Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asparagus With Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asparagus With Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      A flavorful sauce (I used cheedar-jack cheese), but I didn't like the slightly grainy texture from the roux. I think I would rather use cornstarch stirred into cool milk, and just make it on the stovetop next time and get that silkier texture. I did not have any problems with thickening like another reviewer commented on. When I stirred in the hot milk, it thickened beautifully and immediately.
      I added a touch of garlic powder and freshly cracked pepper. Was very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      I didn't make the sauce, just the asparagus (though the sauce does sound good!) I used a pyrex loaf pan, and found the asparagus was crisp tender in 4.5 minutes. :-) TFS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This was so easy to make. Very tasty. And I loved the fact that there was extra cheese sauce. We drizzled it over our baked potatoes. I will be making this again. Thanks for such an easy and wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I have a bamboo steamer that I cooked the asparagus in. The cheese sauce was delightful and my fresh asparagus from the garden loves you and your recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      This was not bad, but certainly not worth a high review. I'm not sure if asparagus goes well with cheddar cheese at all. It just didn't taste right to me. However, this is a nice simple sauce to trow together for some broccoli or cauliflower :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I first made this in June, and gave it a rave review because it was excellent. It still is excellent, but I wanted to edit to provide the following information: If you use already-shredded cheese in a package, it's fine (although I doubled the cheese, we don't like runnier sauces). But if you grate your own cheese from a block, as I did this time around, you need to at least double the amount of flour. I used an entire block of cheese because it kept not thickening, and ended up with almost four cups before I thought to add more flour. Still a great recipe, but it's better with pre-shredded cheese in a package.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Sue, this was absolutely wonderful. I didn't make it in the microwave, instead I made the sauce on the stove and steamed the asparagus and it turned out great. I didn't change any of the recipe except the microwave cooking method. I loved the sauce. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      Simple and delicious! I was excited to see "you may not need all the sauce" because that gave me leeway to fix two pounds of asparagus. YUM. A couple leftovers that I can't wait to eat. Thanks for posting this recipe and congratulations on winning the football pool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asparagus With Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.9
     
    Calories from Fat 317
    65%
    Total Fat 35.2 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 22.1 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1125.3 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites