Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aunt Bernice's Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aunt Bernice's Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2004

      This is wonderfu! A true Southern cornbread recipe right down to the cast iron skillet. I did substitute bacon drippings for the shortning though, and let the fat get really hot before pouring in the cornbread so the bottom would come out crispy (the way we like it). The bread itself was light and oh so tasty, and not too crumbly. With some honey on the side......we were in heaven. Thanks Kim for sharing your Aunt's recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I used a little yogurt with the milk, lowfat milk, and butter instead of shortening. I liked the fact that there was a lot more cornmeal to normal flour. Came out nice and moist but dried out a little in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      My compliments to Aunt Bernice. I used olive oil instead of shortening and added a couple of chopped chipotle chiles and a tsp of adobo sauce since I wanted the cornbread to perk up the rest of the meal a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      The best cornbread I've tried so far. This had great flavor, and just the right texture, closer to a cake than to a dense, crumbly consistency. I used butter in a cast iron skillet. The cornbread froze well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Nice and dense and not too sweet. I used butter instead of shortening, as I didn't have shortening on hand. Maybe a little dry ... perhaps I overcooked it. I only cooked it for 20 minutes but maybe I had my oven a little high? Will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      This was delicious! 5 stars from me, dh, and mil. We served it with some crockpot ham and beans, and it was a feast. I used butter flavored Crisco in my cast iron skillet. Thank you Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      oh, yum! this was SO good. Crisp on the outside, and moist on the inside. Great flavor, too! My grandmother was absolutely tickled to see me using her cast iron, which she got from HER mil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      very good and not too sweet(which is good cause i wanted a dinner bread) thank you for sharing with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Fabulous cornbread recipe. Wish I had a cast iron skillet, but had to settle for the cake pan method. It was still great. It is very hard to find a good cornbread recipe. I won't have to look anymore. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aunt Bernice's Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.2
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    27%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 27.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 506.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites