30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Terrific "base" recipe... I tweaked it since I read a few reviews and knew what I could add to make it just right for my family.

So... a couple people said it should be a little more soupy... I added one can Roasted Chicken Broth to make it a little more soupy (next time, I'll thicken it just a little with cornstarch... but the flavor was fabulous).

I pre-freeze chicken in dinner portions... the smallest I had was one pound, 4 ounces... that's what I used. I threw the boneless/skinless breasts in whole, then removed them and shredded them before putting the biscuit topping on.

In addition to the peas/carrots, I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 3 medium carrots, 1/2 zucchini, and 2 potatoes diced small (DH said he would like more potatoes next time).

For extra flavor, I did use the optional bay leaf. In addition, I added a fresh sprig of rosemary and 1/4 cup of flat leaf parsley diced small, and a generous 1/2 tsp. dry parsley, and a generous sprinkling of cracked pepper over the whole surface.

For the biscuits, I used the recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/bisquick-clone-12648

My husband raved about how good it was and kept eating it just because it was so good. The kids all liked it (but my 2 year old wouldn't put even a bite in his mouth).

Thanks a bunch... looking forward to making this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 09, 2011

Thanks for the recipe. I decided to skip the biscuits all together and used frozen egg noodles for the last hour and they turned out just fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler August 21, 2011

Not a fan of thick, doughy dumplings. Prefer flat, southern style dumplings. Flavors were ok. Textures not for me. Followed recipe. If you like fluffy dumplings you might like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Writermom who cooks January 26, 2014

Aunt Betty sure knew how to cook. Had left over rotisserie chicken and decided to give this a try. I used my homemade chicken stock and left out the peas as didn't have any. Added some fresh chopped chives to the dumpling dough and LOVED the whole thing. It was just thick enough for us with that great comforting feel that comes with a dish like this. The dough for the dumplings couldn't be easier. Will be making this a lot this winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 08, 2013

Made this for supper tonight, using chicken thighs instead of breasts (wife & I don't care for breast meat.) The sauce/gravy had a wonderful flavor & the biscuit-dumplings were pretty tasty....however we both thought the chicken was WAY too dry. IDK if I'll make this again or not....think I'll just stick to the way I always made Chicken and Dumplings. THANKS for sharing, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman July 23, 2013

I thought this was quick and easy but I added poultry seasoning and salt and pepper for flavor and I turned crock pot on high before cooking biscuits. Next time I will make Bisquick dumplings. I also used thighs because we like dark meat. I added corn starch to thicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkiltoes March 19, 2013

I had this for dinner tonight and it was awesome.
I used chicken thighs because it is what I had, used cream of chicken soup with a splash of milk. Placed the chicken in, covered with onions, carrots, celery and little pieces of potato.

I also did the dumplings but I used bisquick. I think the key is that you have to turn the crockpot onto HIGH when doing the dumplings. Your liquid should be boiling. The bottom half of mine cooked but the tops were still gooey so I just flipped them over and let them cook for another 10 minutes and they came out perfect.

The entire family loved it and it was super easy. Best of all, was just about finished when I came home from work. Love my crock!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaZ01 October 22, 2012

I used the "big"/flayer biscuits (only put in like 6) - and they were too big. I think it would be better with a flatter or normal biscuit.

I added a little salt, pepper and poultry seasoning to the sauce. Smelled delicious cooking. Taste was great - got mixed reviews.

I think that next time - I will cook it as the recipe calls for and then put it in a dish with a crust - I think it would make an incredible pot pie (maybe add some more veggies?).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB March 11, 2012

Fabulous recipe! My DH and teenage son loved it and requested I make it more often! Wonderful easy comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriansBabe November 19, 2011

I had similar problems with the dumpling part of the dish so I baked dough separately then put it on top and continued to heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe January 15, 2011
Aunt Bettye's Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings