Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Asparagus, Halloumi and Pine Nut Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asparagus, Halloumi and Pine Nut Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      Very, Very, Delicious! I had some halloumi left over from one of the previous rounds and this was the perfect recipe to finish it with. The asparagus was crispy tender, the cheese nice and mellow, and the toasted pine nuts finished it off perfectly. Thnx for sharing your recipe, ~Rita~. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Oops, I posted my picture of this but forgot to review it! This was very good and much enjoyed by DH and I... especially the fried cheese! Also, it's a very pretty looking side dish. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      We thoroughly enjoyed this tasty dish and I look forward to making it again and again. This recipe was posted in 2003 -- long before Zaar was very specific about ingredient amounts. So you might want to update some items, especially the halloumi. I had half a pound of asparagus -- or enough for 1/2 a recipe. The recipe calls for 1 halloumi cheese. Our halloumi packs average around 180 grams (or 6 ounces) so I used half a pack. I added only 2 tablespoons of pine nuts (which I toasted) and that was plenty. I also made 1/4 of the dressing (which was more than enough), and doubled the lemon juice. I think halloumi cries out for lemon. Thanks for a fantastic recipe. Yum, yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      So good! Simple, beautiful ingredients that combine into a lovely healthy lunch, or if you halve the proportions a great appetizer. Thanks Rita, I really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      The first time I ever tried halloumi much less grilled and we loved the way it tasted (low fat, and tastes like mozzarella, but minty and a bit saltier). Made a number of changes to the recipe though. Added 1/2 the parsley, and MUCH less olive oil to dressing (as written it would have been much too oily for my taste). I also toasted the pine nuts (8-10 minutes in 350 degree F. oven), and only added 1/4 cup. I also used less than half the halloumi, cut into thinner strips. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper and dried thyme (because I like thyme and asparagus). Halloumi took several minutes to brown instead of 1 minute per side. The outcome, though, was very tasty and quite sophisticated! Thanks Rita for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Love all these ingredients separately: just loved them together in this recipe, and the dressing provided the perfect complement. I served this as a stand-alone light vegetarian weekend lunch, but this would also make a great side-dish with any grilled or BBQd meats. It would, for example, be the perfect accompaniment to kebabs. Even the hard-to-please- octogenarian-plus whose greatest joy seems to be finding cause for complaint must have liked these: he asked for a second serving! Thanks, Rita, for yet another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      We loved this, Rita. The flavours went so well together. I halved the recipe as there are only two of us that enjoy asparagus.Loved the holoumi...though I would cut it smaller next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2003

      This was a very nice, easy to make salad. It reminded me of the time I spent in the MIddle East / Mediterranean. I toasted the pine nuts, and used cilantro from my garden instead of parsley. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asparagus, Halloumi and Pine Nut Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.1
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    89%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    halloumi cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes