14 Reviews

I won't rate because I changed the recipe. I added peanut butter to the sauce. Before this addition, I thought the sauce tasted a little too much like vinegar. I added a little extra honey, soy sauce, and sesame oil, and I used sweet chili sauce. It turned out very good though. Next time I will just add less vinegar to the sauce. It has potential though. I also used broccoli slaw and half of a red bell pepper that I had on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingLaura January 25, 2011

I adore this dish! I've made it so many times that I can't believe I haven't reviewed it sooner! I prefer to eat mine cold the next day, and allow it to chill in the fridge overnight. Also, I add more Sesame Seeds than required, and serve it with Honey Roasted Peanuts for a bit of texture. I also add extra vegetables, whatever I have on hand. This recipe is so versatile, and one that you will want to make over and over again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic August 31, 2011

I made this with some substitutions.. Truvia for honey, green bell pepper for red and broccoli for the corn and peas. Also used udon noodles. Everything else I had on hand. This was a very nice noodle salad! I love those sweet spicy peanut butter'y type noodle salads but there is so much sugar in them and I'm trying to lose some weight. This satisfied my craving for a cold noodle salad without all the sugar I'm trying to avoid. Thank you for sharing your recipes! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 June 20, 2011

My whole family loved this! I used a different kind of Asian chili sauce and added garlic, so it ended up much spicier than I thought it would. But it was still amazing! I stir fried it with some frozen broccoli and peas; I intend on using carrots/other veggies next time and adding chicken. Thanks so much for this! Definitely a new fave!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tori.zombie January 16, 2011

I'm so happy! This is so similar to a recipe I used to make frequently. In one of our moves, I lost the recipe, and never could quite get it right. This recipe (until the addition of vegetables) is it! My DH was so happy, the kids and I loved it, too. I'll try it with the corn, water chestnuts, etc. If you don't have those thing on hand, don't let it stop you from making this. Deeeeeelicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissRed1970 May 10, 2010

5 Stars and then some! DH, the picky eater, gave it a "two thumbs up"! Used snap peas instead of frozen peas and left out the baby corn (didn't have on hand). Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench July 13, 2006

I made this for lunch today and we loved it! I cut up some leftover teriyaki pork chops from last night's dinner to throw in and it worked wonderfully. I used Chinese noodles, about 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar, left out the baby corn, and didn't bother to cook the frozen peas. I stir fried it all quickly together and served it hot. I love the spice from the chili-garlic sauce. Thanks for posting a keeper that is great for using up leftovers, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook July 04, 2006

The sauce for the noodles was amazing. I used 1 tbsp sesame oil, added a dash of Chinese 5 spice powder and garlic, omitted the chili-garlic sauce, and used a little less vinegar. Other than I prepared and drained the noodles as stated, and added the sauce. I made my own vegetable stir fry, adding some of our favorite veggies to the mix (broccoli, onion, mushrooms, napa cabbage, and carrots). I seasoned the veggies with some of the same sauce ingredients to taste. When the vegetables were crisp tender I removed them from the heat and stirred them into the noodles. Sprinkled with some cashews and got rave reviews from everyone! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAnita March 17, 2013

Very good...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daramjui March 18, 2012

This was the first online recipe that I chose to make. I thought it was very good. My husband liked it too. It has an Asian taste that already prepared Asian foods have only it is fresh from your own kitchen. I thought it was even better the next day leftover. I made it a second time only used 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar and 1/4 cup honey. Also I used two lg pastic containers and poured the noodles from one to the other several times to coat the noodles thoroughly because the sauce is pretty runny. For the vegetables I used 2 bags of Birdseye Steamfresh boccoli, carrots, sugar snap peas and water chestnuts. This is quick and easy - great Asian flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pGfagt May 16, 2010
Asian Sweet and Spicy Noodles (Vegetarian)