Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2013

      I just made these for the first time, for our large family gathering. I cooked and cut up an entire 5 lb bag of small red potatoes. I used 3 cups of skim milk and 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2, cooked the sauce to thicken before adding in a good sharp cheddar (added a bit more than 2 cups) . I meant to add onion with the garlic but forgot to buy an onion so added a bit of dried onion with the milk. Everything else was as directed. Delicious! There was plenty of sauce for the additional potatoes and we ate every last bite. I will surely make these again. 5/27/13: This time I used russet potatoes, peeled and cut up, precooked in batches in the m/w, added 2 teaspoons grainy Dijon mustard to the (all milk, no cream) cheese sauce. Absolutely fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Really wonderful! Made as stated. Thickened the white sauce only a bit before pouring on the potatoes. I was worried because it looked like soup when I put it in the oven. Between the potatoes and flour it thickened up perfectly while baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      I will probably add 3 cups of milk instead of 4 the next time that I make this. It was a little watery. Besides that, it tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This is the 4th recipe I've tried, and I've finally found the best one! These are by far the best I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Followed the recipe exactly and was not at all impressed. They lacked flavor, there was too much sauce, over all just a disappointment. I had no other option but to throw them away wasting very good ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Sooo good! I used a very sharp cheddar after reading some of the reviews - smart move. The milder cheeses might make this somewhat bland. Can't wait to incorporate other cheeses! Very good base gratin. Its a keeper - thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I made half of this recipe for a Thanksgiving party of six people and the whole pan was eaten. Of course, I did use a bit more cheese than the recipe suggested, and half & half instead of milk :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I put 1 cup sour cream french onion dip and 2 cups milk in the roux, then thicken it and added the cheese. Good way to use leftover dip and gives a stronger garlic and onion flavor. Loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      This is a good recipe. My family enjoyed it immensely. As other reviewers suggested I cut the millk (2% was what I had) by a cup and added 1/2 cup Half & Half. I also added a bunch of steamed kale. I liked cooking the potatoes before and cut them in cubes as the recipe directed. They were very good left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This was very good. I cut the recipe in half and made it in a 1.5 quart au gratin dish. I used more cayenne than what the recipe calls for as I don't think you are going to detect any if you just use a dash, but the amount of heat you want is individual preference. I also omitted the salt as I boiled the potatoes in salted water and cheese has salt; it was just fine that way. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      LOVED these potatoes! I cut the recipe in half for two of us and now regret that. I did mess with them a little as I decided I would prefer sliced to diced. I used a mandoline to slice Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on. I used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk and 1/2 cup of cream then added some fresh thyme and a touch of grated nutmeg. I used an extra old cheddar and it is now my favourite cheese sauce! I layered the potatoes with some thinly sliced sweet onion and baked covered at 350 for about 50 minutes and continued uncovered for 30 minutes.
      This is now my go to recipe for Au Gratin Potatoes. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      5 out of 5 people in our family loved it! Everyone asked for seconds. I used whole milk and whole wheat flour. We also added left over BBQ chicken and broccoli and bacon bits! This recipe is to die for! = D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      SSSSOOOOOSSSSOOOOO GOOD! This is a family favorite, I get a lot of complements from family and friends whenever I make this. I have to admit that I have had this recipe for years and Iam just now writing a review it is so great! Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Excellent recipe! It's a keeper. Used suggestion of thinly slicing raw potatoes, mixing throughly and baked covered at 375F for 45 minutes then uncovered and baked for approx. 30 more minutes until nicely browned on top. Used 2 cups 2% milk and 1 cup heavy cream. Added 1/2 tsp cayenne, replaced salt with seasoned salt and crumbled up some bacon. Definitely makes a large dish - I used 9x13 rectangular. Froze leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Made this tonight following the recipe as written, except to cut the recipe in half. It was very nice but I thought it needed some more seasoning. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

    • on October 30, 2010

      Lovely recipe. I quartered this recipe as I was the only one home. Worked like a charm, delicious sauce for these potatoes. I will use again for the whole family. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This recipe was great and you can use the cheese for more then just potatoes. I also used it for a batch of mac n cheese and I put some over steamed broccoli.

      I did read the reviews and follow the advice of reducing the milk and I substituted a 1/2 cup of reduced milk. Which made my sauce on the verge of being too thick.

      Overall still a great recipe that I'm sure I will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This is great and worth the time it takes to keep the processed box variety out of our diet. I added some sauteed onion and ham. I read the reviews that mentioned the abundant amount of sauce so I just made up the required amount and put the leftover sauce aside for a shrimp/pasta dish I made later in the week. Worked perfectly. I will also make my mac n cheese this way...love that we are reducing processed box foods this way! Thanks, Stacey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    48%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 974.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes