Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2011

      The best au gratin potatoes I've ever eaten. I added half and half with milk,
      Which enhanced the sauce. I can't wait to try this with guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I left the skins on and substituted the cheddar with aged white cheddar and used Romano and Parmesan grated cheese, turned out excellent! Next time I may add some fresh chopped rosemary. You can't go wrong with these though, they are outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      YUM-MY !! Prepared for Mother's day dinner -- cut flour back to 5 TBSP and milk to 3 cups, after reading other reviewers. I really liked the method of boiling whole potatoes first, then cubing them. Also, I used Gruyere cheese in place of cheddar. Thought I had plenty for DH and I for another meal, but the DGK's enjoyed then SO much, there really isn't much left !! All of us really ate our fill -- not for the cholesterol conscious -- but GOOD! Thanks for posting, Stacey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      Made this for a friendly Game Night gathering last night. It was such a big hit!! My friends couldn't stop eating it. I made a few adjustments after reading other reviews and wanting to add some flare:
      -I used 3 1/2 pounds of yukon gold potatoes, boiled for 20 minutes, sliced to about 1/4 slices and left the skins on.
      -Used 3 cups 2% milk, 1 cup half and half [t doesn't mention this in the recipe but after you put the milk in the pot (i used a large heavy-bottomed stainless steel pot) you need to simmer it on medium for about 5-7 minutes, whisking very frequently, until it thickens up before you add the cheese--otherwise it will be soupy]
      -Finely chopped the leaves of one sprig of rosemary and added it in with the milk and garlic (a little more rosemary wouldn't hurt either).
      -I caramelized one gigantic spanish onion ahead of time (cut in half, slice into 1/4 in. slices, cook on low for about an hour with some oil and a little salt) patted it dry to remove the excess oil (don't want sauce to be too oily) and then finely chopped it and added it to the sauce after the cheese. I think I'll add another 1/2 onion next time.
      -I finely chopped up some raw broccoli and added it to the sauce after the cheese.
      -I used aged cheddar and added 1/2 a cup after some reviewers said it could use more.
      -I added parmesan and cheddar to the top of the dish before baking.
      -I cooked it for 20 minutes with foil on top and 20-25 minutes with foil off.
      -I put it under the broiler for 3-5 minutes until it was perfectly crispy on top.

      IT WAS DEVOURED. And you can use that sauce for other things, like mac and cheese! Or a homemade Hamburger Helpers!

      It would have also tasted even better if I added some meat (think crispy bacon (!!), pieces of ham, crumbled sausage, or cooked and seasoned ground beef) but the host was making a beef dish and so I didn't add any meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half for 4 servings. I also used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. It gives the perfect consistency. I also used 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, which gave it a great kick! I put in a little extra parm and cheddar...and use mature cheddar. Yum!!! One of my favorites to make for guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      My kids loved this!!! Had quite a bit of sauce, so I just quickly cooked a few more potatoes and tossed them in. Love the smell of these while they're cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      The worst casserole I have ever made. Potatoes were not done and the sauce was soupy. Looks nothing like the pictures...take this recipe down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Stacy, what a beautiful cheese sauce this recipe makes.

      I want to thank WhoGirl10 for additions that really jazz up this recipe and takes it beyond the five star level. Let me describe my own departure from the base recipe (which makes a beautiful sauce in its own right):

      1) I began by rendering 4 slices of salt pork (presliced are available at most grocers) in a large thick bottom sauce pan until the pork is nice and crispy and about a table spoon of salt pork has rendered. Remove and save the crispy pork (let sit on a plate with paper towel to absorb excess oil).

      2) Add 4 tablespoons (instead of five) of unsalted butter to the sauce pan over medium to medium high heat and add your six tablespoons of AP flour. To those that may have complained about a "floury" taste, you most likely did not cook the flour during the preparation of your roux. Whisk the flour in the butter and salt pork fat for at least two minutes which will develop a beautiful light brown roux.

      3) I used three cups of whole milk and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. Add this to the cooked roux slowly whisking the mixture continuously over medium high heat. If you do this slowly the b?chamel will thicken quickly. Let this thicken and bring to a boil, do not stop whisking or the bottom may burn quickly.

      4) Beforehand caramelize a medium size sweet onion (Spanish, vidalia or maui is great) and dice this up. Add the onion and crumble the reserved salt pork into your b?chamel sauce and whisk until combined.

      5) I grated about 2 1/2 cups of a 2 year aged extra sharp cheddar and 1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese and whisked for about 1 minute until the cheese is melted and fully combined.
      Pour over your potatoes in the casserole and finish as described by the recipe.

