Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asparagus Pilaf Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asparagus Pilaf Rice

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2013

      I made this with leftover cooked rice, so my cooking steps were a bit different but the ingredients were the same. The tarragon was a winner for me! Served with a pork chop smothered in mushroom gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      Good side dish. I used a can of chicken broth and rounded it out to 2 cups. Also used dried oregano and half a red onion. Great under fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Like other reviewers, I doubled the asparagus. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable broth, because that is what I had on hand. This was really delicious, but I had to add additional liquids to get my rice tender. I added the asparagus stems as indicated, but waited 5 minutes to add the tips so they didn't fall apart. Loved the tarragon in this! Enjoyed this as a side to some fish tonight. Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This went very well with grilled chicken. I used 2 cups chicken broth and no water and dried basil. I did add a smidge of garlic and I also, just about doubled the asparagus! Very delicious and easy! Made for Holiday Tag May 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I made this as a side dish for our Easter dinner. I used one can of reduced sodium chicken broth, plus about 4 oz of water and doubled the asparagus. It was wonderful! I used dried tarragon for the herb and it tasted almost like it had been cooked in coconut milk. My little one really liked it (except the asparagus) and the adults loved the whole thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Very good versatile side dish that would go well with lots of entrees. I served this with chicken. I wanted more asparagus in the rice, so I doubled the amount of asparagus. I also used the entire 14.5 ounce can of vegetable broth and no water. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

    • on April 13, 2009

      With permission from the posting chef I made this simple side with bulgur in lieu of rice. It was so flavorful and tasted more complex than the simple list of ingredients would suggest. The tarragon was delightful and a nice change from parsley, basil or oregano and was perfectly paired with the lemon. The leftovers also created a great foundation for a salad the next day with chickpeas, sundried tomatoes and orange peppers. Thanks Boomette. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I really enjoyed this rice dish with the nice lemony flavor, and though DH was not thrilled with the asparagus in it, he still gave it a 4 1/2! So it gets a "5" in my book and I'll definitely be making it again. Made for It's Not Easy Being Green, March 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      very good, I used 2 cups chicken stock in place of the veggie stock and also added in minced fresh garlic and cayenne pepper, with those changes this was enjoyed, thanks Booms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I found this marvelous skinny little asparagus and cooked it into this rice for a great companion piece to Quick and Easy Chicken in Cream Sauce. Easy to do and great flavor! Made for PRMR, Jan. 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made this tonight to go with baked cod and it was outstanding. One thing I did different was I sauteed my rice along with the onions. I find this keeps my pilafs from getting mushy. I really like the use of vegetable broth in this and the addition of the lemon juice it really brightened the flavors. All 3 kids ate every bite. My daughter really like the "trees" in the rice. She ate about 4 stalks of asparagus and she is two. Yes that was the other change I made I put about 12 stalks in all total.. Will be making this one again. Thanks for such a lovely quick and easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      tastey rice pilaf, i made a couple of changes, I used olive oil and I used brown rice and chicken stock. Turned into a lovely asparagus side with brown rice, and I will make it again, the lemon juice was a nice touch. Just made half a recipe for the two of us. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Boomie ~~ Fabulous dish! We all enjoyed it so much. I used the olive oil in place of vegie oil, and used the dry oregano for the spice! My DH walked in while sauteeing the first ingredients and said he could not wait for the end results - and he was not disappointed at all! We'll be having this often during aspargus season! Thanks for a great recipe! Tagged in Zaar Chef Alphabet Tag Apr 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      We enjoyed this dish very much. I chose the tarragon and since I had no vegetable stock, I used chicken. Good way to use up some asparagus that won't serve 4 people on it's own as a side. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asparagus Pilaf Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.5
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    15%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 163.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites