107 Reviews

very good! everyone request's these for family funtions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmloffer November 09, 2013

I just made these for the first time, for our large family gathering. I cooked and cut up an entire 5 lb bag of small red potatoes. I used 3 cups of skim milk and 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2, cooked the sauce to thicken before adding in a good sharp cheddar (added a bit more than 2 cups) . I meant to add onion with the garlic but forgot to buy an onion so added a bit of dried onion with the milk. Everything else was as directed. Delicious! There was plenty of sauce for the additional potatoes and we ate every last bite. I will surely make these again. 5/27/13: This time I used russet potatoes, peeled and cut up, precooked in batches in the m/w, added 2 teaspoons grainy Dijon mustard to the (all milk, no cream) cheese sauce. Absolutely fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpinSanity May 27, 2013

Really wonderful! Made as stated. Thickened the white sauce only a bit before pouring on the potatoes. I was worried because it looked like soup when I put it in the oven. Between the potatoes and flour it thickened up perfectly while baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunnerbun March 31, 2013

I will probably add 3 cups of milk instead of 4 the next time that I make this. It was a little watery. Besides that, it tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thelittlebaker March 30, 2013

This is the 4th recipe I've tried, and I've finally found the best one! These are by far the best I've ever had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shdorsett February 20, 2013

Followed the recipe exactly and was not at all impressed. They lacked flavor, there was too much sauce, over all just a disappointment. I had no other option but to throw them away wasting very good ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinginsnow January 28, 2013

Sooo good! I used a very sharp cheddar after reading some of the reviews - smart move. The milder cheeses might make this somewhat bland. Can't wait to incorporate other cheeses! Very good base gratin. Its a keeper - thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaledsmom November 29, 2012

I made half of this recipe for a Thanksgiving party of six people and the whole pan was eaten. Of course, I did use a bit more cheese than the recipe suggested, and half & half instead of milk :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squarebulb November 23, 2012

I put 1 cup sour cream french onion dip and 2 cups milk in the roux, then thicken it and added the cheese. Good way to use leftover dip and gives a stronger garlic and onion flavor. Loved this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharend August 23, 2012

This is a good recipe. My family enjoyed it immensely. As other reviewers suggested I cut the millk (2% was what I had) by a cup and added 1/2 cup Half & Half. I also added a bunch of steamed kale. I liked cooking the potatoes before and cut them in cubes as the recipe directed. They were very good left over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brendakay12 August 21, 2012
Au Gratin Potatoes