12 Reviews

This is really good. I reduced the amount of worchestershire down to 1 Tbsp and added a tsp of minced garlic. Those were the only changes I made...just thought 1/8 c worchestershire might be too much and added garlic because of other reviewers' suggestion. Hubby not too wild for sloppy joes but loved these,making these again after 2 weeks. thanks for great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church October 04, 2011

This recipe is the only way I make Sloppy Joes! Has a wonderful flavor and so easy to make. Thanks for posting...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amorous One May 10, 2010

We really liked it. I omitted the vinegar and chili powder. W/o them it was closer to how my mom used to make it. My son liked it and my 20 mo old ate the entire bun full I gave her. I was shocked. she usually never eats the whole thing. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazzy chef September 14, 2009

Made this recipe to use in Sloppy Joe Pasta Skillet Dinner and it was mighty good. I did add about 2 tsp. of minced garlic to the hamburger while frying and just 1Tbs worcestershire sauce and 2 Tbs of brown sugar with 1 tsp of chili powder. I omitted the vinegar as I didn't feel it needed it. The flavor was excellent!! I also added 1/2 c water to let simmer the 1 1/2 that the recipe calls for. The water had absorbed wonderfully and this sloppy joe recipe work great for the recipe I was using it in. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!! I will be making this recipe for sloppy joe sandwiches soon :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. February 26, 2009

I made these joes one time and I'll always make these from now on. I like to put fresh garlic,green,red,and yellow bell peppers in it and some serrano peppers for a little zing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tubeman December 27, 2007

We had this for lunch today and made a nice meal. I also cut back on the worcestershire sauce. I had French country style bread and used that instead of buns. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda June 03, 2007

A tasty sloppy joe sauce. As suggested by a previous reviewer I did cut down on the worcestershire sauce and added a little more brown sugar. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potions April 15, 2007

This is very good. Worth the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oat57 September 25, 2006

I had a pound of ground beef that I needed to freeze or cook,so I decided to try this recipe.I added another tablespoon of brown sugar,and a full teaspoon of the chili powder.After I had simmered it for about 45 min.(all the time I had)I had to do a "Quality Control Test( I ate of couple of bites:))well, to me it just tasted a little to vinegary and I didn't even add the vinegar.If i make this again,I'm going to cut the worcestershire sauce back to 1/8 cup.EDITED TO UPDATE:After letting this come to room temp.the "vinegary" taste seemed to mellow out and in my previous review I forgot to mention that I didn't add the green peppers( just a personal preferance)But,I still think that if I do make this again,I still will cut the worcestershire sauce down to 1/8th of a cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � August 08, 2006

Gayla's picture enticed me to give this recipe a try and I'm really glad that I did. I omitted the green pepper as I didn't have any on hand, but followed the recipe besides that, including letting it simmer for so long. This wasn't a traditional sloppy joe recipe. It was a nice change from the ordinary and one that I'll be making time and time again! Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish May 17, 2006
Aunt Helen's Sloppy Joes