Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2007

      Turned out quite good! Too much sauce so I pulled some to the side and plan on making macaroni and cheese with it. I made these as directed, except added garlic powder instead of garlic. I served this with Easter Sunday ham and it was quite good I suggest halving the recipe, as it makes enough to feed a small army! Other than that...the only thing I did differently was sprinkle some parsley flake on top for added color. Quite yummy. Give them a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Simple recipe- great results! Definitely appreciated the comment to use 3 cups of milk instead of 4 cups. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This was very good. It was a little heavy on the liquid, but it tasted so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This recipe was so good Stacey! My family and I loved it. I only had skim milk and I knew for sure using skim milk would not give me the best result. So I used half skim milk and half sour cream...AMAZING. Everything else I did exactly the same. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      These were WONDERFUL!! I halved the recipe for four of us, sliced rather than diced the potatoes, and used a combination of canned skim evaporated milk and 1% milk. The end result was rich, creamy and delicious, with the stepson and his girlfriend going back for seconds!Thanks for posting this- it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      SOOOO YUMMY!!! Used less milk like the others suggested and turned out perfect. Looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks for this one, straight into the cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      These potatoes rocked!!!! I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      yum! i only use 1 cup of cheddar. And reduce the milk to 3 cups based on the reviews. I thought it wouldn't be enough, but it was just right. Very creamy. It reminded me of macaroni and cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      I cut the potatoes very thin and they were done in approx 40mins. I used heavy cream in place of half & half (what I had in fridge). They turned out very cheesy, creamy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      This was my very first Au Gratin and it was good! Sliced the potatoes, then boiled them until just tender, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. It seemed way too soupy at first, but 45 minutes later it was perfect. I might try some other recipes, but will keep this one to go back to... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      This is a great version of potatoes au gratin. smooth and creamy and cooked to perfection. To enhance the flavor, I added stripes of Morningstar Farms Soy Bacon to each layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      This was an awesome recipe. My fiance and I both were drooling over each and every bite. I added a little less milk, and a litle dollop of light sour cream. I thought it could have used more pepper... I used a cajun pepper blend. But oh man is this a great place to start!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      I think it needs more potatoes for the amount of sauce. It was kind of curdly looking also. Did'nt like the presentation at all. OK tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      I followed this to the tee however most of the potatoes were still hard. I used Idaho potatos and they were on the large side so I think I just needed to boil them longer or use smaller, softer potatoes next time. The sauce was awesome so I will definately try it again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      Oh my gosh!!! Amazing potatoes! I made these last night for my boyfriend's birthday and they were incredible! He doesn't like parmesan cheese, so I used shredded romano instead and it was just delicious! I also used 3 cups of milk instead of 4 cups and it was just perfect! Everyone that ate the potatoes raved about them. I WILL DEFINITELY make these again! scrumptious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      I thought this was an excellent recipe...it was plentiful and very creamy... will make it again...Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

    • on March 10, 2004

      Delicious! Made this for dinner last night and we ate the leftovers for lunch today! The addition of the parmesan in the sauce was great! Will try reducing the amount of milk next time as it was a little soupy, but overall taste was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Delicious! It seemed I had a bit too much sauce for the amount of potatoes (little shy of 3 lbs), so before putting in casserole, I added 1-1/2 cups small uncooked elbow macaroni to absorb the excess. Cooked extra 10 minutes. It's like yummy garlic/cheese potatoes and mac and cheese in one dish. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Amazing, this was wonderful and I'm not a big Au Gratin fan but wife is so I went ahead and made them. The sauce was excellent. I (as I always do ) increased the amount of garlic as the only change. Will definitely make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    48%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 974.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes