106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great dish. I sliced the potatoes and baked in the oven for two hours covered. One half hour uncovered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover August 12, 2011

Wow, great recipe. The sauce was marvelously cheesy and rich. The combination was amazing. I used Russet potatoes instead of red and I added seasoning salt, and it came out really really good. This one's a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tishiz2fly March 03, 2010

This is a great recipe. The cheese sauce was awesome. I just used sliced potatoes instead of dicing them. Great overall!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CamarilloChef February 05, 2010

I have to admit...look no further for an Au Gratin Potato recipe. Made this tonight and it was out of this world good! I did cut back on the milk to 3 cups. Did not boil the potatoes as directed; instead I sliced the them really thin with my Mandolin slicer and hand toss the potatoes with the sauce in a 9x13" pan to coat them well. Baked at 375 for 1 1/4 hours and covered with foil near the end of baking to keep from getting too brown. I will be making this for the holidays to share with family. Thanks for a great keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barn June 11, 2008

We just love this recipe and I'm rating on taste alone. The directions assume a working knowledge of sauces, which is what caused the soupy issues for the other reviewers.<br/><br/>WhoGirl10 provides good details for getting the sauce to consistency. After adding the milk (or varieties of dairy), I turn it to med-high and whisk continually until the sauce thickens. Take it off the heat and add the cheese. After melting the sauce is quite thick and ready to be poured into the potatoes.<br/><br/>I made a casserole using 2 lbs of potatoes and used the reserved sauce for some broccoli (kids' favorite). I'll likely have some leftover for another dish, if I don't just eat it like soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alex9179 November 13, 2014

Good thing I read the reviews. You must boil potatoes prior to baking or they will not cook in 45 minutes as the recipe suggests. Also, used I cup of heavy cream and 2 cups of milk. I would use less salt and flour, as less milk is being used. I also suggest potatoes be thinly sliced or diced. I have made this recipe twice and each time potatoes were undercooked and not tender. The flavor and consistency of sauce is excellent and I will definitely make this again. Rule of thumb bake longer than suggested!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela T. April 21, 2014

I made this tonight for supper as a side for breaded chicken breasts. It was quite tasty. The only thing I did differently was that I halved the recipe since there are only two of us and I use my mandoline to slice potatoes about 1/8 inch thick and I didn't precook them. My regular recipe uses gruyere cheese instead of cheddar and I was out of gruyere. While I do prefer my regular au gratin potatoes (from America's Test Kitchen) this was a very tasty version. <br/>Other than halving the recipe, the proportions were the same as the original. I didn't find the sauce too soupy. I, however, am used to using a roux and added the milk in three portions to help it thicken. For those who experienced curdling of the sauce, that happens when you let milk boil. You should keep it at a simmer, as opposed to a full boil. Cream can be boiled without the danger of curdling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann March 29, 2014

This really was the best potatoes au gratin I've ever had. I think the key is pre-cooking the potatoes; it really gives the finished product a nice texture. i was planning on boiling them for less time than suggested but ended up cooking them for the full 25 minutes and I'm glad I did. I used sharp cheddar. I did not substitute cream for any of the milk (as others suggested) because I find that cream masks other flavors. The texture was incredibly creamy without it. We ended up eating this as part of Christmas dinner, with steaks the night after, with eggs and bacon the morning after that and finally as a Shepherd's Pie topping on Saturday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patrick M. Mitchell January 10, 2014

May I point out that the recipe directs you to put the diced potatoes (altho the pic shows sliced ones) into a rectangular or circular dish, but then, later in the recipe, calls on you to take them out again to mix with the sauce. Since, without forewarning otherwise, I'd arranged them rather nicely in the baking dish, stopping however at one layer deep,I chose to ladle some sauce over the one layer and spread well around, and then put down the second layer and finish the sauce on top. It won't be as well mixed as if I'd started with the potatoes in a bowl in the first place where they could have been well mixed with the sauce and hopefully arranged neatly in a second step in the clean baking dish--but otherwise the ingredients are fine, as fine as you buy, for cheddars can run quite a range, and the taste of the sauce is wonderful. I mixed a few bread crumbs with the remaining parmesan and it all came out quite golden. I deducted a full star in all, half for the misdirection, and another half for the problems with the sauce being too runny or not enough. I deducted half a cup but used half and half and at least 3/4 of a cup of heavy cream, so go figure. It was a tiny bit thick but delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dot N. December 31, 2013

very good! everyone request's these for family funtions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmloffer November 09, 2013
Au Gratin Potatoes