11 Reviews

FANTASTIC! You should have more than 5 Stars. I took this casserole to work for one of our monthly breadfasts. I did have to make a dash of changes. They are mostly Vegetarians. (No ham or other meat.) I added a wee more fresh aspargagus. I had steamed my asparagus and didn't add them while doing step 3. (I didn't want them over-cooked) However, while doing step 3, I added 2 minced jalapeno peppers and 8 oz sliced mushrooms. (Seasoned with garlic powder, salt and black pepper) [no ham, no marjoram] I used thin long Italian bread (When sliced almost every little square had a bit of crust) I followed the instructions. My casserole took 50 min. I added the last cup of cheese. I topped it with some asapargus spears I had set aside. Also, I added some cherry tomatoes, that I had cut in half. (A dash of color) I popped into the oven for 6 min. and took it to work. It was perfect! I had to give out your recipe to many. Thank you for a "keeper". I've put the recipe in my "favorites". Can't wait to make it for the holidays. Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal December 11, 2009

OMG! Best breakfast casserole I have ever eaten. I used croissant's instead of biscuit's, cheddar cheese instead of swiss and I did not use any meat. My husband raved about this dish. I served it drizzled with Balsmic Glaze. This will be the dish I serve for breakfast or brunch when company comes to visit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy T. April 13, 2014

I served this for Mother's Day Brunch and loved it! I love the combo of ham, asparagus, and swiss. Instead of steaming the asparagus I just sauted it with the onions and peppers until it was crisp-tender. I think it cut out a step without affecting the flavor. Delish! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akgrown May 17, 2006

I changed a LOT on this recipe. First, I had no peppers, so I left it out and added paprika to the seasoning. I used a full pound of asparagus. I only had 2 1/2 cups of bread crumbs (and it still had plenty of bread). I'm allergic to milk, so I substituted soy milk for the milk and left out the cheese. I only used about 1 3/4 cups of soy milk. I also only used 2 tbs of butter instead of 1/2 cup. I had no marjoram, so I used paprika, pepper, and a little thyme. I also added in 2 cloves of garlic to the veggie mix. it came out very good, although I think in the future I will add more veggies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicknick119 April 16, 2015

WOW! I served this on Mother's day to a house full of people, and it was completely gone in a matter of minutes. I did attempt to make it a bit healthier by substituting the eggs for egg beaters. I also used garlic powder, and french bread instead of Italian. FABULOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsunseri99 June 23, 2008

WOW, GREAT RECIPE! Made this for Sunday brunch for a group of 9 very discriminate gay men that know good food.... trust me on that. It was very easy to put together and what a time saver the morning of our gathering. I did take another reviewers idea and added a little fresh garlic. Also my pan was a little larger so I increased the quantities some and it took about an hour and 15 minutes to bake. Will definitely be making this one again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomas a. February 12, 2008

This was great! Took it to a church breakfast for our Sunday school class and came home with an empty dish and several requests for the recipe. For our own tastes, I added just a 1/2-teaspoon of garlic powder to the veggie mix, doubled the marjoram and also added 1/2-teaspoon of Italian sesaoning. A great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abkmsw August 05, 2007

It was very good. I made it for Easter breakfast and my hubby really liked it. I have to admit that I do not like casseroles or stratas where the bread and egg are kinds spongy(like they should be). It is a consistency thing for me. LOL The taste was great and it went together very nicely. I had no marjoram so I just skipped it. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth March 27, 2005

I made this casserole with the french bread...took it to an early tailgate party. It was gone in five minutes. Had many requests for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilea December 07, 2004

Brought this dish to a "Thank You" breakfast. It received rave reviews and many requests for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casey Hardie June 04, 2004
Asparagus Breakfast Casserole