      This is a tremendous dish and had my family fighting over the leftovers. Very nice recipe and a wonderful addition to this site. Thanks Stacey!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      The picture Stacy posted looked exactly like what my mom used to make. But I must need practice! I should have read the reviews that suggested substituting half and half instead of so much milk and to use sharp cheddar or gruyere. I am adding some chopped bacon on top and serving as cheddar potato soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Great dish. I sliced the potatoes and baked in the oven for two hours covered. One half hour uncovered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Wow, great recipe. The sauce was marvelously cheesy and rich. The combination was amazing. I used Russet potatoes instead of red and I added seasoning salt, and it came out really really good. This one's a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This is a great recipe. The cheese sauce was awesome. I just used sliced potatoes instead of dicing them. Great overall!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I have to admit...look no further for an Au Gratin Potato recipe. Made this tonight and it was out of this world good! I did cut back on the milk to 3 cups. Did not boil the potatoes as directed; instead I sliced the them really thin with my Mandolin slicer and hand toss the potatoes with the sauce in a 9x13" pan to coat them well. Baked at 375 for 1 1/4 hours and covered with foil near the end of baking to keep from getting too brown. I will be making this for the holidays to share with family. Thanks for a great keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Good thing I read the reviews. You must boil potatoes prior to baking or they will not cook in 45 minutes as the recipe suggests. Also, used I cup of heavy cream and 2 cups of milk. I would use less salt and flour, as less milk is being used. I also suggest potatoes be thinly sliced or diced. I have made this recipe twice and each time potatoes were undercooked and not tender. The flavor and consistency of sauce is excellent and I will definitely make this again. Rule of thumb bake longer than suggested!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I made this tonight for supper as a side for breaded chicken breasts. It was quite tasty. The only thing I did differently was that I halved the recipe since there are only two of us and I use my mandoline to slice potatoes about 1/8 inch thick and I didn't precook them. My regular recipe uses gruyere cheese instead of cheddar and I was out of gruyere. While I do prefer my regular au gratin potatoes (from America's Test Kitchen) this was a very tasty version. <br/>Other than halving the recipe, the proportions were the same as the original. I didn't find the sauce too soupy. I, however, am used to using a roux and added the milk in three portions to help it thicken. For those who experienced curdling of the sauce, that happens when you let milk boil. You should keep it at a simmer, as opposed to a full boil. Cream can be boiled without the danger of curdling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      This really was the best potatoes au gratin I've ever had. I think the key is pre-cooking the potatoes; it really gives the finished product a nice texture. i was planning on boiling them for less time than suggested but ended up cooking them for the full 25 minutes and I'm glad I did. I used sharp cheddar. I did not substitute cream for any of the milk (as others suggested) because I find that cream masks other flavors. The texture was incredibly creamy without it. We ended up eating this as part of Christmas dinner, with steaks the night after, with eggs and bacon the morning after that and finally as a Shepherd's Pie topping on Saturday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      May I point out that the recipe directs you to put the diced potatoes (altho the pic shows sliced ones) into a rectangular or circular dish, but then, later in the recipe, calls on you to take them out again to mix with the sauce. Since, without forewarning otherwise, I'd arranged them rather nicely in the baking dish, stopping however at one layer deep,I chose to ladle some sauce over the one layer and spread well around, and then put down the second layer and finish the sauce on top. It won't be as well mixed as if I'd started with the potatoes in a bowl in the first place where they could have been well mixed with the sauce and hopefully arranged neatly in a second step in the clean baking dish--but otherwise the ingredients are fine, as fine as you buy, for cheddars can run quite a range, and the taste of the sauce is wonderful. I mixed a few bread crumbs with the remaining parmesan and it all came out quite golden. I deducted a full star in all, half for the misdirection, and another half for the problems with the sauce being too runny or not enough. I deducted half a cup but used half and half and at least 3/4 of a cup of heavy cream, so go figure. It was a tiny bit thick but delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Delicious & easy.<br/>I only used 3 cups of milk and I also added chopped onion in the mix. Instead of boiling whole potatoes, I sliced them and then boiled with skins on to save time, potatoes cooked in about 7min al dente. I let the sauce cook a little while to thicken up before dumping over the potatoes. <br/>Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      very good! everyone request's these for family funtions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I just made these for the first time, for our large family gathering. I cooked and cut up an entire 5 lb bag of small red potatoes. I used 3 cups of skim milk and 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2, cooked the sauce to thicken before adding in a good sharp cheddar (added a bit more than 2 cups) . I meant to add onion with the garlic but forgot to buy an onion so added a bit of dried onion with the milk. Everything else was as directed. Delicious! There was plenty of sauce for the additional potatoes and we ate every last bite. I will surely make these again. 5/27/13: This time I used russet potatoes, peeled and cut up, precooked in batches in the m/w, added 2 teaspoons grainy Dijon mustard to the (all milk, no cream) cheese sauce. Absolutely fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    48%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 974.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites