37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delightful combination! My asparagus were very skinny and I do like them crunchy so I did not preboil them. I put the butter, mustard and mushrooms on the skillet heated the mushrooms through and then added damp asparagus, cooked for 3 minutes stirred them twice and they were perfect. Had a picky eater for dinner and they disappeared from her plate in a hurry Thanks TGirl,RN for a very good recipe

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 15, 2004

Delicious -- my new favorite way to make asparagus. I used the skinny asparagus for this dish, cooking it about half the time indicated and it was just perfect with steak and baked potatoes. Thanks for sharing! This is a keeper for sure.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 05, 2004

Agree with Ellie2, perfect side dish with sirloin steaks for dinner today. The mustard in the sauce enhanced the meat! Since we like asparagus barely tender I did not add it until the mushrooms/sauce mixture was done, it was perfect! A keeper!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada March 14, 2004

excellent!!! you must dry this dish. i loved it and will be adding it to my easter dinner menu. thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peggy 3062 March 14, 2004

I may cut down on the mustard next time, but this was good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC June 03, 2010

This is a wonderful new way to fix asparagus. We enjoyed ever bite. I am glad to see some new ways to fix this vegetable.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BRENDA PITTMAN March 21, 2004

Delicious and Flavorful! I love the flavor the Dijon added to the asparagus! So very simple to prepare such a delightful side dish. I do love asparagus and and mushrooms (a great combination, I might add!) and will definitely keep this recipe handy for future use! Thanks TGirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 19, 2004

Excellent! The mustard and garlic are the perfect offset for the asparagus and the mushrooms add color and texture. I brought the water to a boil before adding the asparagus. While the asparagus was draining, I melted the butter and mixed in the mustard and garlic before adding the asparagus and mushrooms.I did not add the salt or pepper. You could add an additional 1/2 pound of aspapagus for the amount of sauce made by the recipe. Thanks TGirl for this special dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 06, 2004

If I could give this 8 or 10 stars, I would. Hubby went BONKERS for it, and I wasn't far behind--and that was without the Dijon! I used 8 oz. mini-bella mushrooms, sliced, and at least 1 lb. of slender asparagus, with probably 2 tsp. or more minced garlic (we love garlic!) and some salt & pepper. I did not precook; melted 2 Tblsp. butter in pan with another 2 Tblsp. roasted-garlic extra-virgin olive oil, and tossed veggies in the mixture. I actually shut the flame off at that point, intending to finish cooking later when the balance of the meal was almost ready. Covered the pan, and when I went back to complete the cooking, everything was perfectly done! Just a very quick re-heat and it was good to go--asparagus crisp-tender and mushrooms just right. I tasted the asparagus and it was divine, as-is, so I tried another spear with a tiny bit of Dijon. I actually thought the mustard overpowered the delightful flavors of the veggies, so just served Dijon on the side for my husband if he wanted it. He never even touched it, and raved endlessly about the asparagus. Guess this one is a keeper... ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCPontiac August 25, 2014

Great recipe! My garlic was bad, so I threw in some chopped onions. I cut back on the calories by using butter spray and just a little bit of butter. My DH loved this recipe, and I usually can't get him to eat asparagus. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charps September 23, 2010
Asparagus Spears with Mushrooms