15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this with leftover cooked rice, so my cooking steps were a bit different but the ingredients were the same. The tarragon was a winner for me! Served with a pork chop smothered in mushroom gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeachyLia July 07, 2013

Good side dish. I used a can of chicken broth and rounded it out to 2 cups. Also used dried oregano and half a red onion. Great under fish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larry in DC May 16, 2012

Like other reviewers, I doubled the asparagus. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable broth, because that is what I had on hand. This was really delicious, but I had to add additional liquids to get my rice tender. I added the asparagus stems as indicated, but waited 5 minutes to add the tips so they didn't fall apart. Loved the tarragon in this! Enjoyed this as a side to some fish tonight. Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 01, 2010

This went very well with grilled chicken. I used 2 cups chicken broth and no water and dried basil. I did add a smidge of garlic and I also, just about doubled the asparagus! Very delicious and easy! Made for Holiday Tag May 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ May 18, 2010

I made this as a side dish for our Easter dinner. I used one can of reduced sodium chicken broth, plus about 4 oz of water and doubled the asparagus. It was wonderful! I used dried tarragon for the herb and it tasted almost like it had been cooked in coconut milk. My little one really liked it (except the asparagus) and the adults loved the whole thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Sue April 04, 2010

Very good versatile side dish that would go well with lots of entrees. I served this with chicken. I wanted more asparagus in the rice, so I doubled the amount of asparagus. I also used the entire 14.5 ounce can of vegetable broth and no water. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 06, 2009

With permission from the posting chef I made this simple side with bulgur in lieu of rice. It was so flavorful and tasted more complex than the simple list of ingredients would suggest. The tarragon was delightful and a nice change from parsley, basil or oregano and was perfectly paired with the lemon. The leftovers also created a great foundation for a salad the next day with chickpeas, sundried tomatoes and orange peppers. Thanks Boomette. Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 13, 2009

I really enjoyed this rice dish with the nice lemony flavor, and though DH was not thrilled with the asparagus in it, he still gave it a 4 1/2! So it gets a "5" in my book and I'll definitely be making it again. Made for It's Not Easy Being Green, March 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative March 31, 2009

very good, I used 2 cups chicken stock in place of the veggie stock and also added in minced fresh garlic and cayenne pepper, with those changes this was enjoyed, thanks Booms!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 02, 2009
Asparagus Pilaf Rice