106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and quick and easy to make. The whole family loved it and I will be making again very soon. The best thing was I had all the ingredients in the pantry/kitchen already....even had leftovers for brunch the next morning. I like to use this cheese (sometimes with a little extra shredded cheese) sauce to add on top of broccoli or cauliflower for the kids when I need to tempt them to eat their veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat and be Merry January 24, 2010

Easy to make, fit nicely in a 9x13 pan. Does make a lot of cheesy sauce, but boy is that sauce great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish the dish! December 31, 2009

This is it!! These were so good. A thick,creamy, cheesy sauce. Perfect. After reading reviews, I subbed a can of evap. milk for the equal amount of milk. I let it cook for several minutes until it was thickening nicely, then added the cheese. For the potatoes, I sliced them using my vegomatic, then boiled until just fork tender. I baked in a 9x13 because I didn't have a casserole dish available. I made these the night before I needed and refrigerated. They baked for about an hour. I think a bit of cooked, crumbled bacon would have taken these over the top, but I didn't think of it until they were done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyBoutCooking December 27, 2009

This one is a keeper! I made a few changes the the sauce by adding 3/4 cup cream cheese and crumbled bacon. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigfishks December 21, 2009

Followed to a tee, except 1/2 the milk and I took liberties with the cayenne. Not soupy at all. Perfect taste and texture. IT will be on the Christmas table, probably Easter and Thanksgiving too. I did not let the cheese melt in the sauce on the stove. Just kind of warmed it up and mixed it well. Made for nice cheesy spots amongst the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crowheart December 12, 2009

Maybe I did something wrong??? It was soupy and didn't have much flavor. I had to throw it all away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 October 24, 2009

DELICIOUS!! I made mine low-fat by using skim milk (reduced to 3 cups as per so many reviews) & I also used 2% sharp cheddar. I increased the garlic to 3 cloves & did several dashes of cayenne, we like it spicy in Texas! Instead of grated parmesan I used the parm/romano/asiago blend that is shredded. I have made this several times, boiling the potatoes whole & also peeling & slicing (1/4 - 1/8 inch instead of 1/2) before boiling, both ways are good. These FREEZE very well too. I put half of the casserole in tupperware & froze it for about 3 weeks. Thawed it & put it back in the oven, adding nothing & they tasted like I made them that day. Even fooled my Dad who is somewhat picky about frozen potatoes! This is a keeper!! Thanks Stacey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha Ann August 18, 2009

Awesome creamy cheesy potatoes. I put it under the broiler for a few minutes to get it nice and brown and crispy on top. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. May 30, 2009

I made this for Easter dinner & it was awesome!! I used the recipe exactly (with extra sharp cheddar) but I cooked it an extra hour at 200 degrees ...mainly because it was done early...but the consistancy was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#1 Adrienne April 19, 2009
Au Gratin Potatoes