13 Reviews

I cook this all the time.... no need to steam the asparagus first (too easy to overcook it). Just cook for a few minutes in step 6. Never seen it as a recipe before, but I often add a few flaked almonds to the breadcrumb mix, or some finely cubed bacon is a good change. (Make sure to buy gluten-free bacon for coeliacs and, of course, use gluten-free crumbs.)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok April 14, 2011

I agree with the other reviewers, how can you go wrong with the fresh flavors of asparagus, garlic and lemon. The buttered crumbs add a nice pleasing touch. The only change I made was to use my Vita-Mix to crumb a whole wheat dinner roll which when added to the frothy butter browned nicely. As we really enjoy fresh asparagus, I am sure to make this one again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 07, 2010

I agree with other reviews, what more could you ask for than fresh asparagus, garlic and lemon. Just wonderful and one I'll make again. Thanks Pets :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 08, 2010

5 stars are not enough for the Spring beauty. Followed the recipe using some fresh Ciabatta bread crumbs, and only sprinkle the zest at serving. Oh, my taste buds are tingling from the garlic-lemony goodness! Will make again and again. Guest-worthy, for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks May 03, 2010

Wonderful flavour! great combination, can't beat garlic, butter,lemon and tender crisp asparagus! I will be making this again but next time I will make my torn fresh bread a bit smaller, although the big crunchy bits were sooo tasty!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf May 03, 2010

Thought of you, Pet while I was making this little recipe, and knew you would be smiling down upon the nifty lemon asparagus that had the most tasty crumb you would ever devour. It was so easy to put together, I just warmed the asparagus in the pan and then went from there. Just lovely! You are so missed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 11, 2012

This is the best recipe for asparagus I have ever had! I switched the bread crumbs for parmesan cheese. It was fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claypoolgal February 16, 2011

I gave this a 4, but DW says 5! My only misgiving was the crunchiness of the breadcrumbs against the softness of the asparagus, but the taste is divine! Thanks for a Keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe May 14, 2010

Hands up - I have made this before as I am a big Delia fan, but as I saw this in your recipe collection I thought, why not make it again! I made it with fresh English aspargus that I brought back with me to France and home made bread crumbs. We ate this for a light lunch with chardonnay and some fresh bread rolls. Chin up and keep up the fight, my thoughts are with you. Made for your cookathon, merci, Karen/FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart May 14, 2010

I really liked this recipe...my DB not so much....I will make again for company....thanks..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc May 09, 2010
Asparagus With Lemon Butter Crumbs