107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. I cut the recipe in half and made it in a 1.5 quart au gratin dish. I used more cayenne than what the recipe calls for as I don't think you are going to detect any if you just use a dash, but the amount of heat you want is individual preference. I also omitted the salt as I boiled the potatoes in salted water and cheese has salt; it was just fine that way. I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len January 22, 2012

LOVED these potatoes! I cut the recipe in half for two of us and now regret that. I did mess with them a little as I decided I would prefer sliced to diced. I used a mandoline to slice Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on. I used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk and 1/2 cup of cream then added some fresh thyme and a touch of grated nutmeg. I used an extra old cheddar and it is now my favourite cheese sauce! I layered the potatoes with some thinly sliced sweet onion and baked covered at 350 for about 50 minutes and continued uncovered for 30 minutes.
This is now my go to recipe for Au Gratin Potatoes. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned December 14, 2011

5 out of 5 people in our family loved it! Everyone asked for seconds. I used whole milk and whole wheat flour. We also added left over BBQ chicken and broccoli and bacon bits! This recipe is to die for! = D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeredithYeverino September 05, 2011

SSSSOOOOOSSSSOOOOO GOOD! This is a family favorite, I get a lot of complements from family and friends whenever I make this. I have to admit that I have had this recipe for years and Iam just now writing a review it is so great! Thank you for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookformyloves86 May 15, 2011

Excellent recipe! It's a keeper. Used suggestion of thinly slicing raw potatoes, mixing throughly and baked covered at 375F for 45 minutes then uncovered and baked for approx. 30 more minutes until nicely browned on top. Used 2 cups 2% milk and 1 cup heavy cream. Added 1/2 tsp cayenne, replaced salt with seasoned salt and crumbled up some bacon. Definitely makes a large dish - I used 9x13 rectangular. Froze leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo in Arlington May 02, 2011

Made this tonight following the recipe as written, except to cut the recipe in half. It was very nice but I thought it needed some more seasoning. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 10, 2011

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irishdaud December 12, 2010

Lovely recipe. I quartered this recipe as I was the only one home. Worked like a charm, delicious sauce for these potatoes. I will use again for the whole family. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 30, 2010

This recipe was great and you can use the cheese for more then just potatoes. I also used it for a batch of mac n cheese and I put some over steamed broccoli.

I did read the reviews and follow the advice of reducing the milk and I substituted a 1/2 cup of reduced milk. Which made my sauce on the verge of being too thick.

Overall still a great recipe that I'm sure I will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sketchcils July 27, 2010
Au Gratin Potatoes