8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A flavorful sauce (I used cheedar-jack cheese), but I didn't like the slightly grainy texture from the roux. I think I would rather use cornstarch stirred into cool milk, and just make it on the stovetop next time and get that silkier texture. I did not have any problems with thickening like another reviewer commented on. When I stirred in the hot milk, it thickened beautifully and immediately.
I added a touch of garlic powder and freshly cracked pepper. Was very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah October 01, 2011

I didn't make the sauce, just the asparagus (though the sauce does sound good!) I used a pyrex loaf pan, and found the asparagus was crisp tender in 4.5 minutes. :-) TFS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel March 23, 2009

This was so easy to make. Very tasty. And I loved the fact that there was extra cheese sauce. We drizzled it over our baked potatoes. I will be making this again. Thanks for such an easy and wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv February 16, 2008

I have a bamboo steamer that I cooked the asparagus in. The cheese sauce was delightful and my fresh asparagus from the garden loves you and your recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krsi Sue April 28, 2006

This was not bad, but certainly not worth a high review. I'm not sure if asparagus goes well with cheddar cheese at all. It just didn't taste right to me. However, this is a nice simple sauce to trow together for some broccoli or cauliflower :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alanam_28 April 21, 2006

I first made this in June, and gave it a rave review because it was excellent. It still is excellent, but I wanted to edit to provide the following information: If you use already-shredded cheese in a package, it's fine (although I doubled the cheese, we don't like runnier sauces). But if you grate your own cheese from a block, as I did this time around, you need to at least double the amount of flour. I used an entire block of cheese because it kept not thickening, and ended up with almost four cups before I thought to add more flour. Still a great recipe, but it's better with pre-shredded cheese in a package.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felix4067 October 15, 2005

Sue, this was absolutely wonderful. I didn't make it in the microwave, instead I made the sauce on the stove and steamed the asparagus and it turned out great. I didn't change any of the recipe except the microwave cooking method. I loved the sauce. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 14, 2004

Simple and delicious! I was excited to see "you may not need all the sauce" because that gave me leeway to fix two pounds of asparagus. YUM. A couple leftovers that I can't wait to eat. Thanks for posting this recipe and congratulations on winning the football pool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteMarie October 03, 2004
Asparagus With Cheese Sauce