9 Reviews

This was the perfect side for lemon herb chicken breasts. The arborio came out fluffy and tender but not mushy. I used the veggie broth. This recipe could easily be the star of the table, it has wonderful flavor and the asparagus was cooked beautifully. What a treat! The parm is a must in my opinion. I didn't have any mushrooms but they will be added the next time I make this. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 12, 2010

I love this risotto because it's made in the microwave. I used only 2 tbs of olive oil, no butter. I used 1 large red onion, 1/2 lb mushroom. And to reduce the fat, I omitted the parmesan. Thanks Baby Kato. I loved it. Made for Market tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 08, 2008

We really enjoyed this. I used beef broth (ran out of chicken broth) and it was so tasty. Left out the salt and tumeric. Also cut recipe in half; I cooked it the 15 min covered, then thru in the asparagus and gave it another 5 minutes and it was done. I did have to add some extra water, as it dried out during cooking. And I stirred in a little half and half just before serving (recommendation on the box of rice). THANKS

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 16, 2008

I`m giving this 5 stars for ease and flavor. Nice use of the microwave cutting back on all the work of stirring and giving time to complete the rest of the meal. I would have like it a little more creamy. I added 1/2 cup more water at step #6. I found the flavor very nice. Timing was right on. The asparagus was not at all mushing which I feared. Thanks for the comfort food!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 26, 2007

This was pretty good. I used unsalted butter and no-salt-added broth. I substituted basmati rice for arborio because that's what I had on hand. As it cooked, it seemed to me to be missing a bit seasoning wise so I upped the amount of turmeric and added a wee bit of cumin, cardamom and cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo January 16, 2007

Very good, I omitted the tumeric and used a pinch of saffron instead, we enjoyed this rice BK! thanks for sharing, Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 23, 2006

Nice taste, easy prep. Perhaps not as creamy as I would have liked but a good quick dish. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl December 03, 2006

I liked this but it needs more flavor for me. Maybe sneak some garlic in somewhere. I would also recommend cooking the asparagus for two minutes so it is not mushy. I love the ease of this recipe. Wente to the Market 4/2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz April 18, 2011

This was a nice, quick, great for a weekday side dish. Much simpler than stove-top risotto, but also had a much simpler flavor. I would have enjoyed it more if it had a bit of heavy cream to make it creamier. Great concept though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 June 01, 2008
Asparagus Risotto