9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is wonderfu! A true Southern cornbread recipe right down to the cast iron skillet. I did substitute bacon drippings for the shortning though, and let the fat get really hot before pouring in the cornbread so the bottom would come out crispy (the way we like it). The bread itself was light and oh so tasty, and not too crumbly. With some honey on the side......we were in heaven. Thanks Kim for sharing your Aunt's recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie January 14, 2004

I used a little yogurt with the milk, lowfat milk, and butter instead of shortening. I liked the fact that there was a lot more cornmeal to normal flour. Came out nice and moist but dried out a little in the fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly Blackwell January 24, 2008

My compliments to Aunt Bernice. I used olive oil instead of shortening and added a couple of chopped chipotle chiles and a tsp of adobo sauce since I wanted the cornbread to perk up the rest of the meal a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea June 24, 2006

The best cornbread I've tried so far. This had great flavor, and just the right texture, closer to a cake than to a dense, crumbly consistency. I used butter in a cast iron skillet. The cornbread froze well, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janelle22 January 25, 2006

Nice and dense and not too sweet. I used butter instead of shortening, as I didn't have shortening on hand. Maybe a little dry ... perhaps I overcooked it. I only cooked it for 20 minutes but maybe I had my oven a little high? Will definitely use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut January 17, 2006

This was delicious! 5 stars from me, dh, and mil. We served it with some crockpot ham and beans, and it was a feast. I used butter flavored Crisco in my cast iron skillet. Thank you Kim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bottlewasher December 18, 2005

oh, yum! this was SO good. Crisp on the outside, and moist on the inside. Great flavor, too! My grandmother was absolutely tickled to see me using her cast iron, which she got from HER mil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted September 13, 2005

very good and not too sweet(which is good cause i wanted a dinner bread) thank you for sharing with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu June 04, 2005

Fabulous cornbread recipe. Wish I had a cast iron skillet, but had to settle for the cake pan method. It was still great. It is very hard to find a good cornbread recipe. I won't have to look anymore. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie May 17, 2004
Aunt Bernice's Cornbread