almost my whole portion for dinner that night. This will be my non-mayo dressing from now on. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Wonderful! I've been wanting a recipe as opposed to buying an expensive jar of dressing and this is it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and that was perfect. I used a bagged mix and had enough dressing for two bags. Even my DH liked it, so it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Turned out good. Was too sweet for our taste so we added only a 1/4 cup sugar. Was a wonderful non-creamy base for future plans. Was a good combo for pulled pork sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      For 25 years I've looked for the cole slaw recipe my husband remembered. I only knew it was a vinegar-based recipe (not a creamy recipe) and have tried many recipes over the years. This is it! He loved just as you posted it. We ate it with a Carolina-style pulled pork barbecue and it was excellent. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      I used angel shredded cole slaw mix, we enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. Thank you Mysterygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Because I was in a hurry, I used bagged pre-shredded cole slaw mix. I prepared it in the morning and then just popped it on the table at dinner time. Everyone loved your dressing for this slaw! Thanks so my, Mysterygirl for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aunt Margie's Cole Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.0
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    66%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 415.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 38.1 g
    152%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites