Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      Delicious and quick and easy to make. The whole family loved it and I will be making again very soon. The best thing was I had all the ingredients in the pantry/kitchen already....even had leftovers for brunch the next morning. I like to use this cheese (sometimes with a little extra shredded cheese) sauce to add on top of broccoli or cauliflower for the kids when I need to tempt them to eat their veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Easy to make, fit nicely in a 9x13 pan. Does make a lot of cheesy sauce, but boy is that sauce great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This is it!! These were so good. A thick,creamy, cheesy sauce. Perfect. After reading reviews, I subbed a can of evap. milk for the equal amount of milk. I let it cook for several minutes until it was thickening nicely, then added the cheese. For the potatoes, I sliced them using my vegomatic, then boiled until just fork tender. I baked in a 9x13 because I didn't have a casserole dish available. I made these the night before I needed and refrigerated. They baked for about an hour. I think a bit of cooked, crumbled bacon would have taken these over the top, but I didn't think of it until they were done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This one is a keeper! I made a few changes the the sauce by adding 3/4 cup cream cheese and crumbled bacon. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Followed to a tee, except 1/2 the milk and I took liberties with the cayenne. Not soupy at all. Perfect taste and texture. IT will be on the Christmas table, probably Easter and Thanksgiving too. I did not let the cheese melt in the sauce on the stove. Just kind of warmed it up and mixed it well. Made for nice cheesy spots amongst the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Maybe I did something wrong??? It was soupy and didn't have much flavor. I had to throw it all away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      DELICIOUS!! I made mine low-fat by using skim milk (reduced to 3 cups as per so many reviews) & I also used 2% sharp cheddar. I increased the garlic to 3 cloves & did several dashes of cayenne, we like it spicy in Texas! Instead of grated parmesan I used the parm/romano/asiago blend that is shredded. I have made this several times, boiling the potatoes whole & also peeling & slicing (1/4 - 1/8 inch instead of 1/2) before boiling, both ways are good. These FREEZE very well too. I put half of the casserole in tupperware & froze it for about 3 weeks. Thawed it & put it back in the oven, adding nothing & they tasted like I made them that day. Even fooled my Dad who is somewhat picky about frozen potatoes! This is a keeper!! Thanks Stacey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Awesome creamy cheesy potatoes. I put it under the broiler for a few minutes to get it nice and brown and crispy on top. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I made this for Easter dinner & it was awesome!! I used the recipe exactly (with extra sharp cheddar) but I cooked it an extra hour at 200 degrees ...mainly because it was done early...but the consistancy was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I made this for Easter dinner and it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I had company over for dinner last night and needed a crowd-pleasing side to go with steak. These was perfect! Everyone raved about them and asked for seconds. Thank you Stacey! I will make these again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      We totally enjoyed this dish, but the cheese we chose was not sharp enough. The next time we try this recipe we will cut down on the milk as others have indicated, use a VERY sharp cheese and perhaps bump the cheddar up to about 3 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Delicious. Just what I was after! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in an 8x8 Pyrex...came out perfect and just the right amount of cheesy sauce. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Very good! I use Russets since I have tons frm Summer.. make SURE you cook them WELL BEFORE going into the oven. I added shallots that I cooked with the milk and cheese.. VERY VERY GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

    • on January 09, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I read the reviews prior so I was able to make some minor adjustments to it to see how it might turn out!! My grandmother used to make Au Gratin Potatoes that were to die for but I never got the recipe out of her! So I knew to coom the potatoes first! She did use cream in the recipe along with milk! So my revision was to use 2 1/2 cups milk and 1 cup heavy cream (if you are watching calories this is not for you!) They turned out awesome, no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I boiled the taters first. I I used 3 cups of milk, but will use 3.5 next time. When the milk comes to a boil it thickens, due tothe butter and flour, and therefore should not be runny. I added a tsp on gry mustard also and some pepper. Next time I will use some greuyere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      4 stars because this recipe needs a tune-up imo. First it doesn't say anything about boiling the potatoes so I didn't which was a mistake. Second the potatoes are too thick if you cut them into 1/2 inch pieces. Third 4 cups is too much milk as other people have said but I didn't read the reviews until the dish was in the oven already. Good basic info but I think someone should post this with the changes already in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic!! I halved the recipe, but other than that followed it exactly. It turned out wonderful. Creamy and delicious. My search for really good au gratin potatoes has finally ended. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Excellent Recipe! Will never use another. Very creamy and has just the right flavor. I also did reduce the milk to 3 cups, and it was just the right amount. Watch carefully towards the end of the baking time to be sure it doesn't brown too much.(If not done, just cover in foil).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    48%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 974.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites