12 Reviews

Totally wonderful! I make it two ways, just split the recipe in half and gave to my Dad and g/f, although I ate with them. I made some soft scrambled eggs and oven baked bacon and made these. I used chives, onions / scallions for one batch and topped with salmon spread, made myself from my salmon I cooked, not smoked but good grilled on charcoal with mesquite. Second, I used ham.I used some strong cheeses to really stand up to the mix and baked. What a great muffin. Easily with grilled meats, soups, salads, brunch, anything. So many variations, but we loved them and NOT ONE STANDING! They were rustic which I loved, easy and great flavor. Thx FT, loved it!! Made for Month of Chives and I am late posting, sorry, but a few personal problems and just late in getting everything done. LOVED it! Kim

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook June 05, 2010

I can't believe there are not more reviews for this recipe. This is a wonderful muffin/bun/cake...whatever you want to call it, just make this & enjoy it! It definitely tastes like you had to do more work than you actually do. It's very easy to make, & I think this is a great change up from making a quiche for a brunch. I did add the chives to mine & absolutely love them. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun Kitchen September 21, 2010

yummy!! I did not have smoked paprika so used sweet paprika but used smoked sharp cheddar cheese. I did not have chives so used a little bit of an green union. I am so glad I splurged and purchased a weight scale though I had to convert to ounces to make this and so many other excellent recipes if have found online from overseas

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady October 11, 2010

I used my Escali scale (on Amazon) to weigh out the flour, ham, and cheese. I did use smoked ham, double gloucester farmstead cheese, and I added the chives. These muffins are so good. I used my #20 cookie scoop to fill the muffin tin. Recipe is so well written. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef233624 September 09, 2008

While these muffins tasted good, they came out of the oven a bit greasy and I felt they were a bit heavier than what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC September 08, 2014

These are simply amazing. I love the fact that no "appliances" are needed. You need a grater, a knife, a bowl and a spoon. This is the second time I've made them (just to make sure the first time wasn't a fluke...) and they were amazing again. I have used quality ingredients; always really good cheese and ham. Unfortunately, everyone at work is in love with these...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd B November 06, 2013

I've made these a couple of times now, and they are very tasty. I usually freeze some, and take them to work for breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang June 14, 2012

Great muffins. I made them to go with cheese omelet and fried potatoes. Great breakfast and very filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 30, 2011

These little cakes are truly fantastic. They have a lovely savoury flavour that hits the spot for breakfast. I made a batch of these intending to use them for my children's breakfasts. They didn't make it to the freezer...we ate them all in a few days. I didn't have chives so I used spring onions and that worked out well. The use of mature cheddar does give them a little more zing than any other cheese would. These will certainly be made again soon...I'll just have to double the recipe so I don't run out. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedgiehog October 29, 2011

Mmmmm, FT, these muffins are just super duper yummy! They make for a wonderful, rich and filling late breakkie! They have such a nice texture-rather chunky and dense, but in a good way. The crust on top makes for a lovely crunch. I made the recipe as part of my mum's bday buffet and they received rave reviews. I made half the recipe with the ham and half without so that I could have a taste, too. My mum luved the addition of ham and I luved the ones without. lol THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, hon! Ill make it again! Made and reviewed for Cooking on the Farm with Andi of Longmeadow Farm and the Herb of the Month Chives May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 03, 2010
Auberge Cheddar Cheese and Ham Breakfast Buns - Muffins