Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aunt Bettye's Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aunt Bettye's Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2011

      Terrific "base" recipe... I tweaked it since I read a few reviews and knew what I could add to make it just right for my family.

      So... a couple people said it should be a little more soupy... I added one can Roasted Chicken Broth to make it a little more soupy (next time, I'll thicken it just a little with cornstarch... but the flavor was fabulous).

      I pre-freeze chicken in dinner portions... the smallest I had was one pound, 4 ounces... that's what I used. I threw the boneless/skinless breasts in whole, then removed them and shredded them before putting the biscuit topping on.

      In addition to the peas/carrots, I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 3 medium carrots, 1/2 zucchini, and 2 potatoes diced small (DH said he would like more potatoes next time).

      For extra flavor, I did use the optional bay leaf. In addition, I added a fresh sprig of rosemary and 1/4 cup of flat leaf parsley diced small, and a generous 1/2 tsp. dry parsley, and a generous sprinkling of cracked pepper over the whole surface.

      For the biscuits, I used the recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/bisquick-clone-12648

      My husband raved about how good it was and kept eating it just because it was so good. The kids all liked it (but my 2 year old wouldn't put even a bite in his mouth).

      Thanks a bunch... looking forward to making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Thanks for the recipe. I decided to skip the biscuits all together and used frozen egg noodles for the last hour and they turned out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Not a fan of thick, doughy dumplings. Prefer flat, southern style dumplings. Flavors were ok. Textures not for me. Followed recipe. If you like fluffy dumplings you might like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Aunt Betty sure knew how to cook. Had left over rotisserie chicken and decided to give this a try. I used my homemade chicken stock and left out the peas as didn't have any. Added some fresh chopped chives to the dumpling dough and LOVED the whole thing. It was just thick enough for us with that great comforting feel that comes with a dish like this. The dough for the dumplings couldn't be easier. Will be making this a lot this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Made this for supper tonight, using chicken thighs instead of breasts (wife & I don't care for breast meat.) The sauce/gravy had a wonderful flavor & the biscuit-dumplings were pretty tasty....however we both thought the chicken was WAY too dry. IDK if I'll make this again or not....think I'll just stick to the way I always made Chicken and Dumplings. THANKS for sharing, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I thought this was quick and easy but I added poultry seasoning and salt and pepper for flavor and I turned crock pot on high before cooking biscuits. Next time I will make Bisquick dumplings. I also used thighs because we like dark meat. I added corn starch to thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I had this for dinner tonight and it was awesome.
      I used chicken thighs because it is what I had, used cream of chicken soup with a splash of milk. Placed the chicken in, covered with onions, carrots, celery and little pieces of potato.

      I also did the dumplings but I used bisquick. I think the key is that you have to turn the crockpot onto HIGH when doing the dumplings. Your liquid should be boiling. The bottom half of mine cooked but the tops were still gooey so I just flipped them over and let them cook for another 10 minutes and they came out perfect.

      The entire family loved it and it was super easy. Best of all, was just about finished when I came home from work. Love my crock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      I used the "big"/flayer biscuits (only put in like 6) - and they were too big. I think it would be better with a flatter or normal biscuit.

      I added a little salt, pepper and poultry seasoning to the sauce. Smelled delicious cooking. Taste was great - got mixed reviews.

      I think that next time - I will cook it as the recipe calls for and then put it in a dish with a crust - I think it would make an incredible pot pie (maybe add some more veggies?).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Fabulous recipe! My DH and teenage son loved it and requested I make it more often! Wonderful easy comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I had similar problems with the dumpling part of the dish so I baked dough separately then put it on top and continued to heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Awesome! Used chicken thighs and frozen peas and carrots. I thawed the veggies first though. Biscuits cooked perfectly for me, after I read some of the reviews I was nervous about that. Seasoned it up with pepper, onion and garlic powder. Turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Made this tonight for dinner. It had a pretty good flavor but the dumplings never worked out for me. They stayed gooey even after two hours. I added 2 cloves of garlic minced, 1 Tbsp. dried parsley and fresh cracked pepper. I wish I could give this more stars cause I have wanted to try this forever but it just did not work for me. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Oh my gosh, how can such a quick and easy crock pot recipe be so delicious. I was true to the recipe with the exception that I used a 15 ounce can of peas and carrots. I had 3 bone in, skin on chicken breasts. I added them to the pot frozen and removed them after about 3 hours to remove the skin and bone and chop the meat into bite-size pieces. Since it wasn't mentioned, I drained most of the liquid from my can of peas and carrots, which I feel was a good decision since crockpot cooking requires little liquid. This meal earned an all thumbs up around the table tonight. This will be a regular meal in our home. Thanks Pierce for sharing this awesome recipe. Oh, by the way, I dried, flaked chili peppers at the table for those of us (me!) who like to add a little heat to our meals. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I'm going to give it five stars because the flavor was all there, I just think my execution was off... I used a bag of frozen peas/carrots (I have something against canned peas... ick) and the 98% fat free/lower sodium soups. I also used frozen chicken tenderloins (maybe 6?) and just threw them in frozen. When I got home, my crockpot was boiling, so I flipped it off for an hour (it had been going 6 hours on low) and then flipped it back on when I added the biscuits. Two things were wrong when I did that: 1) it was steaming hot, so my biscuits didn't get a good immediate cooking and 2) I used the whole wheat biscuits. The biscuits were gooey, even after an hour of cooking, so we had to pop a bowl in the microwave for a minute to firm them up (don't recommend that, we just had a time schedule - it worked, they just aren't as tender as they are when you cook them in the crockpot). Like I said - the flavor was outstanding - my execution was not! Thanks for the recipe - I'm anxious to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Y-U-M-M-Y! Aunt Bettye knew what she was doing! I used cream of mushroom soup instead and made my own dumplings. It was a good comfort meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I made this tonight and it was delish. Even my three year-old who's been down with the flu gobbled it up. It was so nice to see her actually EAT something. I tweeked it here and there but stayed true to the oringinal recipe for the most part. YUMMY! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I made this overnight and dropped in the biscuits this morning, and it is AMAZING! My husband loves it, I love it, 2 year old loves it, it's a hit! Will definitely save this and make again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I made half of this super easy recipe. I didn't have any milk that day, so subbed chicken broth for it. It still turned out creamy and tasted great. Dumplings always make me happy. LOL. This is a keeper. Thanks Pierce. Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I didn't love this dish. I'm a huge fan of chicken and dumplings but this tasted more like one of those boxed meal kits with biscuits and chicken. It had good flavor but once I turned the crock pot to high and dropped the dough in, it took 2 and a half HOURS before they were done. I love the simplicity of throwing it in the crock pot but I don't think this was the recipe for me. Thanks for sharing anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      We really enjoyed this. Next time I think that I will use different dumplings. I thought the biscuits were too doughy. I think I will try the bisquick dumplings. I also added a little bit of poultry seasoning, gave it wonderful flavor. I will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aunt Bettye's Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.7
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    44%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1157.6 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes