10 Reviews

I've made this dozens of times (love it) and even served it to a large group, it was a hit! Sometimes you need to add some more broth, so keep an eye on it. I prefer to cook my onions a little longer than 2 minutes, so I cook them until they're soft, then add the garlic to cook for an additional 1 minute.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEATHER H. April 28, 2010

Great side dish, I did not have any fresh asparagus but did have some frozen, it worked out well....I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth...will make again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc February 28, 2008

My family really enjoyed this as a side dish for dinner. The jasmine rice complemented the recipe very well. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks! UPDATE: 10/24/07---made this dish several times now and want to say again how delicious it is. It makes a nice presentation and gives you a vegetable and starch all in one. I'm probably using 12-16oz. of asparagus. Now one of our favorite side dishes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie October 25, 2007

I love this dish! Great without the asparagus, or adding another vegetable. I have made this a few times now, and sometimes add chopped red pepper, or grated carrots. I do like it better with sliced almonds, rather than cashews. I also brown my rice along with the spaghetti (I use vermacelli), then add the garlic and onions. This is a keeper! I am making it tonight to go with baked salmon. Yummm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary April 29, 2007

I made this pilaf this evening for a quick and easy dinner. I'm glad I did, the taste and texture is wonderful! DH really liked this pilaf as well. I used angel hair pasta, chicken broth, and I ended up adding an additional 1/4 cup water towards the end of the cooking time. I also roasted the cashews to give them a nutty flavor. Five Stars.....I will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas October 09, 2003

I ended up not adding the cashews but it didn't matter. A hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gobruijns May 12, 2009

Excellent side! I didn't make any changes I consider significant: I used a 14-ounce can of vegetable broth and made up the difference with water, rather than using part of an additional can. I steamed the asparagus (rather than boiling), and only had huge, whole cashews on hand, so just chopped them a bit. The next time I may try chicken broth, rather than vegetable, as I think it would add a little more flavor. But we loved the recipe as is--thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ November 30, 2006

This will go down as one of our favorites! We absolutely loved this... this was fixed as a side dish to Luby's Chicken Lazone #65768, and it went perfectly with the sauce! The combination was dynamite!! Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe! Dianne

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady April 27, 2004

We really enjoyed this rice. My only problem was that I didn't have cashews so used pine nuts. I'm sure five stars might be warranted if I had had the right ingredients. I will certainly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 April 22, 2004

I LOVE this recipe! I've made it several times, doubling the amount of the asparagus and the cashews. It works well for picnics and potlucks, as it tastes just as great at room temperature as it does warm from the stove. Thanks for posting this recipe here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K April 20, 2004
Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf