52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this tonight and it convinced me to finally make an account on this website!
It turned out amazing and I paired it with brown rice!
I didn't include the lime juice and I used very little pepper flakes. I also subbed the garlic and ginger for their powder equivalents. i thought that it was kind of garlic heavy. Next time I make this I'll use 1/2Tbs garlic powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audio_freedom January 18, 2012

This is a very good recipe. Adds lots of flavor to the fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North September 06, 2011

I absolutely loved this! I didn't have the pepper flakes so I changed out some of the garlic for garlic chili sauce. I used the countertop grill rather than the oven. It was so tasty, moist and easy. I could eat this every night for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
novice11263 June 22, 2011

I like spicy food but for me the marinade was a bit strong for the mild fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pnayak1 June 01, 2011

I wanted a new way to cook Tilapia and I found a keeper! I followed the recipe with 1 exception, I use lemon juice in place of lime. The whole family enjoyed it. I suggest if you are reading my review go ahead and try this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parris Original November 09, 2010

Oh My, this was excellent! I cooked this for dinner tonight and wished I had cooked more. I used the exact recipe and grilled it on the charcoal grill. I reduced/cooked the marinade in the microwave for 5 to 6 minutes, stirring halfway through. I served it with my own recipe for Lemon Rice Pilaf (I have it posted) and an Asian salad with dried cranberries, won ton strips and sesame-orange salad dressing. I will be cooking this again! Thank you for posting. Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okitsme August 28, 2010

Quite delicious! Used the marinade, and grilled the fish for about 4 minutes each side. VERY VERY light, and full of flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 June 20, 2010

I was looking for a new recipe for tilapia when this one caught my eye. I've been trying to get my family to eat tilapia, without much success. It would either come out dry, or flavorless. We all love Asian flavors, and this certainly fit the bill. I tweaked it a bit for us - used low sodium soy sauce, substituted splenda for the sugar, used 2 Tbsp of rice wine vinegar instead of the lime juice, added about a tsp of sesame oil, and doubled the crushed pepper. The fish was very moist and delicious. NO LEFTOVERS!!! Thank you for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhotoMama April 07, 2010

I will eat this many times. Added extra crushed red peppers and 1 Tablespoon of crunchy natural peanut butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhioBuckeyes March 27, 2010

Love this recipe! I always add honey instead of sugar and a bit more red pepper flakes just because we love spice. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganhough February 05, 2010
Asian-Style Grilled Tilapia