Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aunt Helen's Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aunt Helen's Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2011

      This is really good. I reduced the amount of worchestershire down to 1 Tbsp and added a tsp of minced garlic. Those were the only changes I made...just thought 1/8 c worchestershire might be too much and added garlic because of other reviewers' suggestion. Hubby not too wild for sloppy joes but loved these,making these again after 2 weeks. thanks for great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This recipe is the only way I make Sloppy Joes! Has a wonderful flavor and so easy to make. Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      We really liked it. I omitted the vinegar and chili powder. W/o them it was closer to how my mom used to make it. My son liked it and my 20 mo old ate the entire bun full I gave her. I was shocked. she usually never eats the whole thing. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Made this recipe to use in Sloppy Joe Pasta Skillet Dinner and it was mighty good. I did add about 2 tsp. of minced garlic to the hamburger while frying and just 1Tbs worcestershire sauce and 2 Tbs of brown sugar with 1 tsp of chili powder. I omitted the vinegar as I didn't feel it needed it. The flavor was excellent!! I also added 1/2 c water to let simmer the 1 1/2 that the recipe calls for. The water had absorbed wonderfully and this sloppy joe recipe work great for the recipe I was using it in. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!! I will be making this recipe for sloppy joe sandwiches soon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I made these joes one time and I'll always make these from now on. I like to put fresh garlic,green,red,and yellow bell peppers in it and some serrano peppers for a little zing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      We had this for lunch today and made a nice meal. I also cut back on the worcestershire sauce. I had French country style bread and used that instead of buns. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      A tasty sloppy joe sauce. As suggested by a previous reviewer I did cut down on the worcestershire sauce and added a little more brown sugar. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      This is very good. Worth the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      I had a pound of ground beef that I needed to freeze or cook,so I decided to try this recipe.I added another tablespoon of brown sugar,and a full teaspoon of the chili powder.After I had simmered it for about 45 min.(all the time I had)I had to do a "Quality Control Test( I ate of couple of bites:))well, to me it just tasted a little to vinegary and I didn't even add the vinegar.If i make this again,I'm going to cut the worcestershire sauce back to 1/8 cup.EDITED TO UPDATE:After letting this come to room temp.the "vinegary" taste seemed to mellow out and in my previous review I forgot to mention that I didn't add the green peppers( just a personal preferance)But,I still think that if I do make this again,I still will cut the worcestershire sauce down to 1/8th of a cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      Gayla's picture enticed me to give this recipe a try and I'm really glad that I did. I omitted the green pepper as I didn't have any on hand, but followed the recipe besides that, including letting it simmer for so long. This wasn't a traditional sloppy joe recipe. It was a nice change from the ordinary and one that I'll be making time and time again! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Tasty! I had never tried your suggestion of mustard and pickles on sloppy joes, so I had to--quite good. :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Tasty and easy to assemble, my young son raved for these. I used speciality bakery hot dog buns ( closed ends ) which were just perfect for his small hands and mouth. I added american cheese and broiled till slightly melted. I'll make these again, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aunt Helen's Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.4
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    41%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 647.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites