10 Reviews

Well my DH did it to me again! Eating my cooking ingredients before they get into the recipes I plan to make. I had to sub the cashews because someone ate them! I used walnuts! This was good and very easy! I didn`t cook the aspasragus that long, we like it crisp and tender. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 26, 2008

I was out walking in the hills picking more asparagus and came in and made this wonderful recipe...I omitted the marjoran and replaced it with dill weed (we like dill) It was so good...glad you shared this recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wjorma April 17, 2008

Delishimo ! 5 excellent stars! I used fresh baby asparagus tips and the only changes I made to the recipes were: I toasted my cashews gently in a dry non stick fry pan before adding them to the asparagus, and I upped the marjoram to a heaped tablespoon... don't leave that out BTW, the marjoram gives this recipe a very special flavour that enhances the cashews and asparagus very well. I served this as a side dish and it was gobbled up! Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a simple, easy, but very tasty AND visually pleasing recipe that delights both the eye and the taste buds. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 01, 2008

Syd, your recipe is a dream! Soooo easy and terrific delicious!
I followed you direction and I really only steamed (not boiled) the asparagus. The best way to prepare asparagus for sure.
The sauce is done in a few minutes. The cashew I used were not only salted but spiced as well; I belive it was most paprika and pepper.
We served this with boilded potatoes with some chives.
Thanks a lot for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde March 06, 2012

What can I say...Asparagus and Cashews "Nothing could be finer". Sydney Mike, this dish is delicious! I'm thrilled, because the asparagus in my garden is on its third year so I can harvest it! Can you guess what I will be making?! This is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate September 18, 2008

We loved this dish even though we used pecans instead of cashews. Very good and the teenagers I served it to ate every one! Made for Star Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff May 17, 2008

This is excellent. I really love asparagus and the cashews enhance it deliciously! I used fresh baby asparagus tips and cooked it a little less so that it was crisp-tender. This is a wonderful way to prepare asparagus and it would be an elegant side dish for company. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 03, 2008

This reminded me of my family's holiday favorite, string beans with almonds, but this dish was several times better, coming in at 5+ stars:D The only thing I changed was that I used less butter, oh and I crushed my cashews with the back of a glass. I have a small note to add on asparagus. I've heard some people say they prefer thin stalks and other people say they prefer thicker stalks. I can't tell any difference myself, and at the market yesterday they had both kinds so I picked the kind that looked best, which was the bunch with thicker stalks. I was very pleased with my choice, but not as pleased as I was with this recipe overall. Outstanding! BF agreed with me too. Thanks very much Syd! I recommend this for the next holiday or any time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend April 21, 2008

This was so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the butter, I used Smart Balance Spread with Flaxseed Oil. The flavors enhanced the asparagus, and I am so pleased I tried this. I asked my bf what he thought of this, and he lifted his eyebrows and nodded emphatically then proceeded to protest "Asparagus?! I didn't get any asparagus!" We devoured the entire pound by ourselves. Thank you, Sydney Mike, this will be made again. No more plain asparagus! Reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage March 05, 2008
Asparagus and Cashews